We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lodge”
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Picton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Lodge”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently stayed here for my sister's wedding. The rooms were clean and functional. Staff were extremely helpful and helped us to make the most of our time with extended family. Breakfasts were great - loved the barista. The wedding was beautiful and a great night was had by all. Day spa was lovely and the hot stone massage was very relaxing. The kids enjoyed the pool. Thanks for a great 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    186
    46
    22
    12
See reviews for
93
252
9
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arriving at the lodge after a massive storm, we discovered there was no power in the building ... Staff were fantastic about helping us to rooms, even changing me to an upgraded suite on the ground floor so I didn't have to climb the stairs (with the elevator of course not working!) ... Room was beautiful, bed was extremely comfortable and patio doors opened to a lovely peaceful countryside view.

As a conference venue for a small group it was perfect, catering was great between both the conference and restaurant for evening meals ... Would love to go back for a few days R&R - always nice to feel like that about a venue when you've spent your time there working!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Garl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My Wife and I recently had our Wedding at the Yarra Valley Lodge and for the four days we were there, it was fantastic. Friendly staff, delcious meals and great accommodation. It was a joy to have Maddie as our co-ordinater and her and the YV team are a very professional unit. We felt as though out best interests were at heart and any questions were answered immediately. We had about 30 rooms booked for our guests and I didn't have one complaint at all. The rooms are nicely set up and the scenary is great. The golf course was testing but a joy to play and my wife really enjoyed the service at the spa. At one time the lift broke down and having a lot of equipment to move from carpark to room, one of the porters had no hessitation in helping us move it all. All round, a brilliant and romatic lodge and hopefully we'll be able to come back form out 1st year anniversary.

Room Tip: Northern side rooms during winter are warmer with the sun but the views to the south are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raycox23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a cosy lodge nestled among a golf course in the Yarra Valley with a great spa facility. We stayed in a very large and comfortable one bedroom suite. The room was well appointed and had great facilities including a large spa bath. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I was late to breakfast but they were happy to let us in and serve us anyway. There is a lot to see and do in the area, but we were only there for a night so we didn't venture far. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar that we spent some time in.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NLB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We planned a weekend in the Yarra Valley and the Lodge was our accommodation choice. From the drive up through the golf course to the friendly welcome at reception, we were off to a great start. Incidentally, a staff member called us a few days prior to our arrival confirming our booking and if we had any questions, and booked us in for dinner on our arrival night ..a very nice touch and very professional.

Checking in was easy, friendly and helpful. Staff are very professional and helpful as we found throughout the Lodge. A credit to good training and caring attitude of management.
Room was perfect, nice size, clean and welcoming. Local chocolate and greeting on the bed was a nice surprise.

As we were booked in for dinner, we had a drink first in the bar and chatted with the very friendly bar staff. At 7.30, we headed to the restaurant for dinner and were seated. To this point, everything was perfect, couldn't be better in fact. But the dinner arrangement was extremely disappointing. The issue of 'set menus' adopted by some restaurant businesses delivers value ONLY to the restaurant or hotel. A staff member pointed out that this was only a fairly recent initiation by the hotel. What we found was a menu that lacked any imagination, poor choice and by all accounts, poor value. There wasn't one item that you could say was value at $45 for a main course, especially chicken breast? It would be fair do you not think, to mention on your website that there is no a la carte menu for dinner, only a set menu option? As I said, this option delivers value only to the hotel.

The other end of the scale was breakfast. I have to be honest that this was one of the best spreads we experienced for a while. There was an abundance of choice and even more from the kitchen if you wanted poached eggs etc. The food was fresh, well presented and the poor barista was under pressure with a queue at his coffee machine.

Overall, we have a fabulous weekend in the Valley, the Lodge is a fine place to stay, great staff and fabulous breakfasts, just such a shame about the dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a golf view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickAbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team.

The menu for dinner in Bella Restaurant features the freshest of local ingredients with almost every element of every dish prepared in house by a talented team of Chefs. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience as we typically receive amazing feedback from both Hotel and outside guests.

We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed with husband for one night in a lodge room. We had a view of the golf course, lovely in the morning. Check in was easy, checking out was not easy as the eftpos was down so we could not pay with credit card.
Staff were helpful. Quality furnishings and comfortable bed with a little lounge area. Quality toiletries. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarivan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed one night for a business conference and found it to be very comfortable. Rooms were incredibly well equipped with toiletries, robes etc. TV had Foxtel. Bed was very comfortable and there was also a small couch and table. Very ideal for a business traveller/short or long stay. I did find the shower pressure incredibly disappointing.

I had some trouble locating the place as Heritage Ave is technically inside the Heritage Golf Club Estate so it's you need to go through those gates and a further minute or so up the road to reach the venue. Better signage would assist with this.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic with hot and cold options including fruit platters, pastries etc. A good place to stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
20.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
263 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
326 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
141 reviews
8.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Property: Yarra Valley Lodge
Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne
Yarra Valley Lodge Australia/Chirnside Park, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing