We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just spent a night at this hotel over the weekend, on the morning of our departure we used the gym in the health retreat. The weights machine my fiance was using broke as he was using it, crushing his head and resulting in a nasty head injury. The woman in the health retreat turned up after 5 minutes and started examining the machine and filling out a form instead of running across to the hotel to get us some ice and a first aid box, which is what any nice, caring, normal person would have done, we had to ring across to the hotel ourselves to tell them that there had been a serious accident and to bring ice and a first aid box across to the gym. The hotel is a 2 minute walk away from the gym, it took them FIFTEEN minutes to come across. The girls in reception were kind and helpful, however the management at the hotel have not even uttered us an apology, just a couple of pathetic emails saying that they are 'gathering information', in other words they know they are responsible, they know that the faulty gym equipment could have killed my fiance and they are trying to cover their cowardly backs. Absolutely disgusted with this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CJD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    183
    45
    22
    12
See reviews for
89
247
9
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived at 1.30pm to check in and booked a table in the restaurant for 7pm. We went and saw a movie and when we returned to our room reception called us around 5.50pm asking if we wanted a booking in the restaurant to which my husband was told "you have no reservation and the earliest we can accomodate you was 8.30pm." My husband advised that this was too late and that we would have room service.

When placing our dinner order my husband requested mushroom sauce to have with his steak which he was told wasn't possible. I ordered a chicken dish which was disgusting and had pure fat wrapped around each medallion, the chicken was not a good colour and was more like a pate.

The shower had mould on the tiles and the television does not show the full picture on the screen so if there any words on the screen you cannot read all of them. The bed was also as hard as a rock!

Grounds and surroundings are beautiful, it is such a shame the service is poor! We visited the Yarra Valley on numerous occasions but will never stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelYV, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I apologise that there were some aspects of your stay that did not live up to your expectations and that you were inconvenienced through our mistake with your dinner reservation.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a road trip to Melbourne we decided to head off to the Yarra Valley for a night at The Sebel Heritage. Left Richmond and arrived at the Sebel approx 1 hour later, nice drive. The whole scenery around the valley was so beautiful and green. Turning into the grounds of the Sebel was magnificent with the surrounding hills and undulating plains driving up to the entrance of the Sebel's beautiful well manicured gardens, a very welcome site indeed. Of course not to forget the most magnificent golf course, a golfer's dream having a house on the edge of the fairway and a huge lawn but not having to mow it :)

The gentleman at reception was very helpful and welcoming giving us maps of the area and marking off the best ways to get to the vineyards. Our room was lovely, big bathroom, big doors opening to an outside sitting area looking up to the hills. Everything was beautiful and clean and classy. Our package had a welcome bottle of wine which was a very nice drop:) and a chockie frog on your pillow. We had a room on the first floor which I thought was unusual but then realised that there was only 2 floors and it was nice to not have to go up and down in the lift.

We did not have dinner at the restaurant, only breakfast. Prices seemed a bit expensive but menu looked nice. We ate at the Wattleseed restaurant at Healsville which is approx half hour away but we were out and about and it suited us to eat while we were out. We also had dinner at a restaurant at a winery just 10 mins from,the Sebel but sorry I cannot think of the name of it. It was very nice, wood fire.

I had a pampering at the Piaf day spa at Healsville (see review). We loved the area and hotel so we decided that we would book in for another night of luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in this establishment with two preschoolers. The hotel was very quiet and very comfortable, (in fact our grandchildren were the noise factor!) The staff were absolutely wonderful to them, (and to us.)
We all enjoyed the lovely heated indoor pool for swimming and with out the children the golf course would have been very inviting.
The meals were wonderful and special dietary requirements were catered for without fuss. The morning breakfast was amazing. The best gluten free bread ever. The scrambled eggs were the only disappointment not being made to order as we're the other egg dishes. You had so many other dishes to choose from this was not a problem.
I would recommend this hotel if you would like to take a break in the heart of the Yarra Valley. I do not think that you would be disappointed.

Room Tip: I do not think that you would get a bad room. It would be a preference of a view you wanted. Park or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emceebee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelYV, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to note the experience you and your family enjoyed during your stay with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed both the service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a great property - comfortable and roomy rooms. The staff were great service providers and very helpful when providing information of what to do in the Yarra Valley. The 'Retreat' was a great area with day spa, gym, pool and tennis courts ... and staff also very friendly and helpful.
The golf course (even though we didn't play it) looks amazing and if we had the time we would have liked to have a walk through it.
The only negative is that there is not a casual dining area - Bella is the main dining room and it is very upmarket and quite expensive (but very worth it). If the Sebel introduced a cafe/bistro to this property it would be great.

Room Tip: All rooms on any floor has good views - however, the rooms on ground floor might not be that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ao1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I organised our company national sales meeting at this venue. It was ideal for this purpose.
The conference facilities were of a high standard. We were able to have our meeting, breaks, lunch etc all in the same place which saved time making our way to restaurants etc.
The conference rooms were quiet and well serviced by extremely courteous and helpful staff.
The hotel rooms were very large and beautifully appointed. Meals were excellent.
The grounds were beautiful, golf course nature trails, gym.
I must say again, the courtesy shown by the team at the Sebel Heritage was brilliant! I would definitely recommend this venue for not only business meeting but for vacation or a break away.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, mine was on the ground floor which was handy to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Rooms are modern, clean, spacious & comfortable. Food lovely. The outlook is peaceful and quiet. I loved the treat & poetic note left on the pillow at turndown - a lovely touch. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlagciti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
5.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
319 reviews
20.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
254 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
135 reviews
8.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Property: Yarra Valley Lodge
Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne
Yarra Valley Lodge Australia/Chirnside Park, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing