We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal The Sea Garden House
Ranked #2 of 12 Olon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed staying at the Sea Garden and the Olon area in general. The garden/ sitting area is very relaxing. There are some very nice touches to the property and it is very clean. Try to get the tree house or one of the upper rooms so you have an ocean view. The food is good as well.

My only complaint is that when we asked to stay another night the owner initially said we could but then, the next day, when we offered to pay he told us that someone had reserved the room but not confirmed. This was understandable as we did not have a reservation and, at this point, we could have just found another place to stay. However, the owner waited until the next guests actually arrived in mid afternoon to tell us we couldn't have the room. He directed us to another place which he ensured was the same quality as Sea Garden but it was far from and the same price. This is where we were disappointed as we could have found a nicer place on our own earlier in the day.

Overall I liked this hostel. It's has a lot of charm and is in a great location in Olon. Just reserve a room and confirm before your arrival

Room Tip: Reserve the tree house or upper level rooms for a nice sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank april l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 122 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Sea Garden last week, and had an amazing time. When we first arrived, only the housekeeper and fix-it person were there, due to a family emergency, so there was a bit of confusion with out reservation that left us a bit perplexed and thinking about changing hotels. But a few hours later, Rodolfo and Maria arrived, and everything was sorted. We were given our choice of any room available. We chose the 2nd floor room in the other building and after our time there, were glad that we stayed. Clean rooms with fantastic views of the ocean; steps to the beach without having to dodge cars, plus incredible meals. On our second day, I was laying in one of many hammocks on the property, when a local fisherman came with 2 Snook he had just caught. Rodolfo bought them both, plus some fresh calamari from another fisherman. He cooked an wonderful meal for lunch that exceeded any other meal we had that week. Olon is a sleepy village 3 Km. from Montanita. The beach is quiet, clean, and unspoiled by properties and commercial buildings. It kind of looks like Malibu with cliffs on either direction. Montanita is only a $1.50 cab ride of a $.40 bus. Lots of surfer types and life until late at night; but we had dinner and took a cab back. Olon is very safe, and walking around is no problem at all. We will come back to The Sea Garden many times in the future as this will be our beach getaway.

Room Tip: There is one suite called The Tree House. A real tree house with it's own bath & shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin8896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We choosed this hostel to spend our weekend in Olon. It is situated directly next to the beach. The balconys provide awesome views over the sea.The people are very nice and friendly. There is no question or problem that cannot be asked or solved by Rodolfo and his wife. Take your meals and breakfast there. Organic and very delicious! The rooms are clean and are cleaned daily. A room on a tree is provided ;-). The showers are hot.
There are huge chill areas for relaxing in the big 'camacas'. Awesome!
Absolutely recommendable!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank heckmeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Your room over looks the beach, you fall asleep to the sound of waves. The hosts are so nice, friendly and kind (and amazing cooks) we loved this place, you are missing out if you dont go here! Its a nice escape for city bag packing but is still within budget and is so peaceful. The breakfast, dinner and lunch were supurb, fresh produce, Local and organic... Delicious! Great Showers and overall atmosphere was so welcoming and friendly. Both hosts speak perfect english which is also very helpful. Thanks again guys!! We loved it.
Lorraine & Sean, Ireland.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank lorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Of all the places we stayed on our journey down the coast, Sea Garden House was our very favorite. Laying on our hammock on our deck looking out on the gorgeous Olon stretch of beach, listening to the sound of the waves, we thought how lucky we were to be enjoying a such an amazing place at such a reasonable price. The owner is on-sight and makes sure you have everything you need, including a delicious dinner if you request. The relaxing and friendly atmosphere makes you want to settle in, get to know the other guests, and enjoy.

Room Tip: Separate building, top floor was quiet, private, excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoznKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

To stay in Olon and enjoy one of the best beaches I have ever seen this is a great place to stay. Rodolfo the owner is there to do whatever he can to make you stay enjoyable. And what a cook. I had sateed shrimp, grilled lobster, red and blue crab dish, and best of all (if that can be possible following that listed already) fresh snapper grilled perfectly. And Rodolfo knows how to pick his wine. Loved the red wine from Chile. I stayed in the most unique room ever. Literally a tree house near the main areal. Had a very sufficient private bath and private balcony. There are other more traditional rooms all with an ocean view. A quiet place where you sleep to the lullaby of the waves crashing on the beach. It was only $1.50 for a short taxi ride (Rodolfo will call one for you) or a 45 minute walk to Montañita the surf city and late night party town. The only complain and not about the Sea Garden is that my timing was poor. The end of August is still winter and it was too cold to swim and very little sunshine. Not much to do in Olon except the beach, but with Montañita only a few minutes away, this is a better place to spend the night.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. Second floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caribseabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sea Garden House is an excellent choice if you are visiting Olon, Montanita, or any if the neighboring towns for that matter.

The ambiance is special, with a cozy, yet open and relaxed setting right on the very large beach. In the common area, you will find hammocks, a ping-pong table, large banquet table, a wash station for when you return from the beach, and a grass lawn that seriously feels like a putting green. One day in, I stopped wearing shoes altogether. The rooms are comfortable, and rustic. They also have fast internet.

The couple that runs the place are very warm and friendly people, who love having guests. They are the perfect types to run a hostel. Both speak fluent English and know a lot about the country. The husband, Rodolpho, sincerely enjoys cooking and will make some pretty amazing meals if you choose to eat there, especially the seafood which he buys from local fishermen each day. I have been in Ecuador for over a month and the meals at Sea Garden House are decisively the best. He keeps the wine flowing too.

The kitchen is open if you want to grab some fruit or a drink, and either Rodolpho or one of his workers is there, ready to prepare something.

Overall, the ambiance and location are choice, the food is excellent, and, most importantly, the people there really make you feel at home. I easily could've stayed another week if time allowed.

One quick tip, if you are confused on how to get there, most of the Taxi drivers in the area and neighboring towns know the place as "Casa de Lolo."

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lorenzo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olon
2.5 mi away
Happy Hill Hostel
Happy Hill Hostel
#1 of 3 in Olon
54 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 9 in Montanita
555 reviews
2.1 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rincon d’Olon
Rincon d’Olon
#1 of 12 in Olon
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel El Gran Azul - Olon
0.3 mi away
Hostal Oloncito
Hostal Oloncito
#5 of 17 in Olon
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal The Sea Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal The Sea Garden House

Address: Malecon del Sol y Avenida Misericordia, Olon, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Olon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Olon
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beach front hotel is unique in the area. You can enjoy the fresh sea breeze from our big balconies while watching birds or even whales during whale season time! Our aim is to make our house a place that can be enjoyed by visitors to be in touch with nature. We like to contribute to the practice of ecologically friendly and sustainable tourism in Olón, Santa Elena province and Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal The Sea Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal The Sea Garden House Ecuador/Olon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing