We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Visby at Hotel Gute”
Review of Hotel Gute

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gute
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a good holiday and will look forward to come back to Hotel Gute for another holiday. Breakfast was very good in a nice clean room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

I am traveling alone and staying at the hotel for my first time. It's a perfect location and very nice rooms. Breakfast was excellent as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel was selected because of its low price. Upon checked in, I found the room adequate size with 2 single beds that pushed together, good bedside lighting, storage, a writing desk and a chair, a small tv, an arm chair, coat hanging area, and a small bar fridge. There is also a hairdryer in the bathroom. Both the room and bathroom are very clean.

My room is located on the ground floor, ie. street level with window opening to the road, but it was all quiet at night with no traffic noise at all.

The hotel is about a 20 mins walk from the ferry terminal, and since it is on Mellangatan, the middle road, making it easy to locate. From there, it is a 10 mins uphill walk to the Visby Centre just outside the city wall, passing the big market (Storatorget).

The buffet breakfast, which is included in the rate, was fantastic. It offered a fair selection of tea, freshly brewed coffee, good variety of breads and rolls, choices of hams, 2 types of hard boiled eggs, peeled hard boiled eggs with seafood and mayonaise, variety of cereals which you can create your own combinations, fresh orange juice and other breakfast drinks, and yoghurts. The brown bread was one of the best I have had.

As for food around the hotel area, the friendly hotel receptionist recommended Joda, located on Skeppsbron 24, the street to the ferry terminal, which is a 10 mins walk from the hotel. Turns out that's where the locals go for a night out, the food was good!!!

My only complain for the hotel is the soft bed, I literally sink when lying on the bed, which gives me a sore back the next morning, but that (soft beds and soft pillows) I found quite common in hotels and homes across Sweden.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I visited Hotel Gute while being on Gotland for a conference.

It's a very average, but still very nice hotel located centrally, just a few streets below stortorget.

The rooms are equipped with a tv (not flat), basic bathroom with shower, some chairs and a pretty large bed. There's also a fridge where you can store beverages, i.e. it's no minibar and you'll have to get your own drinks.

Breakfast was ok. Eggs, bread, cereals, different cold cuts, cheeses and jams which all were pre-fabricated, except from the bread that is said to be homemade.

All in all, Hotel Gute is a perfectly nice place, nothing fancy, but actually quite cozy. I would stay here again, but it probably wouldn't be my top-choice.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2006

This is a small hotel with a very central location in the old part of Visby. The rooms were clean and in good condition, and a reasonable size for a European hotel (though not large).
We paid around 1000 SEK (about 100 euro) per night for three night, which was actually a very good deal for a hotel in Visby in July. We chose it mostly because it was the only hotel with availability one month in advance in high season.
Our impression was the quality was comparable to other hotels in central Visby, so I'd recommend booking whichever has rooms for the most reasonable price when you're planning to be there.

6  Thank kymberand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank hagafrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sofiafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 16 in Visby
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Borgen
Hotel Villa Borgen
#8 of 16 in Visby
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 16 in Visby
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 16 in Visby
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 16 in Visby
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#10 of 16 in Visby
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gute

Address: Mellangatan 29, Visby, Gotland 62156, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Price Range: $94 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gute 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a hotel with old world charm inside the city wall! In the middle of the medieval world heritage town Visby's innercity. Hotel Gute is situated right in the heart of the beautiful medieval town of Visby on the wonderful island of Gotland. When you visit our world heritage town you will find Hotell Gute, a fantastic place to stay. The hotel is close to shopping, restaurants and museums. We have 30 individually furnished, modern rooms and a much appreciated breakfast buffet with homemade bread. The hotel is three star hotel, fresh and modern, with an old world charm. Additionally, you end up in the middle of medieval Visby’s inner city. The rooms have personal character and are equipped with shower/wc, cable TV, radio, telephone, refrigerator and hair dryer. We have a lobby and a fully licensed bar, nice lounge areas and an appreciated breakfast buffet with homemade bread. Wireless internet and guest computer is included without charge for hotel guests. All areas of the hotel can be reached via elevator. The hotel is decorated in two distinct styles. The entrance and room floors are built and decorated in classic international style. The reception, lobby, bar and dining room has a theme in the colors of black, white and oak, and the materials are stone and iron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gute Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing