We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just gorgeous”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Askrigg Cottage

The cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage
bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The cottage
bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley, Greater Melbourne, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TCAC1
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just gorgeous”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at Askrigg Cottage for a family member's wedding and a week's holiday in Melbourne. I have never felt as comfortable or 'at home' as I did here. A lovely little cottage at the back of the owner's home, all the little touches - maps, public transport cards, food items, help from the owners, plus a warm and cozy home for the week. It's very close to Puckle St shops, the train and trams. We really recommend this place and will be back next time we're in Melbourne! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere and service
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2013
Thanks for the great review Tamara & Andy
look forward to your next visit
Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2012
Thanks for that review Tula ,look forward to having you stay again

Regards

Martin & Berys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed October 22, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2012
Thanks for that lovely review Letty ,look forward to having you stay again

Regards

Martin & Berys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa S
melbourne, victoria
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and myself had a warm welcome from our hosts. We arrived a little too early, but nothing was too much trouble.Such a lovely, quaint place to stay with everything you could want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness,
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review Lisa
look forward to your next visit
Martin & Berys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2012
Thanks for the great review Paul
cheers
Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
almya
Christchurch NZ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic cosy cottage with everything plus some”
Reviewed December 6, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This was a gorgeous cosy private place to stay. Marin and Berys are wonderful hosts with lot's of very helpful info. We enjoyed drinks and nibbles on the terrace while listening to the bird song. Purchased a ten ticket train/tram combo ticket to go to town, very easy service and short walk from cottage. Local shopping area has everything you could want eg big supermarket Coles. We had a rental car that we could safely park next to cottage under cover with remote control access. A beautiful hamper full of yummy goodies on arrival, won't give details as will spoil the suprise. We went to see the show 'Love Never Dies', went to town and explored Victoria Market etc. We did road trips and explored Great Ocean road, used info centers which were very helpful with tips on things to explore, did waterfall walk, tree top walk all the things the bus trip brochures say and some. Went back to the Otway tree top walk place and did the zip fly tour, 3 and half hours of fun on a flying fox through the tree's. Another day trip we went to the Puffing Billy and did the steam train ride, then drove through the scenic route of the Dandenongs and then to Philip Island to see the Penguin Parade. We loved our time here and would definately come and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location as easy to explore town or country while being in nice suburb.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2011
Thanks Alan & Marja glad you had a great time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Reviewed November 22, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2011
Thanks Dave.See you next time your in town.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing