We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caravan park to take the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have stayed at adelaide shores caravan park over the Christmas period for the last 2 years, the kids love it. The kids found it even better this year with the new splash zone. If your looking for a caravan park in adelaide with lots of things for the kids to do, close to shopping centres and the beach, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dannycoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience Dannycoe – thank you! We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us and that the new Splash Zone was a hit.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have to agree, this is a fab place, we have friends who have stayed here many times, and so after our trip across the Nullabor, we decided on approaching Adelaide, to give it a try. Sure glad we did, as it suits all types. I thought it would be just for young families, and caters for them very well, but it suits all types, the bike and walking track into Glenelg is fantastic, and we walked in and out, as the sun was setting, the staff are great, and I wonder during quiet times if they segregate the young families from the grey nomads, as we had a lot of similar couples around us, just my observation. We always say you get what you pay for, and the caravan park, is well worth it. We will be staying in this park when visiting Adelaide or travelling through, and our friends just happened to mention they are staying again soon, Jealous!!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you MikenGail for sharing your experience – we really appreciate it! We’re very glad that your friends recommended us and that we lived up to it! Thank you for sharing your photos as well – they look great.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful surroundings, annual reunion with old friends, picture perfect scenery, all within a two minute walk to the best beach in the world and why travel hundreds of miles when all this is less than 30 minutes from home! Bike rides, beach walks, with Glenelg, Harbour Town, Westfield Marion and Henley Beach all within minutes away! We keep coming back to this little piece of heaven!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Santre45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you Santre45 for sharing your experience – we really appreciate it! We’re thrilled to hear that you continue to come back and enjoy your stay…we think West Beach is the best beach too (we’re not bias or anything).

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Adelaide Shores for the second time and as last time, we were not disappointed. We do a lot of 'off-road' outback travel all around Australia so we don't just stay in pretty caravan parks, but this one is so user friendly and the staff are terrific. Everyone we met at the park were just as friendly and with a location like Adelaide Shores, it's the best spot to base yourself to head in any direction and see the sights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optitec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

It is fantastic to hear about your recent experience and that we lived up to your expectations. We’ll pass your comments onto the team; they will be very happy to read them :)

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience – thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

At first glance this looks like a wonderful, clean, beautiful holiday park. It has lovely green grass, new playgrounds, two pools, a splash zone, tennis courts, jumping pillows, a basketball ring, TV room, a kids club, cafe, a games and toddler room. Wonderful facilities to entertain your kids of all ages.The place is clean with lots of toilets, showers, kitchens and laundry facilities. We thought we had found the best place for our family, however our campsite happened to be very close to the games rooms and other facilities which would be fine, except kids and teenages seemed to be using the facilities til very late at night while our 2 and 4 year olds were trying to sleep. Swearing, vandalism and inappropriate behavior occurred most nights even though there were signs saying that sort if behavior would not be tolerated and people who would do so would be asked to leave the park. The jumping pillow was never empty by 7:30 which the signs stated. Some nights it was still on at 9:30 at night and even if it was deflated they would still play on it until all hours. There was very little parent supervision and no one from the holiday park making sure people followed the rules. A suggestion would be to have security people showing more of a presence in these areas at night and perhaps pre warn families with young kids about the extremely loud, in appropriate noises that happens in these areas. Perhaps follow through with what your signs say. It has really affected our stay here as I would feel unsafe and on edge most nights. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08429735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and provide us feedback. It is disappointing to hear that the location of your site has negatively impacted on your experience; it is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests. We value your suggestions and appreciate the opportunity to share them with our management team and After Hours Guest Service Officer who patrols the Caravan Park overnight.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great site and great location just minutes away from the city, Glenelg and Marion Shopping centre. Very busy over the Christmas / New year period. Good to see toilet blocks getting a major clean in the mornings followed by a quick afternoon and evening spruce up. Bins emptied daily, but only cleaned once in the 3 weeks I was there. Unfortunately litter not really picked up, especially the used water balloons. Great facilities such as pool, games room and new splash zone and BBQ areas.

A few negatives though, more along the administration/ maintainance side of things. You'd think that since you book 12 months in advance and staff know when you are arriving that your whole "holiday pack" which includes swipe cards, wrist bands, guest passes, newsletters, etc would be ready for you. But not the case. I was told I'd me SMS'ed when it was ready, but no - I had to go to Reception and ask for it, and even then, they put it together there as I waited.

Washing machines and driers "out of order" the whole time I was there. Taps that stuck on until someone jiggled them long enough to stop running, At least 1 shower that was impossible to turn off was left running at least 10 - 15 hours. No real security seen after dark as in previous years.

My biggest concern was as others have mentioned - kids on bikes, skateboards, scooters, etc. No one was policing them. Parents certainly weren't keeping an eye on them and pedestrians took their life in their hands walking along the footpaths. You had more chance being run over on the footpaths than on the roads! I saw so many kids just not looking where they were going, just missing being hit by cars. Cars are forced to drive at 10KPH, but not cyclists etc! I won't be surprised to learn of some child being hit and killed there - just hope it's not outside our sites. I know Adelaide Shores is trying to attract families to their park, but they must also take into account those guests who want to take time to relax into consideration.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you Tom S, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and provide us feedback. It is disappointing to read about your experience with administration and maintenance but appreciate the opportunity to share it with our management team. Your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests.

We share yours and others concern for the safety of our guests and take it very seriously. We have been working on a solution to balance safety with the fun, relaxed atmosphere our guests enjoy. We don’t want to over-police our guests’ experience but also want everyone to be safe.

We are very grateful to receive your feedback and would love to discuss it further with you. Should you wish to do so, please phone our Customer Service Manager on 8355 7320

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Big 4 adelaid Shores Caravan Park once again, and once again we had a wonderfull time. The staff were quick to check us in on Boxing Day despite the large number of peopl e checking in. Our Cabin Seaview #2 was great, a great location and very comfortable. we noticed that our balcony was larger than the other 5 Seaview cabins which we were really happy about. The park was once again in great condition, everything clean, and constantly cleaned several time per day. the beach was clean and realxing without the crowds of other metro beaches. The running track at out door step going both north and south provided daily runs. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Our Cabin Seavie #2 was great.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks Andrew L for sharing your experience and reviewing us again – we really appreciate it! We’re very happy to hear that your experience was as good as your first one. Our customer service and housekeeping teams will particularly be keen to read your review.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
2.0 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
2.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adelaide Shores Resort
Adelaide Shores Resort
#2 of 6 in West Beach
164 reviews
5.7 mi away
Marion Holiday Park
Marion Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Bedford Park
167 reviews
6.8 mi away
Adelaide Caravan Park - Aspen Holiday Parks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Shores Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Address: Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in West Beach
Price Range: $52 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Shores Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park offers great value accommodation for families or retirees in a vibrant, community atmosphere. Choose from a wide range of camping and caravan sites and cabin accommodation, set amongst great facilities including BBQs, heated swimming pools, Splash Zone, a Games Room, and kids play equipment. This beach front property is rated by AAA Tourism and is a regular winner of the South Australian Tourism Award for Tourist & Caravan Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adelaide Shores Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park West Beach, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing