We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms, but the service... not so much.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely rooms, but the service... not so much.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We chose this hotel as a base for the weekend of my wedding. The rooms were lovely, and we booked a suite so there was room for us all to get ready together. When we were looking at the hotel, the girl who showed us around told us all about a 'tidy-up' housekeeping service for bridal room that would be done ready for the bride and groom returned. Sounded good!
On check in we asked if the service was still available, and were told certainly, what time would we be leaving and coming back?
Unfortunately the 'tidy-up' didn't happen. We didn't leave the room in a mess at all, but I would have assumed the bed could have been made up at least! When we returned the room service dishes from the morning had not even been picked up while we were away. I have to say I was disappointed after being told about this service, confirmed it would happen, and then it didn't. My advice to future brides: don't assume something will occur just because you are told it will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your room was not serviced as had been promised; I will personally follow up with our housekeeping team to ensure that we review this aspect of our service.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team. We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    179
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
87
244
9
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

An easy 1 hour drive from Melbourne, you enter the Yarra Valley Lodge through the Golf Course - very Palm Springs like! Lots of retirement homes line the fairways, but they are well designed and blend in with the landscape - a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is located at the back of the complex, and is 5 star. The rooms were large and clean - we were lucky to get french doors onto the grassed gardens - other rooms have balconies. The property boasts sunny communal balconies, which we took advantage of for afternoon wine and cheese platter. A pool table, a bar, a function area and a great restuarant are all located within this main building. A short walk away is the day spa/tennis courts/gym and pool area, which our family loved.
Breakfast buffet was dee-lish and plentiful!
A great little family break, and would definately return!

Room Tip: All rooms in the hotel are either King bed with flip out sofa couch, or a Queen and Double beds. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The4Birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team.

We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved our recent experience at Yarra Valley Lodge. The room was great with wonderful views, a huge bed and a well presented bathroom. The lodge is well located to explore the Yarra Valley.

The staff were really helpful and pleasant, with suggestions for things to do and with directions and information.

Similarly, our dinner at Bella restaurant, was very good, with fabulous food, a reasonable wine list at good prices and staff that were friendly and attentive, without being intrusive.

Our only gripe was the muzak in corridors, from 9 AM (even on a Sunday) to 9 PM. The setting is tranquil. Why destroy it with horrible muzak which was way too loud and intrusive? We tried to have a rest before dinner but all we could hear was the terrible noise in the corridor. What's wrong with allowing the birdsong from outside to provide something natural, if anything was actually required (which it isn't).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTDMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

We have recently had a new background music system installed and the volume in certain parts of the building had not been balanced during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that the usually peaceful surrounds were disturbed.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team. We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Yara Valley Lodge is an impressive hotel situated overlooking the amazing Heritage Golf Course. Staff were welcoming and extremely friendly. Rooms are spacious, modern and very clean. Bathrooms are fine although could use a bit of a uplift. Shower was very small. Restaurant and Lodge bar are both great with good food and wines from the local wineries.
Wether you are a keen golfer or looking to explore the beautiful wineries of the Yarra Valley, the Yarra Valley Lodge is a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank coatsy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Location, facilities, view, EVERYTHING was fantastic... except the staff. They were extremely short, unfriendly and unhelpful even while my partner was having a bad allergic reaction! However, if you can avoid the staff this place is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i_hawk_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

I was disappointed to read your impressions of our team members and service levels. Since taking over management of the Hotel in February 2013 we have put great effort into the recruitment, training and development of our team and typically receive excellent feedback from our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was not up to our usual standard.

I share all surveys with my team and we use this as our platform to make continuous improvement throughout our business. We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel itself was in good shape, the room we stayed in was nice and the provided breakfast hit the spot but there were a few things which were a downer considering the price of staying at the hotel.

- The carpark is filthy due to a serious bird problem. I noticed that cars parked at the very ends of the corridor were absolutely covered in birds, which flew everywhere when we walked close, so I made sure I parked in the middle but still found my car had heaps of bird droppings on it the next day. I hate to think what would have happened to the cars parked at the ends!

- Music plays in the corridor all day. When I asked about it was turned down, but it's annoying to be hearing music in the background all day while in your room.

- We weren't using it, so it wasn't an issue but the main TV in our room only showed the SBS and ABC channels. The smaller TV in the bedroom showed all channels. This was reported to the hotel as we left.

- When we left there was an error with the bill, we had prepaid and were asked to pay an extra $35. Luckily we had the original confirmation email on us, because it was later than the email quote which the hotel had on system. It was sorted out eventually, but it wasn't a pleasant experience to leave on.

Overall worth investigating, and most reviews are good so we might have had an out of character experience but make sure not to park your car at either end of the carpark!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team. The local birds "living" in the car park are a challenge for us and we have recently completed the installation of netting on the ceiling to prevent them from nesting. Whilst the numbers of birds are down to about 10% of what they were 6 months ago, we still have some work to do.

We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was an overnight stay for a Mother's Day gift. Our top floor garden view room was well appointed and exceptionally presented even though the view was nothing to get excited about.

Reception service was of a high standard and the staff were professional, polite and courteous. The first thing that will be obvious is the absolute peace and tranquility of the area. It seems as though you're a world away from anywhere yet just under an hour's drive from the Melbourne CBD.

If you pick the right time and day you'll see local wildlife around the grounds comprising of kangaroos, the occasional echidna and rosella's. The Yarra River is just a good stone throw away from the hotel and if you love golf, you can swing your clubs around the Jack Nicklaus designed course.

If you don't like dining in at The Lodge, Warrandyte village is a short ten minute drive away where you'll find several good restaurants and the Grand Hotel. A word of warning. The restaurants are closed on Monday nights so you're only option is the pub.

Some previous negative reviews of the Yarra Valley Lodge seem to be unreasonable and not justified. One reviewer mentioned that the guests' carpark as being covered in bird "****". Yes there were a lot of swallows flying about but the car park was clean and the birds did not present any problems.

Another reviewer wrote about mould in their shower. Our shower had some slight discolouration in the grout in some places but it was nothing more than a cosmetic blemish which didn't affect the shower. My only complaint about the shower is that it's a bit on the small size otherwise it's fine.

The only real complaints I have relate to the small flat panel TV in our room. In this day and age, a 32" doesn't really cut it especially when you consider that night time activities at the hotel are non-existent so you have no choice but to watch TV. It therefore makes sense that a minimum 42" TV should be provided. Broadband internet whether it be cable or wireless is provided but at an additional cost of $15.00 for 500mb. This is a service that should be included in the room rate as provided by some other hotels.

The buffet breakfast was quite good with a large variety of food to choose from. The only issue I had was with the hot food which unfortunately wasn't so hot.

I will gladly stay again at the Yarra Valley Lodge if nothing more than to enjoy the peace and quiet and I recommend it as a place to stay. It's exactly what you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a view of the gold course are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enoone57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYVL, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Yarra Valley.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay and look forward to sharing this with my team.

We hope to see you again on your next getaway!

Regards

Anthony LoGiusto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
5.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
9.4 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
8.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Property: Yarra Valley Lodge
Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne
Yarra Valley Lodge Australia/Chirnside Park, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing