We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable but cliched.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed at the facility for three nights in line with a conference being held on the premises. The access to the place was made easy with adequate signposting. The accommodation ( in the main building) was more than adequate and represented good value for the budget. The cleanliness of the site overall was good.

This is definately a place worth considering for a family outing over a weekend or a few days with plenty of activities in which to partake. Though a bar is housed in situ (alongside the restaurant), I would recommend that you make your major purchases at a bottlo.

The establishment is about 20 mins to Launceston and 30 mins to the airport. There is a large shopping centre about 5 mins down the main road towards the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackstumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 618 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

According to this place's website, they are offering fantastic deals in the form of "luxury" $298 rooms for $94. If you bought into that, you'd be sorely dissapointed because the room are in fact $95 rooms for $94 and nothing more.
We chose to spend a tiny bit more for a lakeview villa which was quite decent and clean enough although it is described as having "Ultra Modern Decor with an Exotic Hint of Tasmania" which makes me laugh slighly. The decor is more like "houseproud housing commission tenant with a 1980s fetish" and the "flatscreen TV" not an LCD or plasma as you might imagine but a box TV with a flat front on it. Whilst the inside was clean, the outside was infested with cobwebs.
However, all that aside, I'm not complaining because for the price paid it was OK. Dinner was dissapointing because aside from the buffet there were only two a la carte choices in the faux wood panelled restaurant. Breakfast was edible although there were no bottomless cappuchinos as promised because the machine was broken.
Lovely countryside and vineyards in the surrounding area including a great restaurant at the 9th island vineyard although if you were visiting Launceston, you would be more advised to stay closer to town.
But at the risk of repeating myself, OK for the price paid.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The place was great for the price we got it for. We had taken "Boutique Studio Chalets" and room and bathroom was in excellent condition, very neat. I think the rooms were recently refurbished (not confirmed). All electrical equipments provided were in good working condition. Our stay was only for a night and planned to leave early morning but then we spend the morning exploring the resort and left little later. The property is maintained well. Buffet breakfast served was excellent. Looking at the items served, i suppose the price was okay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharatSNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had been going to the Tamar Valley Resort (Grindelwald) since our first wedding anniversary (11 years ago). We loved it originally but the last few visits have been progressively disappointing until our stay in January where we decided that we wouldn't come back again.
The resort buildings are so run down and dangerous - the balcony's on some of the chalets are only just hanging on! The tennis court had so much garbage around the edges and looks really grotty. The nets are held up by string tied to the outside fences - we stayed in the cabin next to the court and regularly saw children 'coat hanger' themselves because the string was so hard to see. The basketball hoop was almost completely rusted through and it is one of those old heavy ones that would have really hurt someone if it fell. My kids (8yr old and 2yr old) were playing on the pirate ship when I noticed some large old nails sticking out of the timber. Then I heard a bang and my 2yr old started crying. Numerous pieces of timber from the top of the mast fell off and narrowly missed her. I picked up the pieces and headed straight to reception to tell them what happened. Whilst they were surprised, they didn't even ask how my daughter was. It took over three days until someone from maintence was there and all they did was remove the rest of the balancing timber from the top of the mast. A sign warning children not to play was never put up.
Not one piece of equipment in the gym worked - it was ALL broken! The tiling in the pool area was filthy and badly broken in some spots.
I also agree with previous reviews about the added costs for entertainment - hiring fees are expensive and you can easily spend an additional $50-80 per day just for family entertainment.
Needless to say we were very disappointed and so were our kids who had been really looking forward to our holiday. As I was worried about other children getting hurt, I wrote a letter of concern for the lack of maintenance to the Manager - I have yet to receive any kind of acknowledgement.
What used to be a yummy real bakery is now a small shop that seems to buy food in to resell. The gift shop on the same side as the hire shop, however, had the loveliest lady working there - she was cheerful, polite and extreme friendly and she loved kids!
It is a real shame because the potential for the location is huge!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzyabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Great resort with heaps of activities for kids and families. The Village was great and the staff (Judy on reception) was fantastic and helpful. Heaps of activities for kids :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessmisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The setting was fantastic- lots to explore. The village was great and had lots of opportunities for activities. Unfortunately it was raining the whole time we stayed but this didn't stop me from walking around the beautiful grounds. I agree with previous reviews- it was very dark at night and a torch was needed. I also agree the breakfast left a bit to be desired but seeing it was free I can't complain.
We all said we would have loved to have stayed here longer- 2 nights really wasn't enough. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caching_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed in the King Spa Suite for two nights. Certainly not worth the money. Although the room was very clean the workmanship was "ShoddYy with cheap fixtures and fittings. The airconditioner was so loud we could not leave it on at night time. Woke up in the morning and the room was 4 degrees - thank goodness we had the electric blanket......

The restaurant was 2 star. The food was not hot at both the dinner and buffet breakfast. I only wanted toast and was told that you could only have the full buffet breakfast. Not enough staff on to clear tables regularly from previous diners.

We won't be back and neither will the friends we travelled with.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AUSIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindelwald
8.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
989 reviews
10.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 30 in Launceston
842 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
19 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
361 reviews
3 mi away
Launceston Holiday Park Legana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Tamar Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Address: 7 Waldhorn Dr, Grindelwald, Tasmania 7277, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $75 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspect Tamar Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort provides great accommodation, activities, shopping, lakeside dining, golfing and Freshview Day Spa. The resort boasts World Class facilities in arguably Tasmania's most exclusive and exotic suburb.The resort is set on over 150 magnificent acres amid numerous spectacular lakes with breathtaking views and fosters an engaging timeless ambience rarely found.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is perfectly located about 15 minutes drive north of Launceston and is a true Jewel in the crown of this breathtaking region.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is ideally positioned to use as a base whilst exploringall that Northern Tasmania has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspect Tamar Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspect Tamar Valley Hotel Grindelwald
Tamar Valley Hotel
Quality Inn Launceston
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort Grindelwald, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing