We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & outlook.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Staff were very helpful & curteous. The rooms were well appointed & comfortable. We found the views really beautiful, but the patio/balcony was a waste of space. It was so large & roomy, able to hold many people, but the only furniture out there was a very small round table & 2 plastic chairs. There was no shade or protection from the weather- just a large & empty open area. Some sun lounges & perhaps an umbrella would improve it immensly-as it is, it is really unusable. It is located opposite the water & easy walking distance from the shops. There is a lovely pool located downstairs, which can be viewed by most of the units.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterways-beautiful views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Kerry M,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It was lovely to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and courteous. We pride ourselves on offering great customer service. We note your comments regarding the pool area and wish to advise we do offer a large amount of sun lounges and umbrellas. We will however relay your feedback to our owners for further consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ettalong in the future.

Kind Regards,

Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,109)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Ettalong Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,892 - 1,898 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We decided to stay at Mantra after contemplating a number of hotels on the Central Coast, we came up to the coast to get away from Sydney for the weekend and stayed in a 1 Bedroom Deluxe Suite that lived up to the websites offerings and description... The hotel pool was absolutely lovely and our balcany was quiet large which was great for us. The rooms are more apartment style which in terms of size, are fantastic!!!! We had all our facilities in the room that were needed for our stay, and the Front desk staff were so friendly and helpful for the whole duration of our stay, we will definitely be coming back early in the new year, thanks for agreat stay, Mantra!

Room Tip: If you have a family go for the 1 or 2 bedroom suites, if you're on your own or with a couple an...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank br1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear br1987,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Ettalong Beach.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and found our facilities and rooms to met your expectations. It is lovely to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday!

Kind Regards,

Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked for one night via their website, $183 for a hotel room with small kitchenette included ( but not required).We had the hinterland view ( which is just shops/carpark) - Checkin was quick and efficient but don't even bother to ask to checkin earlier than 2pm, we got there at 1.45 and the rooms weren't ready.We have uploaded photos of the view from every angle - we were on the 5th floor (526), so we did not hear the RSL below us just the massive extraction/aircon motors beneath our floor & above the RSL entrance, but we closed the sliding doors and the sound was almost gone.The room was clean and tidy, very basic - the bathroom is large, modern, clean & tidy.There is no restaurant for breakfast or meals, no room service, so don't expect anything like that - plenty of cafes about though or you can eat at the RSL adjoining.The hotel looks picture perfect from the front and the pool area was lovely, so plus point there.The hotel is the largest structure in Ettalong so you can't miss it and it is totally out of place in comparison to the surrounding shopping district - it should be sitting up on the GC somewhere full of schoolies and/or pokie junkies.We used the hotel as a place to camp for the night after visiting friends nearby but would otherwise not have stayed there.

Room Tip: Get a beach/pool view higher than the 3rd floor to avoid RSL noise from below.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear JHP66,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Ettalong Beach.

We are glad to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and tidy and the pool area lovely. We note your comments regarding your check in and do aim to have all rooms ready and available prior to our check in time of 2pm.

We appreciate you taking time to review the hotel and take all your comments on board in aim to maximise our efforts to improve services to our guests.

Kind Regards,

Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend of 15/16 Dec in a 2 bedroom apartment on Level 5 at a cost of $329 per night. We assumed that this “resort” was at least 4 star rated based on its appearance. To our surprise we found that the carpets were stained and the resort had little or no facilities other than a swimming pool. It does not have any dining room or meeting rooms. In simply terms it is just an apartment block masquerading as a resort.

How they can claim it is a resort defies the imagination when they offer nothing. To cap it off the building g is shared with a poker machine club which only reinforces the idea it is not suitable for a family holiday or as my wife and I want a relaxing weekend.

While the rooms had a TV it was an older style TV with the screen settings such that the oicture was too wide for the screen causing you to only see the centre section of the picture. It was also only a 21” screen. Why in this day and age a hotel that charges so much and offers nothing cannot go down to Harvey Norman and buy a medium size screen I cannot fathom. They only cost $250 each at full retail cost these days.

The second bedroom did have an ensuite but quite clearly it was not used for a long time with dirty grout in the tiles and a musty smell.

In summary I would not recommend anyone staying here unless they only want a 3 star bed for the night. The staff do not seem to enjoy their work always with a surly look on their faces. Maybe they smile when they go home but certainly not at work.

There is no room service of any kind but this is noted on the booking form. I have stayed at 2 star establishments before now that always given room service not to mention staying at 5 star hotels that do not charge as much as the Mantra and offer wonderful service and facilities. Having to share a carpark with a poker machine club is a major concern especially with the club members drinking. I could not see any protection for my car.

Room Tip: Take a front room but do not expect any service from the staff
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear gordon35au,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to here that we did not meet your expectations. We note your comments regarding the carpets and bathroom in the room you occupied and can advise that these items have been addressed by our housekeeping and maintenance teams. As all apartments are individually owned in the complex we have advised the owner of your feedback regarding the television and the need to upgrade. We are disappointed to read the reception you received from our front desk and will be addressing this issue with all team members, as we pride ourselves on delivering friendly and professional customer service.

We thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and take all your comments on board in an effort to improve our services.

Kind Regards,

Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and i have stayed here twice, we stayed in the studio room this time around and for a studio we were very impressed, the rooms all have a nice balcony and great air con there is always a great bathroom with spa and a little kitchen there is free parking in the town of ettalong there isn't much to do but that's the whole idea very relaxing and laid back, the ettalong pub is also good. The staff were very nice and i can't wait to go back

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KaneTheUndertaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear KaneTheUndertaker,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and will be returning in the further. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday.

Kind Regards,

Mantra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wouldn't let us check in a minute before 2pm and out a minute after 10am. When we were checking out at 9.30am we told reception that we wanted to use the pool facilities and they refused us using it. Therefore a 1 night stay was a waste of money as u can't take advantage of the pool the hottest part of the day. We picked up and left. To top it off I called the bank and stopped the bond from getting processed! Very annoyed!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Feesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1211, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Feesas

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mantra Ettalong. It is disconcerning to read of the treatment you have received and this has been discussed with the relevant Managers to prevent future occurrences.
As the units are privately owned we will pass on your comments regarding the bed and seek approval to have this replaced.
We are sorry to learn that you were totally dissatisfied with your stay and please be assured we have taken your comments onboard.

Kind Regards

Management and Team at Mantra Ettalong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment for $642.20 in March 2012 (8 months before staying). I was required to pay a $200 deposit back then and then pay the balance 2 weeks before I even stayed.

So the account was settled 2 weeks before I stayed and I owed nothing.

Wanting a late checkout I saw that the Club.CuSoon that offered a late check out free of charge. So on the 12th November I signed up for the Club.CuSoon. Without me doing anything my booking was automatically added to the Club.CuSoon account.
After we stayed on the weekend just gone we were then charged another $64.40 on departure. I didn't have the paperwork on me so didn't realise till later the mistake.

After digging out all the info I called yesterday to understand what had happened.

The hotel told me that when I joined the club I chose to accept a different rate, $64.40 more expensive that the rate I booked more than 8 months before.

This is just dumb as there is no logical reason why I would do this.

The hotel will not offer a refund because I supposedly accepted a higher rate on the room and some garbage about them operating under "Trust Law" so they can never under any circumstances give refunds to be very wary of this hotel chain.

Beware of this dodgy hotel that requires a non refundable deposit when you book, full payment 2 weeks before you even stay then they still overcharge you and refuse to refund the difference.

Very Unhappy and taking them to the NSW Dept of Fair Trading.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1211, General Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear ikdw

We appreciate your feedback after your recent stay with us.

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay and were dissatisified with the level of service received.

Your feedback is appreciated and this gives us the opportunity to focus on continuous improvement.


Kind Regards

Ken Edwards and the Mantra Ettalong Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettalong Beach
7.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,051 reviews
7.8 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
1.7 mi away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
#2 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
199 reviews
17.8 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
17.0 mi away
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range: $117 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Ettalong Beach offers spectacular ocean views just 90 minutes north of Sydney on the Central Coast. Combining superbly appointed beachfront accommodation with a range of facilities the resort is the perfect destination for any stay. Select a studio, one and two bedroom unserviced spa suites, offering magnificent pool, ocean and hinterland views, and are fully furnished with kitchenettes, laundry facilities, air conditioning, balconies, cable TV, CD player and stereo system, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and spa baths or enjoy the outdoor pool and spa. Maintenance Notice Remedial building works will be taking place on the pool deck and balconies throughout the building from 29 May until 15 November 2017. The work on the expansion building joints and waterproofing repairs will involve noise and scaffolding. Mantra Ettalong Beach management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing