We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time @ Clarion Hotel Wisby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What I liked the most about this hotel was the hospitality. Extremely warm service from beginning till end. All the staff members here are very friendly; they took all the pains to make our stay comfortable. Rooms are modern, clean and beautifully decorated with things of need and paintings. I stayed here with my colleagues and really enjoyed a lot. Facilities are abundant and property is very stunning and well-kept. I will definitely recommend this place to my other friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hello Suzanne, thank you kindest for sharing your experience! Wow, it is great to read your feedback about the staff and how they made you feel, it is one of the most important things for us all here at the hotel. Hope to see you soon, a warm welcome back to Visby, Gotland / Helena, Clarion Hotel Wisby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 932 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wonderful bar but no service! Only 2 people in the bar at 8pm, but still after 30 min. we had not got anything to drink! 1 person was serving the bar, the reception and the telephone!! Even it was off season the service must be better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Agneta31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Agneta, thank you for your feedback regarding our Bar service. Just as you say it is a little bit special during off season, as Visby and Gotland sometimes gets very quiet. Still we should have provided better service in the Bar than it seems to have been from reading your review. We will certainly take this with us and make sure to be better next time! A warm welcome back next time you are in Visby. / Helena, Clarion Hotel Wisby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at this great hotel off-season in November and it was a great stay. The rooms are spacious with a big bathroom. The rooms have comfortable beds and modern interior, a rather small TV though for some reason? The breakfast is excellent but one morning the warm dishes were rather cold for some reason, hopefully a one-time thing, the other morning they were fine. Apart from that the selection is good and you will leave satisfied. The bar is a lovely place in a small courtyard with a glass ceiling, excellent for a drink before dinner. One thing though, as most guests arrive at the same time by the boat I wonder why the reception only is manned by one person at these times, there was quite a queue when we arrived. Apart from that the staff is very helpful and friendly. Overall this is a very good hotel with nice rooms and a perfect location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiehager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carin S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012
Google Translation

Hej tack fin återkoppling! Jag hoppas att ni kommer tillbaka till Gotland snart igen.
Önskar er en trevlig 1:a advent./Carin vd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the New Year night. Unlike many other places, it is a low season in Visby, thus perfect for those who want to keep it quiet for a change.
We arrived with a late boat after midnight and walked to the hotel which is not very far from the port (however we have been to Visby many times before, while those not familiar with the surrounding area might prefer a taxi).
The checkin went smooth, and we even got a room with a bathtub, as requested. The room was small, yet comfortable and had a view of the inner yard/garden of some sort. Reception was manned at all times, and we managed to buy a tube of toothpaste in the middle of the night when we realised that we didn't pack any.
Breakfast at the hotel was very good with lots of variety and the dining area was cosy. The restaurant by the hotel was however fully booked for the new year's night, but we found an alternative a short walk away which was as good as it gets.
And last, but not least, is the hotel's spa - the underground pool in the bizzare settings of the old cellar was fantastic! Most importantly, it was open on december 31 until quite late (remember, this is Sweden, where everything dies on a holiday). The pool access didn't cost that much, and neither did swimsuits we rented.
We have stayed at different hotels in Visby, and this by far is the best. I would love to stay there again during Medieval week, but unfortunately during high season this hotel is quite overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carin S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank your for a nice feedback ! We wish you welcome back to the hotel and Visby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the hotel during a weekend in december. Together with 8 friends I enjoyed the traditional Swedish christmas dinner at the hotel, it was wonderful and tasteful!!! After the dinner the bar was crowded and a two man band made the evening even more fun. The day after we left the hotel for the christmas market in the city. It was really joyful even though/because I have spent many summers on the Island. The hotel itself gave us a good night sleep in comfy bed. Nice serviceminded staff. Good spa section and wonderful bar in medieval environment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Thank you!
Xmas is lovely in Visby.
We wish for you to come back soon!
Kind regards,
Sanna Kleven
VD Clarion Hotel Wisby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is situated right in the middle of this medieval town. Parts of it remain from old times and gives it a charming mixture of old and new. The staff is extremely helpful and our room was very comfortable. We came early in the morning since our plane landed early. In spite of that the room was ready at 9 o´clock. We would like to return to this attractive hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nils a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2015

Always lovely to read a great review!
Very welcome back soon:-)

Kind regards
Sanna Kleven
Genral Manager
Clarion Hotel Wisby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently stayed four nights in a Deluxe Room at the Hotel Wisby to celebrate my 40th birthday and had a marvelous time. The location is perfect, the hotel is clean and comfortable and nicely decorated, and the staff is friendly and helpful. My partner spent the several weeks leading up to our trip coordinating my b-day dinner with Mike, the hotel's event manager, and was very impressed with his responsiveness and attention to detail. The dinner, which included six of our friends in the 17th century "chapel" attached to the hotel, was flawless, from the decor to the food and waitstaff. It was the most memorable birthday I'm likely to ever have. The only downsides to the hotel: the rooms could stand a little modernizing (especially the bathrooms, which are a little too retro for their own good), and the setup of our room was a little funky, with the sitting area and bathroom on one level and the sleeping area on a lower level, which meant that you had to stagger up stairs in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom. Also, the breakfast room seemed a little chaotic, understaffed, and understocked some of the mornings we were there. Maybe it was because of the weddings and conferences going on. And it would be great if they could simplify their WiFi code, which is along the lines of "7E&hU8rT791," so it doesn't take 15 tries to get connected. But these are minor nitpicks that didn't detract from our overall experience. Our final impressions of the Wisby were overwhelmingly positive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2015

Always lovely to read a great review!
A lot of things has happend since your birthday.
Please come back and try us again!
Very welcome back soon:-)

Kind regards
Sanna Kleven
General Manager
Clarion Hotel Wisby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 16 in Visby
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 16 in Visby
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 16 in Visby
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#10 of 16 in Visby
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Strand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Solhem Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Wisby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Wisby

Address: Strandgatan 6, Visby, Gotland 621 57, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Visby
Price Range: $119 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Wisby 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Wisby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Visby
Clarion Hotel Visby
Visby Clarion
Clarion Hotel Wisby Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing