We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in a peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were expecting a 2 bedroom villa but when we arrived, it was actually one separate bedroom and one bed in the common area by the front door.
The linen was clean and the beds comfortable. We would have had a peaceful sleep were it not for the wall heater making loud annoying noises during the night. In the end, we turned it off and relied on the electric blankets for heating. Extra pillows and doonas were provided.
The separate bedroom was spacious with a queen size bed with electric blanket and a single wardrobe with a small TV on top which was only tuned to pay TV. Towels were provided for use in the pool area. There was an in-room safe.
Practically no lounge area. There was a big sofa across from the kitchen counter. The TV with free to air channels was located on top of the tall wardrobe beside the double bed, I had to strain my neck to watch it so I didn't bother. Had an early night since I was tired anyway.
If you self-cater, aside from eating on the kitchen counter top, there is no space for a dining table and chairs inside the room. There was a balcony outside the kitchen with a small table and some chairs. Our balcony faced the front doors of other villas so there was no privacy. Furthermore, it was not undercover so you were at the mercy of the elements. A $35 additional cleaning charge applies if all kitchen equipment is not fully washed, dried and put away on check-out.
Bathroom - There was heating in the bathroom. The shower cubicle was very small. The rack for shampoo and soap got soaking wet when showering.
Overall, our villa was clean and well-maintained except for the carpet floor. You wouldn't know it was dirty from the colour of the carpet, but when we dropped something and used a tissue to pick it up, the tissue was black. The carpet needed a good shampoo.
We had our own car park space right in front of our villa.
Beautiful and relaxing surroundings. Lovely short walk up the hill for 360 degree views of the property.
There was a lake where you could feed the ducks but the ground was strewn with lots of duck droppings which was a turnoff for me. Also a small Swiss village with some shops. The bakeshop was closed for a few days when we visited so can't comment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arddwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 615 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were sucked in by a recommendation through Travel Zoo, we actually thought it was a resort it is a series of cabins next to a golf course.It was a long way out of town and the road in was littered with roadkill,hence the first impression was yuk!The kitchen was a fridge microwave and sink, a notice advises that if you don't clean the kitchen you will be charged $35. The so called Swiss Village consists of a couple of little shops and the restaurant is very average.If you are a keen golfer its OK otherwise stay in town, without a car you are isolated.The bathroom is tiny, shower toilet and a very small basin hardly enough room to clean your teeth. More suited to a young family but I still feel you could do better.No complaints about the staff they were lovely!

Room Tip: Facing the lake as long as you like feeding the ducks, they were the best thing about this park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katemeriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at this report as part of a TV special during our holiday in Tasmania. We had a cabin overlooking the "lake". I found the cabin lacking in some areas - a self contained kitchenette but nowhere to actually sit and have a meal. Cabin had a very noisy air conditioner to the point where you couldn't leave it on while sleeping as it would keep you awake - it get's cold there in winter! Having said that, the staff were friendly and helpful and even if the numbers were low for breakfast and the buffet wasn't available, they would cook whatever you wanted from the menu. Don't expect all the shops on site to be open during winter months - it seems a lot of Tasmania closes down for winter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just ten minutes outside of Launceston, sitting very high above everything, Tamar Valley resort can be found. It looks like a Swiss village with cute shops (check out Vonda Anne's), chalets, and a lovely lake. Being autumn, the leaves are changing, so it's gorgeous everywhere. We had a cabin on the lake. The ducks and rabbits and birds all came visiting to our balcony. The cabin had a king size bed and was well set up with a kitchenette and a spa. The room was quite comfortable, but the ac/heat was very noisy. (there was an electric heater in the cupboard, but I forgot to pull it out.) The cabin was clean, modern (recently refurbished?) and had everything we needed. There was a sofa, which just fitted in, leaving little space to move comfortably. It all worked, but was a little crowded.

The resort has a nice big pool, exercise room, spa and sauna, however, we were as far away from these facilities as we could be, so we didn't use them.

We did dine at the resort for a couple of breakfasts, one lunch and a couple of dinners. Meals were generous but basic and reasonably priced. It is, however, nice to have all the facilities available as shops are quite far and there are not many restaurant choices nearby either.

Staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The cabins on the lake have great views and are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

There are not enough stars for me to rate how well I enjoyed this accomodation.

We booked the Winter chalet room, and it was fantastic. The room was in a single cottage beside a little lake, with beautiful geese and ducks. The grounds were impecible. The room itself was very stylish, with a great washroom, a televsion (with free Foxtel), all the dishes and cutlery you could desire, a fridge, microwave and sink. The room also had a heater and air conditioner, but being winter we did not require it.

We ate supper at the on-site chalet, and had drinks at the pub. The meal was great, and the prices were really low, considering what we received.

The hotel also had a bakery, games room, and souviner shop on-site. They also had a spa, that I regret I did not have time to visit. I am sure I am forgetting something, as there was just so much they had to offer.

There was also a large swimming pool, steam room, and hot tub on site, which we enjoyed all to ourselves.

I can't imagine better accomodation, especially for the price. I would highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I booked a cabin for 2 nights. On the first day we got there, My 6 yr old daughter cut her finger off in the cabin door, i ran to get a first aid kit and was handed a couple bandaids. We got to the hospital where me and my daughter stayed the night, after her opperation i went back to collect our bags, and pay the bill. I told them what had happened,without any sympathy and upon my request and they ever so generously let me off $30. I Will not be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nsilva83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

There is much better ideation around than this the outside looks nice but the inside is old dated and worn, when I booked I asked for the best rooms available to accommodate 6 ladies at the time the hotel was pretty empty so I basically had the best choice, if the premier is the best then I would hate to see standard, do not stay here not worth it, $800 for two nights I told them we did not want bunks due to outages ranging from 46-53 but that's what we got
They throw you in and that's that

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Varikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindelwald
8.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
988 reviews
10.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 30 in Launceston
836 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
19 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
361 reviews
3 mi away
Launceston Holiday Park Legana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Tamar Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Address: 7 Waldhorn Dr, Grindelwald, Tasmania 7277, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $75 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspect Tamar Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort provides great accommodation, activities, shopping, lakeside dining, golfing and Freshview Day Spa. The resort boasts World Class facilities in arguably Tasmania's most exclusive and exotic suburb.The resort is set on over 150 magnificent acres amid numerous spectacular lakes with breathtaking views and fosters an engaging timeless ambience rarely found.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is perfectly located about 15 minutes drive north of Launceston and is a true Jewel in the crown of this breathtaking region.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is ideally positioned to use as a base whilst exploringall that Northern Tasmania has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspect Tamar Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspect Tamar Valley Hotel Grindelwald
Tamar Valley Hotel
Quality Inn Launceston
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort Grindelwald, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing