We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet was just like a small motel room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Booked over the internet, thinking I was getting a great deal at $94.00 but was very disappointed with the room. Very small -- the door to the bath slides because there's not enough space for a regular door. No phone or internet access in the chalet, small t.v., 2 small plates in the 'kitchen' and they don't supply shampoo or conditioner. Very misleading to call this a chalet. The restaurant is overpriced and they charge for all resort activities that you'd think would be included. The location was very quiet and not convenient to Launceston. Check-in and check-out were well done, but I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 595 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2009

Booked Hillside Split Level Chalet which was an imaginative description at best. A pile of dirt outside front door does not make it a hillside and the upper story was a bunkroom. The lake is a miniature of what the website picture leads you to believe. Told we had to book table at restaurant by 7:30 as kitchen closed at 8:00. Main course arrived before we had finished entree and we were told this was because the cook wanted to go home. The meal was mediocre and of cafeteria quality - if you are going to serve 'crispy skin' duck, you don't expect it to be like rubber and the accompanying potato 'dish of the day' was a pre-prepared and reheated glutinous square lump. Attempted to use the gym - walker was out of order, rower jammed on track, and quality of equipment poor and in need of maintenance. Next on to spa which was tepid water with 5 minute bubble cycle. This establishment needs to lift it's game considerably.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We cannot speak more highly of this resort. We stayed in one of the new boutique chalet's. "Loved it" - The room was beautiful. We dined at the restaurant and it was the best meal we had while we were in Tasmania. Tamar resort was in a great central location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

It was a lovely resort with all the facilities you need, and the shops were cheaper for souvenirs than Launceston itself. The facilities for the kids (mini golf, jumping pillow and pedal boats) are very expensive to hire and should be included in the price of the stay.

We had the Alpine Chalet which had a terrible smell to it - like someone had vomited in the lounge area). The Chalet was a bit old (definitely need renovating) and the toilet and bathroom were downstairs (no toilet upstairs with the bedrooms) which was a bit inconvenient.

Nice quiet resort.

We did let the owners know of the smell in the Chalet upon leaving and let them know that the next people to stay in there will definitely complain about it so something should be done about it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paula35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Huge disappointment. Online site looked great. What we got was a rundown, dated villa, with stained carpet, cheapest tea/coffee available, broken down knackered gym equipment...

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank melbxyxyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed for three nights in a freestanding chalet. Location requires your own transport. Great cooking facilities with full sized fridge. Heated indoor pool and the resort has it's own golf course. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docozoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Great location for self contained holiday. Chalets are a little bit old but a very clean and warm. Great amenities but it would be good if guests of the resort did not have to pay to use them. Staff really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arusharuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindelwald
10.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#6 of 30 in Launceston
751 reviews
8.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
932 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
9.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,581 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Tamar Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Address: 7 Waldhorn Dr, Grindelwald, Tasmania 7277, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $72 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspect Tamar Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort provides great accommodation, activities, shopping, lakeside dining, golfing and Freshview Day Spa. The resort boasts World Class facilities in arguably Tasmania's most exclusive and exotic suburb.The resort is set on over 150 magnificent acres amid numerous spectacular lakes with breathtaking views and fosters an engaging timeless ambience rarely found.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is perfectly located about 15 minutes drive north of Launceston and is a true Jewel in the crown of this breathtaking region.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is ideally positioned to use as a base whilst exploringall that Northern Tasmania has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspect Tamar Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspect Tamar Valley Hotel Grindelwald
Tamar Valley Hotel
Quality Inn Launceston
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort Grindelwald, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing