We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have bikes too!”
Review of Scandic Visby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Visby
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We picked this hotel after reading in TripAdvisor that it had now turned into a Scandic Hotel. We were very pleased with the service and the amenities like the breakfast area, pool etc. There is a public bus from the airport that stops outside the hotel, and the town center is only a 10 minute walk away. They have a few bikes that you can use locally for free. We had planned to rent bikes for a more extensive biking around Gotland, but found it not too attractive since there were few biking trails outside of the Visby area, and we would have to beat the traffic on the highways.

Room Tip: Try for the main building with the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while in Visby for a conference.
Pros
1. Rooms are clean, tidy with modern furniture and solid flooring. (no creeping sound when walking in the room)
2. Staffs are very friendly (Asked for electric kettle and the counter staff went all out to find one for me)
3. Huge selection of items for buffet breakfast (all kind of bread, ham, cheese, sausages, bacon, eggs (scrambled, hard boiled, soft boiled), all kinds of cereals, lots of fruits, juices and hot drinks)
Cons
1. A little pricey but probably it's just the standard in Scandinavian countries where things are expensive in general
2. Away from the town centre (About 10 minutes walking)
Note: - the cab fare from Visby airport to the hotel is around 170 Swedish Krona. During off-seasons, would be good to reserve a cab beforehand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfbfbfbfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is right next to the ferry station, which also means only a 5 min walk to the Old Town. The pool is great, we could use it even in September when the sea was getting cold. (There is a small gym and a sauna that we didn't try.) The luggage locker room is also handy - you just need to pick your luggage before you walk over to the ferry. (By the way: there is no crosswalk between the hotel and the ferry station, and there can be big traffic. This is an improvement idea :))
The room was perfect (we didn't spend too much time there anyway), the beds were comfortable (not a double bed, unfortunately), the bathroom was clean (a bit small, but nothing to complain about).
The breakfast selection was good. We didn't try the restaurant.
We payed 'only' 1600 SEK for two nights, which is a much better price that someone previously mentioned here. (Is September cheaper?)
The hotel must have improved since the previous years (I read a lot of negative reviews). We had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balazs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have stayed at scandic visby several times before and I have never had a reason to complain before because the rooms we lived in previous was modern, pretty, small but pleasant. Everything has been good. This time around however it was a different story. In lack of other choices me and my partner got given a 'family room' in the separate yellow building beside the pool facing the harbour in the scandic hotell. This was a huge mistake.
Kids would scream and shout from very early hours and wake you up as the walls were very thin. If the neighbour kids did not wake you up the kids playing in the pool outside would..
Ok, we kind of had to suit ourselves for accepting a family room. I mean what do you expect? But in all honesty we did not think it would be that bad! At night time all the traffic and the ferries arriving/leaving would be quite noisy and wake you up. So if you wake easily this might not be the right place for you. And couples trying have a romantic time, under no circumstances choose this room...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Small rooms but very new. It is better to be on the 3rd floor otherwise the room is seen from the passage ways. There is a parking, small swimming pool, jacuzzi and gym. Every building is for different functions. Sleeping units, dining hall, gym and reception are separate buildings. They are not far from each other but it is better to know if you are visiting in the winter. It is 5 minutes walk to Visby center. Especially good for Almedalen week. At least for the night you are in a quieter place.

Room Tip: any sleeping building on the 3rd floor. It does not metter which building all of them has the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Chose this place for a business trip as we have a contract with them. Pleasantly surprised. Brand new, still smells of new plaster in places, garden soil still being delivered. Sets of rooms in different buildings, as is breakfast. A bit unusual in that respect but worked out fine (in good weather...). Carports for everyone.
Great location just a few minutes walk from town. Bit quieter here.
Some idiosyncraticies in the design of the bathroom, but it works.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The rooms here are spartan, but clean and the beds are comfortable and it's quiet at night. We used this hotel the last night we were in Visby because it was close to the ferry. We were able to walk to Old Town (head in direction of the ferry, not up the hill!) The breakfast was okay; the dining room is in a separate building. Compared to most of the other sites in Visby, there is nothing "charming" about this hotel. It's strictly utilitarian.

Room Tip: The front door is a bit difficult to find; it's around the corner and faces the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 16 in Visby
929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 16 in Visby
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 16 in Visby
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#10 of 16 in Visby
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Solhem Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Borgen
Hotel Villa Borgen
#8 of 16 in Visby
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Visby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Visby

Address: 3 Faerjeleden, Visby, Gotland 621 58, Sweden (Formerly Visby Hamnhotell)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Price Range: $103 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Visby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay comfortable at Scandic Visby in Visby Harbor with an unbeatable location just opposite the ferry terminal and with 10-minutes walk to the medieval town centre. As our guest you have free access to gym, pool and relax with sauna. In the restaurant, guests can relax with a good well-cooked food after season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Visby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Visby Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing