We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly nice and quite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family friendly nice and quite.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Great quiete place to stay, very helpful to my 8 month pregnant partner and 14 month old. We stayed in a two bedroom chalet, was nice and roomy. Can't say much for the cleanliness. The bath had little black hairs all around and was like it hadn't been cleaned, we had to clean it before we bathed our baby. The room did have everything we needed and if it didn't they were happy to bring it up to us. Would be better if it was a little closer than 20km from launceston

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    199
    132
    75
    54
See reviews for
182
254
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed in the main part of the holiday resort and my room was clean comfortable and palatial, very well geared for disables people with rails and chair in the well set out bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful and our buffet dinner in the bistro beautifully cooked with a good selection of food and plenty of it. The resort has some interesting little shops and cafes to browse around. the lakes are beautiful and we walked off our dinner by wandering around them and then climbing the lookout also in the grounds. The view from the top over the resort and town is well worth the climb. It had a pool and gym but as I didn't use them I can't review

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I purchased an Ouffer deal. A 3 night stay in a lakeside spa villa. Supposed to cost $1,721 but I bought the deal for $429.

Working out at $570 per night I thought I was going to get a fabulous villa, but I got an outdated cabin. I must admit the location was perfect, beautiful grounds but I was very disappointed in the cabin. The spa in the bathroom took over the bathroom. There was a little handbasin and when you cleaned your teeth, you spat on the spout. There was no vanity to put your toiletries. Us ladies usually have lots of stuff. I had to put all my toiletries and make up on the floor. There was a little tiny cabinet below the basin but was taken up by the waste pipe, toilet rolls and a hair dryer. The coffee table was all stained and varnish taken off. All the fittings were out dated. Blanket on the bed, not a doona. Had vinyl tiles in the bathroom and kitchen. The carpet was all dirty and stained. The air conditioner when turned on sounded like a washing machine (a loud one at that!) That was so annoying. On a brighter note, staff were lovely and the restaurant was great, beautiful meals with a $20 voucher each day. There is lots fo wild life, rabbits and ducks running around, so kids would like that. They had other facilites there, golfing and paddle boats, but being a visitor to Tasmania, didn't have time to do that. It was an ok stay, but wouldn't stay there again, and I think the advertisement of the normal cost of $1,721 for 3 days was false advertising in my opinion.. I would defini;ely not pay $570 per night even if I got to use the facilities and had a bottle of wine and chocolates thrown in.

Room Tip: Unless I got a lake side cabin, I would not stay there. That was the bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandurahmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Bay
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked 2 Lakeview Villas after a very helpful discussion via phone. After reading some of the comments posted we arrived with trepidation but were greeted with a pleasant suprise. The location was wonderfully quiet.
The beds were comfortable.
The cabin was spotlessly clean.
The customer service was exceptional.

Thank you to all staff who made our stay so memorable and we look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: The Lakeview Villas are stand alone cabins with self catering facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jud99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We love Grindelwald, so much that we bought a holiday home there!
It is one of our favorite places in the world..and we have travelled alot..all over europe!
When i was younger our family stayed at the resort a couple of times and its soo cozy and has all the things you need.
Its a beautiful vibe and environment. I recommend anyone who loves a little bit of europe would love Grindelwald. Its a very special place to me.

:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very disappointed the accommodation on the website did not look at all like the accommodation we stayed in. We booked a WATER FRONT KING SPA VILLA they were more like a cabin in a caravan park, stuck right up the back with a bit of water behind us. Could not shower as the water was either boiling hot(dangerously hot) or freezing cold when reported to reception we were told to turn on the tap in the kitchenette and a maintenance person would be sent down, well no maintenance person arrived so no shower for 2 days.The movie channels did not work as advertised. This was a huge disappointment as we had never been to Tasmania before and was a surprise trip for my husbands 40th. I would not recommend the resort to anyone we left Tasmania with a bitter taste in our mouth.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grindelwald hotels

Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Launceston. About 20klms from the CBD but definatley worth the drive. I have stayed here 3 times. Its a great place for the family because its not your typical Motel. Plenty of room to move. Stay in the little cabins, they have a little kitchenette and plenty of room. Kids will love the animal life. Look out for their Wednesday specials.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindelwald
10.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
8.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
9.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
9.2 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
19.0 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Tamar Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Property: Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Address: 7 Waldhorn Dr, Grindelwald, Tasmania 7277, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspect Tamar Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort provides great accommodation, activities, shopping, lakeside dining, golfing and Freshview Day Spa. The resort boasts World Class facilities in arguably Tasmania's most exclusive and exotic suburb.The resort is set on over 150 magnificent acres amid numerous spectacular lakes with breathtaking views and fosters an engaging timeless ambience rarely found.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is perfectly located about 15 minutes drive north of Launceston and is a true Jewel in the crown of this breathtaking region.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is ideally positioned to use as a base whilst exploringall that Northern Tasmania has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aspect Tamar Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspect Tamar Valley Hotel Grindelwald
Tamar Valley Hotel
Quality Inn Launceston
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort Grindelwald, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing