We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally one that lives up to expectations....”
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Finally one that lives up to expectations....”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Having wanted to visit this property with my husband a few months back, but it was booked out, I decided to visit with a girlfriend for a mid week "Girls Night In" getaway. This is definately a 5 star property right on Melbournes doorstep. Check in was seamless, our room spotless (I am VERY FUSSY), the day spa treatments heavanly, the food delicious and most of all, the staff were friendly, helpful, attentive and engaging! I will definately be back with husband in tow for a round of golf at this beautifully located property!

Room Tip: Golf view rooms offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for your generous feedback regarding your stay with us. It appears the service we provided exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed Bella Restaurant and our Mii Spa facilities. We look forward to seeing you again together with your husband for a game of golf.

Sincerely

Bruce Harbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    184
    45
    22
    12
See reviews for
90
250
9
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of finishing our Christmas / New Year holiday with a 4 night stay at this terrific Resort. We arrived at 10.00 am hoping that we would be able to watch the start of the second cricket test against India until our room was available. The Indian gentleman at reception could not have been more friendly or helpfull. He directed us to the back bar of the golf club, which was perfect. We were contacted 2 hours later informing us that our room was ready. Our twin queen room was perfect except for our view of the golf course, which was partially obstructed. Our request for a room change was met with full understanding and was handled with ease. Our package included breakfast which was fantastic. The choice and quality of the food was amazing. We also made use of the gym, steam room and large indoor pool each day, once again thumbs up. We had one dinner at the restaurant and not surprisingly it was a lovely experiance. The grass fed beef was to die for as was the venison. Everyone we came in contact with treated us as if we were special, which made our stay even more enjoyable. Overall we had a lovely time and would recommend this establishment to anyone. ps To my Indian friend at reception, better luck in the third test.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cranston55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm delighted that the service we provided exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the gym and spa facilities. We look forward to seeing you again and perhaps for another grass fed beef steak.

Sincerely

Bruce Harbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

After a major storm in Melbourne on Christmas day here left us with flooded bedrooms I took two of my bedroomless children (one 22 yrs) through the pelting rain and flooded roads to the only hotel in the area answering the phones and left them in the care of the staff there. Thanks to the "temporary accommodation" clause in our household insurance policy the children took turns to sleep and eat breakfast at The Sebel Heritage for the next ten days. What can I say except that it turned the aggravation and disruption of the flood into a quite lovely experience. Thankyou staff, you were perfect. Breakfast was delicious. And the "senior male in reception" referred to by SiobhanDav was voted by my son and I as the most professional and effortlessly efficient and friendly customer service person we have ever encountered. Truly a place of calm in the storm:)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thank you for providing some feedback about the The Sebel Heritage.
After what appeared to be a challenging time for you over the Christmas period, I'm glad to hear our team where able to accommodate your children.
We do pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and help out where we can.
I hope you've had some luck with your flooded home and are able to get repairs done quickly.

Sincerely

Bruce Harbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Rooms were clean, foyer nice, pool clean, beds comfy. Beautiful location.

Dinner was great!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamoandBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay at The Sebel Heritage.
It appears that you enjoyed your stay in the magnificent Yarra Valley and appreciated the quality of our rooms and the delightful menu at Bella Restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again

Sincerely

Bruce Harbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is, by far, one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Service was friendly, room was comfortable, the setting in the Yara Valley was beautiful, and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Sebel Heritage was an enjoyable one.
It appears the customer service from our wonderful staff, the quality of our rooms and our magnificent breakfasts have made your stay that little bit better.

We look forward to seeing you again

Sincerely

Bruce Harbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We booked this resort through the Entertainment Book and got a really good package. I loved the excellent service and friendliness of staff here. The hotel is very self-contained and you don't need to travel far for activities. It has a small pool, steam bath, nice change rooms, walk and bike trail. This is a golf resort so you get the stunning views of the immaculately maintained 18 hole golf course with the hills just beyond it. Our package came with breakfast and we were very pleased with the standard of food provided. We also had a deluxe room on the 3rd floor (highest floor) which had a view of the golf course and hills.

As mentioned in some of the other reviews on Trip Advisor, the resort does feel like it is more catered for conferences and doesn't seem like there are many activities for children. We also noticed some of the other rooms faced car parks and residential houses (especially those on lower floors).

In terms of location, the resort is not too far away from Chirnside Shopping Centre (less than 10 minutes drive), 10 minutes to a fruit orchard (www.wildaboutfruit.com.au) and approximately 20 minutes drive to the wineries. We went to De Bortolli for lunch which was simply amazing. You must make a reservation if you are intending to have a meal there as the tables get booked very quickly and they are only open a couple of days a week.

Overall, this resort was just what I needed for a little getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyous85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We booked a two night Golf and Pamper Package over Christmas, with a Seafood Buffet on Christmas day and our review is based on the whole package. We booked golf for 1pm but arrived at the hotel about 11am, we called into the Pro Shop to check if we could play earlier and were informed by a very rude young man that it was member’s competition and we couldn’t possible play in this time. We then arrived at reception and were curtly informed by the receptionist that check-in was 2pm and our room wasn’t ready. We said we were playing golf at 1pm. The senior male in reception phoned house-keeping and very quickly handed us our room key and booked the restaurant for that night. The hotel room was on the 3rd floor (top) with a small balcony over-looking the golf course. The room was large, very clean and well equipped, no complaints about the room. We arrived for golf and we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient gentleman, our clubs were quickly brought to the cart and we were given directions where to go. Although there was a course marshall, the play was very slow, with not many players in front of us. The greens were in very bad condition, we mentioned this in the pro shop after our game and were informed they had a problem with chemicals. We were not informed of this before we played and at $110 each that is unacceptable. It was a beautiful hot day and after golf we decided to have a beer outside over-looking the 18th green – to our shock we were told by the barman that the outside area was for members only, we could have a drink in a small, dark room at the back of the bar. When we were ready to forget about drinks we were reluctantly told we could sit out-side. While we understand member only areas in a members club, we do not want to feel like ‘second class’ citizens after paying for an expensive hotel and golf package. The menu at Bella restaurant on Christmas Eve was limited, but the food was very good, highlight was the snapper in hot and sour consommé. The waitresses were very friendly, professional and efficient. The hotel itself lacks an atmosphere or “heart”. The only bar we could find had a pool table in it and there was nowhere to just relax over a coffee and read a book. The Christmas buffet ($160pp) was slightly disappointing, there was no Christmas atmosphere, music or even a maitre ‘d. The waiters and waitresses did a great job. There was a good selection of food but the blue swimmer crab was flaky and crumbly and shell soft (possibly ex-frozen ?). The turkey was nice but too much stuffing in the middle. The ham was delicious. We had a lovely pamper session before we departed. At $1,200 for the two nights, we left feeling disappointed with the overall package.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SioDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thank you for your detailed feedback.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we have exceeded your expectations and other areas where we have not delivered. I have passed on all particular information to the relevant areas so they can look into it in more detail.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many Thanks

Bruce Harbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
5.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
20.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
8.2 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Property: Yarra Valley Lodge
Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne
Yarra Valley Lodge Australia/Chirnside Park, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing