We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware before you book!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Shearwater, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beware before you book!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in a golfside villa for two nights recently. We had booked by phone and left credit card details as a security or bond over the booking. We discovered the next day and a fortnight before arriving that our credit card had been debited the FULL cost of our stay. In other words we have your money whether you turn up or not or are not satisfied. We had a 6 year old grandson with us. The "villa" had a queen and double. The double was just inside the entry door and just above the bed is an old fashioned "in the wall" air conditioning unit. The two nights were cold and the airconditioner had to be used. The noise from it can only be described as an ungodly racket. It could not be left on for any length of time because of the noise. There was no table or chairs and the grandson had to eat either sitting on a bed or a small sofa. The villa is only suitable for 2 adults but it is sold as sleeping four. My wife found the hairdryer supplied had exposed electrical wiring. I returned it to reception and either the same one or another with exposed wiring was brought back to the villa later while we were out. On the Saturday night we had to suffer extremely loud heavy bass beat music until midnight. It was coming from the nearby function room. It could be heard clearly in the unit above the racket from the A/C and a TV set. Our grandson could not get to sleep. A complaint by phone to a person who claimed he was only a maintenance worker filling in as "night manager" was met with the response "I will make a note about it". Thankfully it ceased at midnight but after 1.00am we were all awoken by people obviously under the weather yelling and laughing at the top of their voices. They had obviously come from the party in the resort function room nearby. We spent a sizeable amount on accommodation, meals, and other items at the resort and to say we were dissatisified is an under statement. On checking out I went to reception to complain. The response was most unsympathetic and no apology was offered. I was told "your grandson was probably having trouble sleeping because of a different bed","we could not survive without functions and parties", "we have a hotel licence". In other words she was telling me that they could make as much noise as they liked BUT house guests were expected to conform to written House Rules that stated clearly that excessive NOISE from guests could result in summary eviction! We have travelled extensively and were appalled at the treatment and attitude. A lengthy formal letter of complaint to the GM a Mr Parkinson has been met with complete disdain and contempt. No response either in writing, by phone, or email. It is apparent that paying guests, in our experience, come a miserable last to the profits made from functions, parties, and weddings. The arbitrary use of our credit card breaches the new Aust Consumer & Competition Act. Needless to say we will never stay again nor will we recommend. The original owner and builder of the resort and the beautiful swiss village a Mr Roelf Vos, an absolutely kind christian man would be most disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KenG157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Ken,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to provide your feedback, we appreciate your comments.

I am sorry that your stay wasn't up to standard.

From time to time to resort does host functions, and we place noise level restrictions on these. I am sorry the noise disturbed you.

In relation to your payment, as advised to you at the time of reservation whilst on the phone with our receptionist, the room rate was to be fully prepaid at time of booking. Our discounted $79 per night villa deal throughout the shoulder season is such a great rate, we do associate this as a "prepay and save" type deal. This is a standard practice in the hotel industry.

All of your comments have been taken seriously, and we appreciate you supplying your feedback so we can ensure a more comfortable stay for guests.

I hope that next time you choose to travel to the Launceston area, that you give us another chance to show you great service, and facilities we offer.

Warm Regards
Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    197
    131
    75
    54
See reviews for
182
252
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a great overnight stay in a 2 bedroom Village Apartment overlooking the miniature golf course & lake. Well kept resort with beautiful scenery. Only minus point is the lights along the corridor to our apartment were not working.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pggenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for choosing to stay us on your recent trip to Launceston.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Rest assured, I have passed your lighting comments on to our Maintenance Manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back when next you choose to travel.

Warm Regards
Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Depending on what day you book to stay you can save anywhere between $50 to $100, in it's day it was beautiful but not much has been done on upkeep since, the chalets are big and genroous and great for families wanting somewhere cheap to stay the updated new studio room are modern but somewhat small. The pool, sauna area are old and tired. The gardens are tired. Breakfast was extra and they had the horrible artificial scrambled eggs. The activities are great onsite for the younger children but are not free they are extras you have to purchase, good for a base but not for a complete holiday experience.

Room Tip: Stick to the chalets if you have families they are old but better for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I haven't stayed at Grindelwald for over 15 years so was really looking forward to it but unfortunately it was the little things that added up to make it a disappointing stay.

We had a Sunset Villa cabin over looking the golf course but half the lights didn't work and we had to rely on a bedside lamp, which made it hard to see at night time. The kitchen cupboard was infested with ants, so we were loathe to use any of the crockery. Finally, the heating/cooling system was useless - despite trying to turn it down to 21 degrees, it had a mind of its own and blasted us with 31 degree heat instead. There were no instructions on how to combat this.

Dinner at the Alpenrose Restaurant was also bitterly disappointing - stale and lukewarm chicken parmi with a mountain of chips and a teeny bowl of salad drenched in dressing. Pretty poor value for $21. Yes I ate it all, but only because I was starving! Our first waiter could use some lessons in customer service - he was abrupt and acted as though he couldn't wait for us to leave. We had a 5.30pm booking, so it's not like the place was packed. The phone was ringing off the hook (numerous times) and I heard him yell to another waitress "Don't answer it!" - WTF? Our second waitress was much better - she was polite and didn't try to rush us out the door.

The place also seems to attract a bogan element - not Management's fault, I know. There were bogans swearing their heads off on the golf course while I was trying to get my little one down for a nap, bogans playing mini golf, bogans hanging around the shopping village in general...

I would stay here again but only if I could get a last minute deal - I certainly wouldn't pay full price for this place. While I am a fan of the Swiss village concept and am desperate for it to work, with the tourism industry struggling in Tasmania, this place really needs to up its game if it wants to stay in the market. It's starting to show its age and is run by management who is seemingly happy with the status quo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAnimal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Aspect Tamar Valley Resort for one night only and that was definitely enough. The rooms were very out-dated, along with the furnishings. The bathroom was small, but tidy. The staff expect ALL cutlery, dishes and even the kettle to be cleaned and put away or they will charge a fee of $35 which is ridiculous considering you are paying them to stay at their resort. On the plus side, they have a lovely little bakery in the shopping village, with a very friendly shop attendant. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elissia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Two families stayed in two double rooms for three days. No intercom facility was available in the room and it was difficult to contact the other room or reception. House keeping not done every day. Food in the restaurant was good. Bathroom was small but neat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoharan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently stayed in a two bedroom "vista" chalet. That was the only downside - the vista was blocked by a tree. Everything else was great. We were with our daughter and the grandkiddies. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The guy in the pro shop was so nice, friendly and wonderful with the kids, that I am so sorry we forgot his name! The chalet had seen better days, but it was clean and had everything we needed. We had dinner in the restaurant one night - the Tagine was really really good and tasty. Again the staff were friendly and helpful. The same for breakie.

Would recommend this for anyone wanting an economical comfy break central to most things in Launceston and up - make sure you go to the Beaconsfield Mine Museum - world class.

Remember that holiday village in Dirty Dancing????? Well it's not quite but if it was summer and we could have dance and makeup lessons.....look out.

Fun and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindelwald
10.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
8.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
9.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#1 of 2 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
9.2 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
19.0 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Tamar Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Property: Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Address: 7 Waldhorn Dr, Grindelwald, Tasmania 7277, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspect Tamar Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort provides great accommodation, activities, shopping, lakeside dining, golfing and Freshview Day Spa. The resort boasts World Class facilities in arguably Tasmania's most exclusive and exotic suburb.The resort is set on over 150 magnificent acres amid numerous spectacular lakes with breathtaking views and fosters an engaging timeless ambience rarely found.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is perfectly located about 15 minutes drive north of Launceston and is a true Jewel in the crown of this breathtaking region.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is ideally positioned to use as a base whilst exploringall that Northern Tasmania has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspect Tamar Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspect Tamar Valley Hotel Grindelwald
Tamar Valley Hotel
Quality Inn Launceston
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort Grindelwald, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing