We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sumptuous!”
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excellent service and very friendly, helpful staff. Beautifully appointed rooms and a choice of dining options. Tranquil and lush setting far from traffic or population noise. Quite out of the way and difficult to access without your own or a hire car, or a taxi, with no shops - or anything else really! - within walking range. But once you are there, especially if golf is your forte, you will be in heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 564 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley for a 2 day business conference. I must say that I was incredibly impressed with the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff at all times. We arrived as a large group and yet I saw every person greeted warmly with a very efficient check in process.

The staff displayed a consistent high level of professionalism, were extremely helpful and able to answer any questions asked accurately and promptly. Where questions could not be answered immediately, staff sought and provided the required information promptly.

The food was delicious and varied. During a very short delay in providing more eggs for breakfast, staff pro-actively provided information advising of the delay and the time to have more eggs available.

All meal and break facilities were consistently available, clean, neat and presented well, making any transition between conference activities and meals/breaks seamless.
This has been my third stay at the Sebel for business. During each visit, staff have consistently provided an admirable level of service, friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danni-elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Loved it! The staff are very down to earth but professional. We have two young kids and we felt welcomed. The kids loved it! Also, the person who greeted us at breakfast was fantastic. I think she understood what it is like to be a parent of young children and made breakfast really relaxing and not rushed. Would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereyoudratherbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed overnight with a work conference. Facilities at this location are first class. Hotel rooms are large, clean and well payed out with great views. I was on level 3.
There are spa facilities together with a great golf course attached. The wineries of the Yarra Valley are at your door step so lots to do.
Facilities for business conference are excellent and are well utilised by some big brand company's. Staff friendly and efficient. Quality of food in the restaurant is excellent.
Whilst I was with small business group I noticed the level of service provided to individuals and couples was also very good.
Recommended as a great location to stay if you want a base to visit the valley or if you are a golf enthusiast it's got a lot on off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelYV, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

We are delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We decided to stay at the Sebel mostly because, after an extended period of personal and financial hardship, my husband and I really needed some quality pampering at the Spa. The rooms were passable, but badly in need of refurbishment, with mould in the bathroom and tired furnishings. Service in the restaurant was great, albeit for a really overpriced meal. However, it was the Spa that really put a dampner on the weekend. Booking two massages, my husband and I were led to a treatment room that could only be described as absolutely freezing. Therapists dealt with the complaint by making excuses of not being "familiar with the room" so as to not be able to control it's temperature and by running outside to get help at the desk (leaving me shivering on the bed, eating into my treatment time....and whilst the extra towel was appreciated, it didn't increase my enjoyment of this woeful experience at all). Complaints to the Manager of the Hotel the next day were met by platitudes of correcting their service via training, which might help others who purchase this service after us, but certainly went no way toward addressing our problem - a $330 waste of money ammounting to nearly 50% of our weekly household wage. At the time of writing this, the Hotel has still not responded to our request for compensation.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the Spa and don't expect 4 Star + - only the prices reflect that rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollyW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelYV, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear DollyW11,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley. I understand the Day Spa Manager has been in contact with yourself, and the above issue has now been resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Mark Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

this is our second time at the Sebel. The rooms are large and thoroughly clean. The staff are friendly and very welcoming on arrival. The view from our windows were of a lush green golf course. This is a "Must Stay Motel".

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 649rutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times because of the standard of accommodation & the position of the hotel. This time we were disappointed to find that the standard had slipped slightly. The towels were thin & hard the last time we were there & seem to have become thinner & harder this time. The aircon in the room was also difficult to keep on an even temperature & if we stay again I will definitely be taking my own pillow. However the staff are all very helpful & pleasant & the hotel is in a very peaceful setting which makes for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monaro132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
5.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
342 reviews
20.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
282 reviews
5.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
139 reviews
8.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range: $129 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne
Yarra Valley Lodge Australia/Chirnside Park, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing