We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a blast”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Muju-gun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muju Resort Tirol Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muju-gun
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I was skeptical about staying at this resort, but we had a blast. We stayed at Hotel Tyrol. Although it is a bit tacky, the great service made it all worth it. The room was large and clean and comfortable. The ski services were great (better than in some places on the East Coast of the U.S. for sure). And the food at the hotel restaurant and everywhere else at the resort was awesome. The best part was that people really tried to help us. There are not that many foreigners at the place and everyone helped us get around as we did not speak any Korean. I am thrilled we did this and we have wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Muju Resort Tirol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 39 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Went for NY eve , booked a Junior suite views amazing, Slopes are completely flood-light 24 hrs, shame about the curtains, almost possible to read without the bedroom lights on. The room was like most in Korea a smokers room and all soft furnishings etc smell of smoke.

This is supposed to be a 5 * hotel probably a 3* at best. Although a fantastic location. The worst point being that the restaurant and room service both close at 21:00hrs. which considering the slopes are open all night a bit strange. Language skills of staff are also as in most of Korea poor. Although all staff very polite and the one word they have all mastered is Sorry.

Hiring of equipment again was dealt with at the front desk, they just didn’t explain that you had to go the building next door to collect your gear. So I spent a fruitless hour walking around the hotel to find my gear. Nobody mentioned that you would need valid ID with you even though you have a voucher. So back to the hotel to collect. Once I did get on the slopes it was great.

Koreans are not very good at queuing so prepared to be pushed and shoved, just normal behavior for Korea. The staff on the ski slopes are very polite and keen to help and the ski lifts ran superbly.

So in closing the hotel was to expensive for what you got. The rooms was tired and dated even though the Tyrolean theme runs through all the hotel holes in carpets and very worn furnishings are not what we paid for hotel would be wonderful at half the price.

I will be going back to Muju but will trying another hotel

Room Tip: You need a room facing the slopes.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveG01961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The service and the decoatin of the resort was excellent and all make you feeling at a small village in Europe. The room size is big and comfort however no kettle provided. The English ability of the employee is not good and it may cause communifation challenges. Easy access to ski area and whole complex is well established and convenience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ski area will have good view when snowing.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We are government employees living and working in South Korea. We booked our stay at Muju over the Thanksgiving break to try to avoid the overcrowding that occurs at all Korean "theme parks/resorts" on the weekend. We were very excited to relax in the hotsprings and eat at the international/western restaurants.

Here is a breakdown of our disappointments:
Hotsprings-Closed-only open from Dec-Mar
Restaurants-Dominos Pizza (the Korean version, not American), a German restaurant, and about 6 Korean restaurants/Lotterias, ALL OVERPRICED
Kid'sTheme Park-Closed
Hotel room-we stayed in the family hotel in the Silver room where we thought we were getting 2 double beds & kitchenette. We got a kitchette and one hard queen bed and 2 single sleeping mats for the floor--yes, I know this is Korea and should be expected, but it didn't improve our horrible night sleep
Service-They have a wonderful resort map that is only in Korean. So, it is useless to English speakers. Very few people spoke English, even at the front desk.

What didn't disappoint us:
The view from our hotel room
The gondola ride, while overpriced and the only thing we could find to do, was fun with an amazing view. Plus, it stops at the top where we got off and explored the mountain.
The Gelato stand in the Cafeteria- authentic and worth the extra won!

We actually ended up leaving early to drive home and sleep on our nice soft American mattresses. We felt that good sleep was worth the Korean Won lost on one night's stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelingpastamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Taehoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Claudiotkd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 곰돌토깽
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muju Resort Tirol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muju Resort Tirol Hotel

Address: San 43-15 Simgok-ri, Seolcheon-myeon, Muju-gun, Jeollabuk-do, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeollabuk-do > Muju-gun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muju-gun
Hotel Class:3 star — Muju Resort Tirol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Muju Hotel Muju-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing