We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Lunch”
Review of High Street Bistro - CLOSED

High Street Bistro
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Used a Scoopon Voucher for a 2 course lunch and wine for 2 people. Service was very good and meals were delicious. Although the restaurant is small the background music didn't filter to where we were seated, so the ambience lacked in this area. Otherwise I can't fault the food or the service from the staff. Would recommend to people who would like to try a restaurant in this area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Lunch. Worth the visit.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I drive past this place every day and finally got the chance to test it out. I had bought a SCOUPON for a 2 course lunch for 2 people. We hade gnocchi and squid for entrée (shared them) and did the same with soft shelled crab and a steak sandwich for the mains. All in all, the food was excellent. It was a busy restaurant and staff did a good job of keeping drinks and food flowing, I think one waiter had a little attitude. Probably sick of people bringing in cheap vouchers. Anyway, they are the ones that sold them in the first place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben9487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food but slow service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice venue and good food but service is slow a friend waited 40 minutes for coffee! On. My last visit we waited almost 45 minutes for our steak sandwiches which were delicious! This place serves delicious food with attentive wait staff but long delays are disappointing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jagsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pricey but stands up to its reputation”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good food from an interesting menu. We took our own wine which was a plus considering the bill for food ($270 for four with tip). The location is nothing much, being slap-bang on a main road, but if you are in the area, you could hardly do better, cuisine-wise. The place was full mid-week when we went, so it obviously has a loyal clientele of well-to-do locals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marrlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place is close by work and have driven past on a number of times and never thought twice about the it. A supplier took us to dinner and selected here, I have now been back four times.

The food is really good and the sevice excellent. Parking can be a pain but you can get something in a side street, just might be a bit of a walk.

Great for a relaxed lunch or a nice dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SWCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Street Bistro also viewed

Roseville, Willoughby
Castlecrag, Willoughby
 
Northbridge, Willoughby
Northbridge, Willoughby
 
Roseville, Willoughby
Willoughby, Greater Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing