We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Park - LOVED IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wallaroo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Park - LOVED IT!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Awesome place to stay. Very family friendly. Close to the beach, golf course. Enough to do in the park without actually going anywhere! We stayed in the Budget Cabin, which has its own toilet & shower just outside of the cabin. Very small and a bit run down, but being budget we didn't expect anything better. It was a bit too small for our stay with 2 kids and 4 adults, but would be fine for 2 adults and 2 kids. They have a kiddy pool as well as a larger pool, and also a jumping pillow so kids were well entertained. They were able to ride their bikes around the park without fear of being hit by a car. TIP: if you want to hire bikes for your stay, dont hire the caravan park ones, you can hire FREE ones from the West Beach Surf Life Saving Club, just a short walk up the esplanade. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and tips for other travellers. It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back; the new Norfolk Cabins might suit your family, they just opened and are more spacious. Once again, we really appreciate you taking the time to share you experience. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    134
    50
    26
    24
See reviews for
162
105
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We chose a double block for our stay with 8 people (cheaper than 2 sites). Heaps of room for 2 large tents, shade tent, car, trailer and still some spare grass. The big down side was the traffic noise from the main road directly along side these sites. It was so loud at night it almost felt like we were camped on the road. Being a weekend the traffic noise continued well into the early hours of the night before starting up again around 6 in the morn this time along with the morning cyclist that all have to yell to communicate while riding past. A consideration for park management would be an improved fence or wall more capable of absorbing some of the noise but I can't see this happening so my advice is go for the 2 block option away from the main road (if you have 7 or more people). Everything else was great and the kids had a ball, hire carts were one of the highlights for the kids, highly recommend for interstate travelers who want to be close to city however peak season gets a bit chaotic.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nolams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and tips for other travellers looking to camp with us. Great tip about the inner sites for tenting; it would also mean the kids are closer to the play equipment. Once again, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in an Eco Tent which was like luxury camping. Loved that we could walk to the beach straight from the back of the Park. A fantastic waterplay area for the kids which my daughter loved. A little noisy in the tent at one point with the wind but otherwise great!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience in an Eco Tent. We are very lucky to be right on the beach – glad you enjoyed it. It’s also great to hear about your daughter loving the Splash Zone – it’s been a very popular new facility. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We just spent the weekend here in an Eco tent with our kids. It was wonderful and above my expectations. The tent is large with a double bed and bunk bed. A well placed shelf unit created a change area. Extras such as a pedestal fan, esky, kettle, mugs, coffee, tea, and towels made our stay more comfortable. The kids loved the new water play area. We were directly opposite this but still felt we had privacy. Amenities were very clean. The pool looked lovely and inviting.
I went to the office to request a maintenance person and he arrived at the tent really quickly and was very friendly. Problem was solved quickly and with a smile
Seeing the staff and maintenance attend the water park each morning to ensure everything was perfect was really reassuring. The kids had a ball. There is so much for them to do.
Can't wait to stay again

Room Tip: Book early if you're after a particular area as the park books out quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
It is fantastic to hear about your recent experience in an Eco Tent and we’re very pleased that it exceeded your expectations :) It’s great to hear that your kids loved the new Splash Zone and all the other facilities. Our maintenance team will be very pleased with your comments – we’ll pass it onto them.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience – thank you! We look forward to welcoming your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of days. The park is generally nice, spacious and adjacent to the beach. The cabin I stayed in wasn't cleaned properly with belongings from the last guests and not cleaned properly. Amazingly, no shampoo or amenities were provided except soap and a tea towel size bath towel. The shower cubicle was tiny and took ages to adjust the water temp due to the 1970s style tapware. For about the same price as a city hotel very poor value. 3 stars

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We apologise for the experience you had when staying with us; your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests. We value the feedback you have provided and are investigating what happened.

We would love to discuss your feedback with you further. Should you wish to do so, please phone our Customer Service Manager on 8355 7320.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park for the first time in February this year and we loved it so much we have booked to stay again next year. We stayed on a premium ensuite site with sea views and the position was great. We had a concrete slab which was great, especially on the few days that it did rain. Good size site. Our ensuite was neat and clean and this was also cleaned and maintained during our stay by the park cleaners. The shower was great, good pressure and there was always hot water. We loved the pairs of ducks wandering around the park and visiting our site every morning and evening. The airport is close by with planes flying overhead but we didn't find the noise to be an issue. The pool was nice and clean and the park facilities are excellent. We enjoyed visiting the onsite café for coffee and take-away meal. The bike paths along the beach are great and it's not far to ride to Glenelg beach from the Park. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I called the park to extend our stay next year and it was no trouble modifying our booking. Overall, our experience has been excellent.

Room Tip: Beach front premium ensuite sites with sea views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyliej71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of what the Park has to offer. I’m particularly glad to hear you had a chance to use the coastal path to Glenelg - we are very lucky to be located right on the beautiful West Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year in February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been back to this Park again but few things have improved there. The shower/toilet blocs have been renovated but only with minor renovations. The shower heads are pathetic. They are so small hardly any water flows from them when turned on and what water that does come out of them goes in any direction but where you are standing. The water flow is bad and I mean bad as they have water flow restrictors n the shower heads. That is a good idea but they need a bit more water to be coming through not a trickle. The actual sites where your van goes are cement which is great BUT the grass around them and the Park in general is not mown when a guest leaves the site and is allowed to grow looking very untidy. The cost of a site varies and can be quite expensive. We cannot understand why a site for one person is $36 and for another $46 at the same time even though it is low season. Why is this, please explain. Also not being able to pick a site and know you will get this site when you arrive is just stupid. I understand if the site is having repairs done on it for one reason or another then you have to be put somewhere else but if that site you wanted is given away to another guest for no reason at all well that is not on. Management I understand has changed in recent years but this Park is definitely not a 5 star park by any means. I have been to much better and much friendlier parks. Also Management do not observe speed limits at all. We have seen people including staff driving much faster than they should. Do not complain to Big 4 either as they do not even acknowledge your email/letter when you contact them and even if they did they would never do anything anyway. Lastly some of the staff are rude and unfriendly. Some staff in Reception are very nice and friendly. The younger ones are good. One older lady there should rethink about whether to stay or leave. She never smiles or makes you feel welcome at all. I really do not like dealing with her and a number of other guests have mentioned the same thing.

Room Tip: Sites are large and always ask for a cement slab site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdelaideTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We apologise for the experience you had when staying with us; your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests.

We value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative and we are disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Our Customer Service Manager would love to discuss your feedback further. Should you wish to do so, please phone on 8355 7320, or send us an email (caravan.park@adelaideshores.com.au) with your number and we can contact you direct.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share you experience - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Beach
2.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
742 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
2.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adelaide Shores Resort
Adelaide Shores Resort
#2 of 6 in West Beach
153 reviews
6.8 mi away
Adelaide Caravan Park - Aspen Holiday Parks
5.8 mi away
Marion Holiday Park
Marion Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Bedford Park
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Shores Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Property: Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
Address: Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in West Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Shores Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park offers great value accommodation for families or retirees in a vibrant, community atmosphere. Choose from a wide range of camping and caravan sites and cabin accommodation, set amongst great facilities including BBQs, heated swimming pools, Splash Zone, a Games Room, and kids play equipment. This beach front property is rated by AAA Tourism and is a regular winner of the South Australian Tourism Award for Tourist & Caravan Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Adelaide Shores Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park West Beach, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing