We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”
Review of Hotel St. Clemens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Clemens
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Visby
11
Reviewed June 5, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Clemens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 462 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

My father and I just returned from a trip to Gotland and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotell St. Clemens in Visby. The staff could not have been nicer, the breakfast was wonderful, the hotel itself is absolutely charming, the location was perfect, and having a Medieval church in your own, private yard is an incredible, unique experience! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjciullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We recently travelled to Gotland with 3 children. The Hotel St. Clemens were able to accommodate us into a family room. The location is fabulous and the staff are truly wonderful. The hotel rooms were immaculate. Gotland and in turn Visby, is truly a magical place. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whoneedstowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

You plan a foreign trip months in advance, particularly if you're going to a new country or area, and you take a leap of faith that what you book will live up to your expectations. Hotel St. Clemens exceeded our expectations. Old Visby is a fairyland. The hotel is set in the middle of it. It is clean and comfortable; the staff were exceptionally warm, helpful and inviting; breakfast was perfect. This was the ideal home base from which to explore Gotland. The rooms are small - not a criticism from our standpoint, just a fact that's good to know.

A note about Gotland. We didn't know much about the island, but were attracted by Visby's designation as a UN world heritage site. We wish we had booked a longer stay, and would have gladly traded a day in Stockholm for a third day (the bare minimum) on Gotland. If historic, architectural and archaeological exploration motivate your travel, you will love this ancient island. The little island of Faro off the northeast end of Gotland is a must.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABadgerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The service here was spectacular. We didn't really know what to do in Gotland, other than to walk around Visby, so the receptionist suggested we take a drive up to Faro. She even got us a cheap deal for a last minute rental car. Faro was breathtaking, by the way. On the last day, as we had to leave the hotel before breakfast time to get to the ferry, she packed us a lovely breakfast at no additional charge and booked us a taxi as well. The rooms were pretty good, considering that the building was old, and had its old world charm. Especially since the hotel was right next to a church ruin. I loved this hotel and would definitely return if I were to visit Visby again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SzeHsien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We loved the St. Clemons! Stayed for about a week and the whole experience was lovely. We had a top floor suite with nice views out over the rooftops to the water from the bedroom. The sauna in the bathroom was fantastic- we used it every evening. Wifi was fine, I worked several days using the wifi with no issues. The bed was great.

The location is perfect, and the staff is ultra- friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was quite good, and the dining room is very pleasant. I loved the basket of apples set out for guests to help themselves. The apples are tasty, and I believe they came from the tree onsite.

Thanks for making our stay in Visby special! We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Good location next to a church ruin in a quiet area of Visby.You can borrow the key from the reception and enter the ruin for closer inspection. Clean, comfortable beds and a very nice staff. Our room was big but had a very small bathroom. Free fruit, coffee and tea all day long.
Adequate breakfast buffet Swedish style. You can try at least 10 different types of tea.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0lf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 16 in Visby
884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 16 in Visby
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novi Resort Visby
Novi Resort Visby
#13 of 16 in Visby
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 16 in Visby
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Strand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#11 of 16 in Visby
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Clemens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Clemens

Address: 3 Smedjegatan, Visby, Gotland 621 55, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Visby
#1 Best Value Hotel in Visby
Price Range: $110 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Clemens 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St Clemens is located in the inner city of Visby, inside the city walls. The hotel consists of five historical buildings next to the Botanical Garden and the cathedral. It is Gotland’s first environmentally labeled hotel, offering three-star accommodation. All rooms are non-smoking, with their own shower, toilet, TV and wireless Internet. Breakfast, daily cleaning and Internet connection are included in the price. All 32 rooms are unique in size and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Clemens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Clemens Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing