We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and genuine”
Review of Bakfickan

Bakfickan
Ranked #4 of 157 Restaurants in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

A nice little intimate seafood - or more precisely fish - restaurant in the center of Visby. A bit surprisingly, this restaurant being one of very few open mid-winter in this summer city, serves good food, with that little extra touch, to reasonable prices. A not that long but varied menu, complimented by a nice wine list, makes this restaurant a place well worth visiting!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Anders_A_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 670 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2018

We ate there twice during our 4 day stay. The food was that good! The chowder was superb, the fried herring was the best I've had. Service was very good. Their cloud berry topped ice cream was marvelous! would go back in a flash!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Robb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Ideally located restaurant in the middle of the old town in Visby that's serving sea food. I had the shrimps and they were so tasty! But everything on the menu looked pretty great to me. It filled up quickly and people had to que, so perhaps make a reservation if you can!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jessyljung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

It is likely impossible to NOT have a wonderful meal at Bakfickan. The quality and preparation of fish is of the highest standard. And the staff extremely efficient. During peak season a reservation is a good idea as, even with outdoor seating, the establishment is rather small and can fill up quickly. The setting in the center of Visby is incredibly charming.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank centurionNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We had some days in Visby and went twice for dinner at the Bakfickan. The food ist outstanding and very thoughtfully created! We loved the relaxed atmosphere and had a very good time. I'd come back to Gotland just for the fsh-soupe!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidK9464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakfickan also viewed

 
Visby, Gotland
 
Visby, Gotland
 

Been to Bakfickan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing