We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gotland Getaway”
Review of Scandic Visby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Visby
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Gotland Getaway”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two days and really enjoyed it.

Yes the rooms are basic but the beds were comfy and it waa spotless. In my opinion this is all you need from a 3 star room.

The breakfast for an English person was different but lovely. Choice of breads, fruit, salads, meats, cereals, cheeses and yogurt. It also provided different choice of teas. For an English person not used to a continental breakfast I thought there was a great selection.

To save money you can sneakily make sandwiches for your lunch. Win win!!

In all if you want a basic hotel close to the ferry port and centre with a good breakfast selection then come here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjwhyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    133
    67
    13
    5
See reviews for
69
111
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for 2 nights. I would say there are much better hotels out there for the money.
The sleep quality was terrible as the rooms are very small and the walls are thin. Even when you are exhausted it is still very hard to sleep with people talking and carrying on in the adjacent rooms. The rooms are so thin you can hear the toilets and water running from the adjacent rooms.
NOTE: There is a huge sign in all rooms that reads "hot water will only last 10 minutes" They were certainly right on this one !!!!!!!! You decide if this is good or not.
The cleanliness was pretty good. It better be the rooms are tiny and therefore should be fairly clean.
Breakfast was pretty good. Based on the room I was actually scared about how bad the food would be. No real issues with the breakfast other than no fruits.
Location is very good. It is a 2 minute drive to the Ferry back to the mainland. It makes it much easier to catch the 7:20 Ferry back to the mainland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed one night in a budget room in Visby Hamnhotell. I was planning to stay in a hostel, but as they charge extra for breakfast, cleaning and bedding, the hotel ended up cheaper - 65 euro for a night in May. The room was on the second floor without balcony in a motel building. Small and basic, but clean. Not interesting of fab, but ok. Walking distance to old town and restaurants, and just opposite the harbor. Very comfortable, as my boat left at 7 in the morning and it gave me time to eat breakfast before leaving Gotland.

Room Tip: A good option compared to hostel, as breakfast, cleaning and bedding is included. I found the room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaLaTiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

the hotel is close to the harbour, prices are very high, since comparable to other hotels on the island. Hamnhotell is very impersonal, has very small rooms.
The breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco_Cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

You await a little bit more when you pay 250+ euro per night, even in expensive country of Sweden. Visby Hamnhotel is effective, but has no personal touch at all: a little bit like a motel (cheaper rooms are a motel, indeed).
Superior (!) rooms are rather small: only a bad, a desk and one armchair without any space between them. A bed was good, and the room itself is rather light due to 3 windows (we had a corner room). A sea (= harbor) view was delightful, although it wasn't very wide because of ship staying in harbor. There was no balcony in this room, but first floor rooms had a small terrace outside.
Cleaning wasn't accurate: once a maple leave flew into the room, and they hadn't removed it for 4 days (I was curious about it, so hadn't thrown it away by myself). But overall it was quite clean.
We weren't provided by any cosmetic supply other than soap and shower gel container.

The location is good with only 7 minutes by walk to the Old town, tourist information and so. I would definitely recommend to stay just outside the city center, because in this case you are safe from crowds and lack of space and parking problems.
Breakfast is very plentiful and tasty, and you can always (24/7) buy some snacks or water on reception which is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Degerhamn
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here one night when the Visby-Oskarshamn ferry could not sail because of a bad storm. This hotel has a special rate for people stuck when there are ferry problems. The room was cheap in price by Swedish standards, small in size by American standards but typical of Scandinavia, very clean, everything worked, the hot and cold breakfast buffet was varied and ample, staff was very helpful and friendly, location excellent for getting the ferry (it´s right at the harbor) and for sightseeing in the beautiful medieval walled city of Visby. Ask for a harbor/sea view.

Room Tip: The hotel is actually 5 or 6 buildings on the cliffside facing the harbor but not all rooms have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECP135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

During the summertime the prices for the hotels in Visby are higher than usual, and this hotel is consider to be one of the cheaper hotel in the town. Visby hamnhotell is located opposite the ferry terminal and it can be a little bit noisy by night, since the walls are so thin and the ferries are arriving/departing late hours. You can walk in to the city within 7 - 10 minutes. The room that we stayed in was spartan furnishings. It was a "economic room" - a small room with two single beds (you can get one large bed if you ask for it), a writing desk and chair and a TV. The bathroom was cleaned, but a little tired and the hot water in the shower was limited. Overall the hotel has lower standard than an average Scandinavian hotel, even though the price in the summer does not reflect it. The breakfast was served in another building and was quite ordinary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 15 in Visby
863 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novi Resort Visby
Novi Resort Visby
#13 of 15 in Visby
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Strand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Solhem Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Visby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Visby

Property: Scandic Visby
Address: 3 Faerjeleden, Visby, Gotland 621 58, Sweden (Formerly Visby Hamnhotell)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Visby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay comfortable at Scandic Visby in Visby Harbor with an unbeatable location just opposite the ferry terminal and with 10-minutes walk to the medieval town centre. As our guest you have free access to gym, pool and relax with sauna. In the restaurant, guests can relax with a good well-cooked food after season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Visby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Visby Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing