We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location in a wonderful”
Review of Hotel Stenugnen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stenugnen
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The Hotel Stenugnen is a superb hotel that offers excellent rooms and service at a very reasonable price. The excellent location means that all that the wonderful town of Visby has to offer is never very far away. It is spotlessly clean, bright and welcoming - a home from home - always friendly and relaxing. A great place to enjoy your stay on Gotland.

If you are interested in history and culture, a stay in Visby is not to be missed, which in addition has the annual Medieval Week in August.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pchistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2010

We spent 3 nights here at the end of our trip to Sweden. We found the location to be excellent with close proximity to restaurants, museums, and shopping. Most outstanding was the owners dedication to customer service. Our group was to leave before breakfast was scheduled so Emma had an early breakfast ready for us. Emma and Johan's customer service is exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garybruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I loved staying at this charming quirky hotel in Visby. The lovely couple who run it are very accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTMaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The Stenugnen hotel was in a great location at the foot of the city. The decor was charming, clean and bright. The breakfast selection was wonderful which was included.

We were 15 sailors from the USA ending our tour of Sweden in Gotland. Gotland is a gem and the hotel is precious.

Emma and John are both gracious and caring indivduals. We look forward to visiting with them once again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindala2sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
32
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Great place for a shorter stay in Visby. Romantic and nice nautical theme, white and fresh. No service in hotel reception after 5pm a minus but absolutely not a problem if you are a common traveller with little need for support. We loved this place. Small and lovely.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

had some very nice days in visby, especially in this hotel. small but cosy rooms, lovely breakfast with handmade food. friendly manager.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank thogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Don't go for the single rooms. The place is cosy, location is good; however, the two single rooms are not larger than some 7 sq meters. Shower inside, shared toilet outside. Room costs 80 Euro per night which I consider too high, even for Sweden.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iqoqo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 16 in Visby
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 16 in Visby
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#11 of 16 in Visby
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 16 in Visby
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Borgen
Hotel Villa Borgen
#8 of 16 in Visby
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 16 in Visby
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stenugnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stenugnen

Address: 6 Korsgatan, Visby, Gotland 621 57, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Visby
Price Range: $103 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stenugnen 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stenugnen is a familiar and modern three-star hotel. Our hotel rooms are designed in maritime yacht style with en-suite bathroom and flat screen TV. We have free access to wireless internet for all our guests. We daily serve a fresh appetizing continental breakfast with freshly baked bread. Enjoy the historical Visby wall in our breakfast room where you can sit next to it and still be inside. Two of our hotel rooms are suitable for disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stenugnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stenugnen Hotel Visby
Hotel Stenugnen Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing