We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were quite disappointed with our stay at the Mantra Ettalong Beach. It looks much nicer on the website and is advertised as a "hotel" which is very misleading. It is more like an apartment than a hotel and a basic one at that. We had just gotten engaged (which we didn't know before booking the hotel but had still thought that we were going to a nice hotel). Some of our friends had tried to get champagne/strawberries etc delivered to our room as a surprise but were told it wasn't possible as there is no restaurant attached to the "hotel" and it doesn't have a liquer license. There was no WIFI in the room and there was a USB port in the TV that was disabled as because of the "hotel's" own movie system (which you had to pay for). The only positive was the spa bath in the bathroom but even this was a little small. I would definitely not return to the Mantra Ettalong Beach and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi0naOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Fi0naOS,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
It is very disappointing to read that you were not happy with some parts of your stay with us. Please be aware that our property is appropriately named the Mantra Ettalong Beach Resort and does not advertise as having an onsite restaurant. As your friends would have been advised we do not have a restaurant on site and therefore any extra amenities purchased by our guests are provided by an external company and need to be organised in advance. We are more than happy to organise extras for our guests however without appropriate notice we cannot fulfil every request.

As you mentioned the television in the room does provide an in house movie system along with free to air channels and some foxtel channels.

We do hope that the above information helps to explain some of the concerns you had during your stay and hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,109)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Ettalong Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,718 - 1,724 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spent weekend at Mantra Ettalong. Establishment very clean, staff very professional,
room very spacious, beautiful view, close to beach, shops, next door to lovely club, fantastic
pool/spa area. Thanks for a great weekend, will definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Lina C,

Thank you so much for the perfect review. It is always a pleasure to know that every aspect of your stay was perfect and that you enjoyed your experience with us at Mantra Ettalong. We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the mantra ettalong beach resort with 7 girlfriends for a yearly break. We had 2×2 bedroom apartments and adjoining 1 bedroom apartment which was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly, check in efficient. The day spa was excellent, all were happy with our treatments and complementary cheese platter. Ferry ride to palm Beach was great, lunch at cute Cafe. Dinner at beefsteak and barramundi restaurant with entertainment was good night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank den11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear den11_12,

Thank you for the great comments from your recent girl’s weekend with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach. It is always a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the different local services you used during your stay.
We hope to welcome you and your friends back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Really lovely accommodation, room clean and smelt nice. Spacious rooms, spa bath and well presented room. Loved the view, location was great, close to all amenities. All staff very friendly and accommodating. Would recommend MANTRA Ettalong to everyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Angels701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Angels701,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, your recommendation is the best form of advertising for our hotel and is certainly a compliment to all of our team members and the effort they put into making each of our guests stays memorable.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I would defo go back there but not at school holidays I love kids but if you want to have a romantic time there while you stay then I would say not over school holidays or public holidays didnt get next to near the out side spa due to it been crowded with kids jumping and splashing. Overall really enjoyed the stay with my girlfriend. I would defo go back! Be nice if they serviced the apt aswell like the one in majour citys cant see reason why this didnt happen as most hotels service apts daily.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbiesydney007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear robbiesydney007,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to know that you will be coming back to stay with us again soon. Keep an eye on your website for lots of different specials including mid week escapes that will help you with the kid free romantic couples escape you are looking for.

Kind Regards
Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is very good, rooms are good with good facilities.. The downside is the staff are not very helpful.. It's fine that they don't come in your room at all not even to at least refill your toiletries ect.. so you have to go down to reception to collect your own stuff, which is fine,but the trip to the reception is very unpleasant with staff interrogating you and cross examining you should they give you want you need...then you come across to the housekeeping lady and ask some stuff that
you need just to be told that she don't have some (which clearly visible that she has plenty) that I should go to reception, which is fine, but please make sure that if you're going to lie, you make sure you
do it properly.. Staff performance could be better.. :(

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reveraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear reveraj,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is disappointing that you did not find our customer service up to standard. I would like to assure you that our staff were not lying to you and were simply following procedure. As advised on our website and booking confirmations all rooms are sold as non serviced meaning housekeeping do not enter the rooms during your stay, extra amenities are always available upon request, our team are more than happy to deliver these to your room. We do provide a phone in all guest rooms with a direct connection to reception for these requests. As you mentioned housekeeping cannot simply provide amenities from their trolley as there are privately managed apartments throughout the building who are not entitled to Mantra amenities and therefore housekeeping will suggest you speak with reception to request and items you may need.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Loved Mantra Hotel! It is such a lovely hotel with well maintained outdoor and indoor facilities.
The rooms are so well equipped with full self catering facilities, balconies and seating areas with tv etc - the jet spa bath in the room is a nice feature! The staff on reception were very friendly and cheerful also.
Great location, comfortable and clean surroundings and fantastic outdoor area including a pool and outdoor jacuzzi.

HOWEVER! The children. While I'm aware it was Easter weekend when we stayed and its a great opportunity for families to get away, the children diving in and out of the jacuzzi from the pool and back again was really quite annoying. At one point yesterday morning there was about 10 children in the jacuzzi spa pool and while its important, yes, they have their fun, surely they shouldn't have monopoly on the spa pool for over an hour while their parents sit idly by ignoring eye contact as you essentially babysit their children as you sit in the spa tub with them.

I did study the rules which clearly state that no person should use the spa pool for more than 15 minutes but the reality is that whenever we went out to the pool area to use the spa - it was overrun with shrieking children, running, diving (yes also against the rules), and generally being quite annoying for the entire hour we were outside.

We ended up jumping in the jacuzzi anyhow but had to get out as kids just kept jumping all over us, pushing up against us in the water and splashing and screaming in to our ears.

Fab hotel - but Mantra - sort the kiddies in the outdoor area out. Family friendly hotel - great! But children shouldn't be allowed to dominate peoples weekend away who have paid full price to be there also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucychadwick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear lucychadwick85,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, It is pleasing to read that you loved our hotel and found our rooms to be well equipped and our staff to be friendly and cheerful. We note your comments regarding the usage of the pool and spa facilities. Please be assured that our team do their best to monitor the usage of the shared facilities to ensure all of our guests are able enjoy the outdoor area although we do also rely on parents to monitor their own children and ensure they are sharing with other guests. It is disappointing to read that you were not able to enjoy the outdoor spa due to the children using it and hope that you will be able to enjoy the spa when you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettalong Beach
7.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,051 reviews
7.8 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
1.7 mi away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
#2 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
199 reviews
17.8 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
17.0 mi away
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range: $117 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Ettalong Beach offers spectacular ocean views just 90 minutes north of Sydney on the Central Coast. Combining superbly appointed beachfront accommodation with a range of facilities the resort is the perfect destination for any stay. Select a studio, one and two bedroom unserviced spa suites, offering magnificent pool, ocean and hinterland views, and are fully furnished with kitchenettes, laundry facilities, air conditioning, balconies, cable TV, CD player and stereo system, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and spa baths or enjoy the outdoor pool and spa. Maintenance Notice Remedial building works will be taking place on the pool deck and balconies throughout the building from 29 May until 15 November 2017. The work on the expansion building joints and waterproofing repairs will involve noise and scaffolding. Mantra Ettalong Beach management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing