We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is our 3rd stay (in 5 years) at the Yarra Valley Lodge and it never fails to live up to expectations. Rooms are reasonably large and very comfortable, the place is well maintained and the surrounds (golf course) make for beautiful views and also some lovely walks. The restaurant (Bella) serves some amazing food using local produce and has a great selection of local wines. Eating here and staying at the Lodge also means we can both indulge in a few local wines at the end of the day without worrying about driving!The restaurant staff also went out of their way to recommend some other local wines/wineries that we should try based on our choices that evening. All in all another wonderful weekend escape to the Yarra Valley. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    180
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
87
246
9
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you are looking for a perfect holiday. This is the place to go in Yarra Valley. Staff are extremely helpfull, hotel is well maintained and is surronded by awesomeness - Golf courses, farms, hills etc. I would love to stay there all the time I go back to Melbourne\Yarra Valley.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The furnishings are outdated.... Green carpet?? And the overall layout and presentation could have been thought out a lot more. For example a picture frame behind the tv?? We stayed in the suite which cost a little bit more and was larger than the general room. It was nice to have a separate lounge to the bedroom. The bath with jets is a nice touch also, with quality soaps and lotions . Mini bar was pretty average. Overall needs a overhaul if it wants to keep its reputation. Buffet breakfast was nice also

Room Tip: Pay the extra .... Book the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

Since taking over management of the property in February 2013 and following a long period of receivership, we have worked closely with the owners on a refurbishment plan for all guest rooms and the public areas of the Hotel. This commenced in November 2013 with the replacement of all televisions and we have just finalised new carpets throughout which will commence in April. There’s still plenty more to come over the next 12 to 24 months and I hope that you notice the changes on future stays.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team.

We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

perfect getaway for our Valentines weekend. Had dinner at the Bella Restaurant, the food was visually beautiful with wonderful flavours! I was most impressed with the staff and restaurants attention to food allergies and intolerances. Loved my stay here and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is nice and clean and tidy but is missing that wow factor.
The rooms are pretty basic and aren't very spacious but if you get a room over looking the golf course you're in luck. Very limited room service menu and the fact that you can not order anything after 11pm is a disappointment.
Overall it is a nice hotel given that is situated on a golf course but it isn't anything to rave about.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess260812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
In February 2013, Austpac Hotels & Resorts took over management of the Hotel after a long period of receivership that ended in 2012. We have worked closely with the owners and finalised a 5 year design plan to enhance the 4.5 star rating that the property has enjoyed since opening.

This commenced with the replacement of televisions in November 2013 and we have just signed off on new carpet throughout which will be installed from April 2014 onwards. A complete room will be finalised in 2014 and we will continue with the upgrades through until 2017.

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Yarra Valley Lodge.

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very nice rooms especially if you get a deal. Unfortunately can't say that about the restaurant. It was very much like Faulty Towers - really not up to scratch for this type of resort. Some of the items on the menu were not available and two of the meals were inedible the others were very ordinary. Unfortunately this will put us off staying again. Must add that breakfast was very good although no saucers to go with cups.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macandree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience in Bella Restaurant as the feedback that we typically receive from our guests is outstanding. Our chefs source and use the freshest of local Yarra Valley produce with all dishes prepared in house on a daily basis.

In response to your comments, I personally dined in Bella this week with a guest; the quality, presentation and flavours of the dishes were amazing. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you directly and hope that you will contact me on anthony_logiusto@yarravalleylodge.com.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My mother sister and I decided to go to the yarra valley for a girl’s weekend away. Upon arriving at the Yarra Valley Lodge we were met with very friendly staff that made it an easy check in. We drove to the undercover car park and had a short walk to our room.
The room was smaller than pictures on the net, but clean. There was a note on one of the beds that said 'complementary snacks', but no snacks were with it. I opened the fridge to put a few bottles of wine we had just purchased from the days winery visits and saw that there was a half empty bottle of coke in there and a live cockroach. We rang reception and told them that we were missing the snacks and about the cockroach and coke in the fridge, they apologised and sent someone immediately. They also apologised and said that they had arranged for us to move to another room and that they had provided a complementary bottle of champagne there for us.
The new room was the same as the first - clean and nice. We decided to go to the pool and looked everywhere in the room for a map or information on the hotel but couldn't find any. We once again called reception and asked for directions. Directions weren't very clear so we asked for a map, which they said was available at reception.
We grabbed the map and walked the 3-4 minute walk to the pool. It was clean and cold - which was perfect for the hot day we were there. After being in there a few minutes all 3 of our eyes were stinging from the chlorine coming up off the pool. None of us put our head under the water and we were still finding we were squinting from it coming off the water. A few family’s came in later on we heard another woman say the same thing - she also hasn't put her head under the water. The pool is definitely over chlorinated and is a ‘fitness’ pool not a recreational pool.
We walked back and decided to grab a coffee. A wedding party had just arrived and were having pre drinks in the bar so we asked if there was somewhere else we could get one. Reception advised us to go to the clubhouse across the road. We walked across there and were told by club members that everything was closed and to go back to the bar. We went back to our room and made our own.
We stayed in for the night and decided to order room service and have a glass of wine from the wine tasting. There were only 2 wine glasses and 2 water glasses – it would have been nice for them to add an extra glass knowing there were 3 people staying in the room (something I would expect from a $370 room a night). We ordered 2 burgers and 1 ribs. The meals came within a good time and the burgers were lovely. The ribs were horrible. They came with no sides and were tiny (12cm x 10cm in the middle of the plate) with 1 bone sitting to the side of the plate. I cut them up and saw that at least 70% (and that's being generous) was fat. I understand that ribs can be fatty but to not even have 50% meat is ridiculous. I ended up sharing the burger and chips the others ordered. We didn't complain whilst there.
There was a little bit of noise when the wedding guests started going back into their rooms but we only heard it while watching TV and it didn’t disrupt sleep. The beds were comfortable. The pillows weren’t great however there were extras in the cupboard to be able to add to the ones on the bed to make it a little more comfortable – however that is just personal preference. The shampoo/conditioner/body wash and moisturiser smelled beautiful – great choice with those!
We had the breakfast the next morning. The coffee was weak and cool. When we asked for a stronger hot one is was stronger but still cool. We were unable to make our own as the coffee machine was broken. There was a great selection of food. The salmon didn’t taste very nice and I thought the bagels and croissants were from the day before, or were frozen and have been defrosted, definitely not fresh.
Staff at reception when we checked out were pleasant and helpful. We asked for a map of the area and for ideas of where we could have a look at some shops, which they happily assisted with.
All in all the stay was pleasant however I doubt I would stay there again. More information needs to be provided to guests about the hotel. For the price per night I expected a higher level of service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

I was disappointed to read that we let you down on some aspects of your stay and thank you for your open, honest and balanced feedback. I am meeting with the key members of my team this morning to discuss the issues that you raised and trust that you will notice a significant improvement on your next stay with us.

The very nature of a Trip Advisor review makes it anonymous, but I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further and would appreciate you contacting my via e-mail on anthony_logiusto@yarravalleylodge.com.

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
5.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.4 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
8.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Property: Yarra Valley Lodge
Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne
Yarra Valley Lodge Australia/Chirnside Park, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing