We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Beach Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adelaide Shores Resort
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Perfect location right on the beach. Very close to the airport but didn't hear much aircraft noise. Rooms were a little dusty. Lots for the kids to do and a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed with a group for work in separate 2 b/r bungalows. They were well kitted out and perfectly clean. Bungalows had pay TV, dishwashers, hairdryers. The resort is right next to the beach and close to the airport and Glenelg. The resort was expansive. It was lovely to be surrounded by gardens and lawns rather than inside a motel.
Beware if you are travelling by taxi froim the airport to make sure the driver takes you to the resort, not the caravan park, which is 600m up the road!
Breakfast was only available at the small cafe at the caravan park (600m away), which opens at 8am.This can create problems for business travellers; the breakfast packs that had been promised for our rooms did not arrive and there was a 30 minute wait on breakfast.
The deluxe bungalows are marketed for families and people on business but do lack some of the littel extras you come to expect from a motel. It woudl be awesome for families, though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flippstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have travelled extensively in Australia and found Adelaide Shores Resort overpriced and accomodation a little tired and old. On arrival blind at door did not work, reverse cycle airconditioner extremely noisy and NO heat, middle of winter so unit very cold with no heatiing. Reported to staff and blind fixed, but heating non existent for entire stay. Overall stay was not at unit much as out and about at a competition, but thought expensive for stay in off peak when facilities so tired. Cleaners need to attend to dusting and washing of glasses etc. On positive note staff pleasant, quite to sleep, and selection of teas kept us warm

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here last summer - my husband and two children aged 7 and 4 - and my husbands' brother, his wife and their three children who were visiting from Sweden. Adelaide Shores was a perfect venue for our tribe!! Our two families had adjoining cabins and took advantage of the outdoor area between our cabins for dining and cocktail hour each evening. Having small children doesn't really lend itself to much holiday relaxation time for parents - unless you stay somewhere like Adelaide Shores.
Kids are issued with a wristband for their own safety and park security and this brought me real peace of mind. There is so much for them to do within the park grounds - two pools, jumping pillow, basketball, soccer the list goes on. But their absolute favourite thing were the go kart's which we hired twice. The kids cried when we left.
Adelaide Shores has direct entry to the beach as well. It doesn't look like much on the way there (it's in a kind of industrial area and near the airport) but the resort itself is like an oasis. The cabins were clean and well appointed and the bed was comfy. All in all a perfect family holiday spot - so much so we have friends staying there next month on our recommendation!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Quiet and close to the beach. We looked at the Shores Caravan Park next door and it just looked noisy. The Resort section was nice and peaceful with lovely grounds and excellent family accommodation

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I, along with our toddler have stayed at this resort a few times. We are drawn to the resort as it offers a quiet setting with a child orientated set-up, perfect for travelling families.

The accommodation is of good value and the executive villa offer a homely feel, much more so than a serviced apartment in the city. Our only concern about this resort is the quality of the mattresses used on each occasion we have struggled to have a good nights sleep, often waking up with aches and pains. The mattresses are very firm and if you are looking for a "proper" Q size bed then you'll be disappointed to know that this reosrt offers the basic two singles pushed together without any attempt to smooth over the hard point in the centre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meagan_of_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our family has stayed in many holiday parks/caravan parks within Australia and the USA. Without any hesitation, and after staying at this facility two times 5 years apart, I recommend this establishment for a great family holiday. On our last stay we rented a 3 bedroom Villa as did our Cousins. The villa's were clean and well kept with good modern facilities, such as a decent TV, decent blinds, good furniture and comfy beds. Although we had several functions to attend outside the park, there was plenty to do within, especially for the kids who enjoyed the jumping pillow and go-carts. We celebrated a 25th wedding anniversary at the park utilising one of the parks gazebos and grassed areas with a number of friends. If you are planning a family holiday, then place this facility on your list for consideration - we haven't been disappointed.

Room Tip: Villas are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tranzactnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
1.7 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
1.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
1.1 mi away
Aviators Lodge
Aviators Lodge
#1 of 1 in West Beach
87 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lockleys Hotel
Lockleys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fulham
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Resort

Address: Military Rd, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in West Beach
Price Range: $84 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Resort is ideal for an indulgent short break, for business travelers seeking space and privacy, or for families or groups wanting a base for an active holiday. Set in spacious grounds on the beach front, the Resort provides 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained accommodation, with the option to treat yourself with an upgrade to a spa bungalow. The location is close to the attractions and activities in neighboring Glenelg, and adjacent to an extensive public golf park, and a boat launch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Adelaide Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Shores Resort West Beach, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing