We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adelaide Shores Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adelaide Shores Resort
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four spent a week at Adelaide Shores Resort. The facilities were great and access to the beach was convenient. The school holiday activities were handy, including the twilight movies. On the down side, we thought the holiday unit we stayed in could of presented better. The walls were dirty, there was limited cooking utensils and the bathroom was located off the second bedroom, which was abit of an inconvenience needless to say. Also the bathroom could have done with a good clean and a makeover, the were spots of mould, the exhaust fan didn't work and the drains smelt. The bathroom also backs onto the neighbouring units bathroom, so we could quite clearly hear our neighbours showering and using the toilet! We would stay there again, but definitely NOT in the holiday units.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Redcat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travellers Redcat79 – we really appreciate it! It is disappointing to hear about the condition of your bathroom - it is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests. However, we value the opportunity to share this with our management team.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer and quick access to the beach. As the Holiday Units are our entry accommodation, I think you would feel a lot more comfortable in the next ones up which are the Villas; they are on their own and the bathroom access is from the hall.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Adelaide Shores Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 164 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a great place. I didn't realise Adelaide had something so good to offer families. The staff were welcoming, the villa was roomy & clean, the whole place was very well maintained, great facilities ex pools, play equipment, go carts for hire. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: villas at the back are a good option
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Josie C, thank you for taking the time to share your experience– it is much appreciated! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will stay with us again. The team will be very happy to read your review :)

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Been a while since we have stayed here, but what great place to give parents a break ,and the kids of all ages a opportunity play. With the jumping pillow,pool and now the water park . With the beach in close walking distance a great place to have a break. Set in beautiful surrounds gives the feel of a little piece of tropical paradise without being made to feel crowded.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great all depends on what you are looking for there is something for all needs.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Debbie M – it is much appreciated! Glad to hear that you got a break when you stayed here – it’s what a holiday should be :). It’s also good to hear that you enjoyed the spacious-feel of the Resort.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Adelaide Shores Resort for 6 nights. The staff were very friendly, great service, clean rooms. The resort is very spread out, and doesn't feel like you are right on top if your neighbours. The beach is very close and clean. Pool area, play area and jumping pillow great for the family. We were 'upgraded' to an access bungalow, great for wheel chair access, nightmare for kids. Bathroom way too large, no recess for the shower (water everywhere, every night). All the light switches within childs reach, I could go on, you get the point. Great stay, wouldn't recommend the access bungalow unless you need it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SharaRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have previously stayed here before and was quite happy due to the recreational amenities for families, although for the price the cabins are a bit dodgy. The noise from hot water services located outside the bedroom window was terrible. The TV screen was so small and we had to rearrange the loungeroom so we were sitting very close in order to see it properly and the screen was so small that relevant details of the AFL games was not visible. The recreational amenities for kids is fantastic and the proximity to the golf course is amazing!!! But in saying that, the price of the cabin was a rip off.

Room Tip: Check that your cabin does not have hot water services outside the bedroom window. The cabin we had...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazza781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in July but were not overly impressed. Check in staff were very efficient and helpful, no faults there. The cabin was huge - two bedroomed, one with two singles, one with a queen. The beds were very hard, but otherwise the rooms were well appointed. The bathroom was massive, suitable for wheelchairs so the shower was set up for the disabled. (My husband can't do stairs so we had the disabled cabin which has a slope instead of stairs. Others have 3 or 4 steps). The lounge suite was quite comfortable. The carpet wasn't great, a bit stained and moth eaten down the join. It was equipped for 4 people, so it was a small table, which is absolutely fine but the room is massive and looked unfurnished. The kitchen is very well equipped, everything clean. There is a large deck with barbecue and a massive table. The noise from planes isn't really too intrusive though planes do start at 6am, but surely if you book somewhere close to an airport, it really isn't fair to complain about plane noise! The cabins are on stumps, as frankly are most cabins everywhere, and there will be a certain amount of vibration when people walk about - these are after all holiday cabins, not solid brick homes. The location is close to the beach and the boardwalk to Glenelg, but don't expect a sea view as the resort is behind the sand dunes. Where these cabins fall down is in the lack of privacy which is so bad as to be unacceptable. They are close together (no closer than most other parks) and have massive windows but there are no nets or vertical blinds, they are all roller blinds. That means that due to the large number of windows, if the blinds are up then you may as well be living in a shop window. The same applies to the huge patio doors - they are great, but the really bad thing is that in the evenings with the doors open and the light on there is absolutely no privacy whatsoever. It's really not acceptable. Beware the in-cabin information suggesting that the restaurant at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park is open from 7.30 for breakfast - it's not, and it's a 1km walk. That's ok, but not when there is a long queue outside and it's raining with nowhere to shelter. The golf club over the road is not open for evening meals, or early breakfast. The best bet for evening meals is the sailing club which is easy walking distance along the beach or the boardwalk, but beware the quality and service. Most people will end up needing transport of some kind to get to a decent restaurant. We won't stay here again, just happier with the smaller cabins in Adelaide Shores Big 4, with its restaurant on site for basic food.

Room Tip: This was a 2 bedroom bungalow, do not choose a villa unless you can walk up 15 or more stairs to the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daydreamer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in the spa bungalow, it was very spacious and had everything you needed for cooking plus a coffee machine was a great bonus. Has a bbq and table and chairs on the front deck beautiful to sit out and eat breakfast. Spa was a great size and bathroom itself was very big and roomy. The room had a PS3 which was great only you had to pay extra $6.50 per night per game. Was a little annoyed at the fact we hired a game that didn't work and was still charged for it even after explaining it didnt work. The resort has a board walk that goes straight onto the beach. Very close to glenelg and there is a putt putt golf next door to the resort. I very much enjoyed the room and the service was fantasic until i was charged for a game that didn't work and she did not seem to care. The spa bungalow itself i can not fault loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RySo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
1.7 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
1.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
1.5 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aviators Lodge
Aviators Lodge
#1 of 1 in West Beach
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Resort

Address: Military Rd, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in West Beach
Price Range: $87 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Resort is ideal for an indulgent short break, for business travelers seeking space and privacy, or for families or groups wanting a base for an active holiday. Set in spacious grounds on the beach front, the Resort provides 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained accommodation, with the option to treat yourself with an upgrade to a spa bungalow. The location is close to the attractions and activities in neighboring Glenelg, and adjacent to an extensive public golf park, and a boat launch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Adelaide Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Shores Resort West Beach, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing