We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Las Casas de EA Astei
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ea
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wonderful place! Once you get there you won´t want to go back home! The views are spectacular and the houses have everything you can possibly need. Very comfortable and decorated with very good taste by the owner, Mertxe. I recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Dream cottage house for couples: Garaixe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EA-ASTEI, Propietario at Las Casas de EA Astei, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Susana,
Thanks a lot for your comment I hope you will come also this year.
You are always welcome !!
All the best...MERTXE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hi travelers, just to mention a couple of things that we believe you need to take into account before booking a relaxing week/weekend or night in this place. The houses are all beautiful but there is a wood factory right in the main entrance to the houses. The factory is open from early in the morning until late evening (6:00am until 22:00pm). The problem associated with the factory is the terrible noise (from wood cutting machinery) all day long!!! Non stop except for a short pause when workers change shifts!!! This is a very serious matter that Mertxe forgot to mention when we said that we wanted to be in a quiet and relaxing place. The noise from the factory was horrendous (not a great way to be woken up) and you could hear it from everywhere in the complex also inside and outside of the apartment. We left for the day hoping that on our return the factory would have closed but when we got back it wasn't and that was at 20:00 at night! We were left with no option but to find and book a hotel for that night and change our holiday plans. Also we were asked to pay the full price for something that was mis-sold on their website (relaxing and quiet place) and we certainly couldn't use! Just be aware of these factors when choosing / booking this exclusive and expensive place. We wouldn't like other travelers to be caught in the same situation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnneSmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. It was a wonderful relaxing week.

We loved the facilities at the farmhouse, the pool, the hot-tub, the table tennis and the Basque game that's a bit like squash with only 3 walls and tennis racquets. The children enjoyed playing with the rabbits and the whole atmosphere is of relaxation. It's a very safe location too, far from towns, or busy life.

Mertxe and Suzanna were great, adding an extra bed for our third child in the second bedroom in the farmhouse normally set up for four guests. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests at a special evening of local Basque food that Mertxe arranged for us.

It's an interesting location... I couldn't believe that I was in Spain. It looks more like my image of Switzerland, with the tall mountains, the trees and the greenness. We did a bit of walking which was very pleasant. It's also a very convenient place for visiting the sea. There were a couple of good beaches, and nice seaside towns (Lekitio was our favourite). You have to drive to the beach. Guernika is a about a 20 minute drive. It's a lively town, with an interesting history and museum. This is where we did our shopping. Also enjoyed some good tapas here, and even better in Lekitio.

The farmhouse was beautiful.. modern bathroom facilities yet the other rooms retaining their old world charm. A fantastic place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Some of the properties are very modern and sleek... I didn't see inside these, but the appear to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dulbin_IrelandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Celestalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank Lboisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Yo estuve en Vita. Es preciosa, diseño nórdico en un paraje agreste, limpia, perfecta para niños y a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jfpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ea hotels
1.8 mi away
Bekale
Bekale
#1 of 4 in Ea
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
2 mi away
Urdaibai Etxea
Urdaibai Etxea
#3 of 4 in Ea
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas de EA Astei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas de EA Astei

Address: B Olagorta s/n, 48287 Ea, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Ea
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ea
Price Range: $220 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Casas de EA Astei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welcome to our home, ASTEI, a place at one with nature, offering five unique options for enjoying your holiday accommodation" He main building is a restored stone farmhouse dating from the fifteenth century that gives its name to our surroundings. The rest of the houses are crafted in wood, each one unique and with its own story. Come and discover them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Las Casas de EA Astei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing