We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good you‘ll never want to leave ”
Review of Amarillo

Amarillo
Ranked #7 of 157 Restaurants in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

This culinary gem is serving family-style dishes of outstanding, inspirational quality. We had 8 of them and wished we could have tried them all. We heard that Gotland has great chefs - but we never would have thought to get this amazing food. The owner-couple could open a restaurant anywhere in the world and would be successful. And by the way: Leave room for the mouthwatering desserts.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank tjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2018

Lovely place - and we were able to have our little dog with us in the outdoor area. I the end he fell asleep on the bench by my side :-) The menu consists of smaller dishes, so you should count on two to three dishes if you are hungry. However, the menu had so many great tasting items that it was a challenge to narrow it to six for us :-) this is not a tapas place, think more like a tasting menu. They do not serve bread, but trust the chef, you really do not it need it, it would have dampened some of the more exciting délicate tastes. Good, but reasonably priced wines on the menu, fresh and matching the food. Lovely people working there! We had a lovely chat about the dogs and in general the whole experience was delightful.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank EvelynesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Good food but pricey. We were not aware that it was a tapas place so it ended up much more pricey than what Yelp suggested. Long wait for the food.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Small portions, staff are great at guiding you through the menu, excellent service. We had a small child and they provided a high chair. Recommend the Lamb, pork cheeks, cauliflower with capers and sweet potato side. Don’t order the carrots - go for the sweet potato side, we ordered an extra for the table after we had a bite!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 691leahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Really happy we ate here! Food and service were both excellent. We had five sharing dishes between the two of us, which was perfect. Depending on what you choose the restaurant will suggest in which order they get served, as some dishes are more luxurious/light and others more hearty and filling. As "starters" we had salsify with baked egg, kale, black sesame and tizzy mayonnaise; cod with chorizo, polenta, Ajvar, pickled cucumber; and mashed potato with bleak roe, onion and crispy västerbotten cheese crumb. "Mains" were salsiccia with cabbage and a bean hotpot. All delicious and beautifully presented. The owners and staff were lovely too - very friendly and attentive and took time to chat despite it being busy. Will definitely go back next time we are on Gotland.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Malarkey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarillo also viewed

 

Been to Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing