We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Toowoon Bay

“Retro charm”

Kims Beachside Retreat
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Toowoon Bay
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Celebrated our wedding anniversary there - loved the location & the food lived up to its reputation, both dinner & breakfast. Despite cooments regarding dated decor, we found it reflected the charming history of being the longest indepedently run resort in the country. Definitely would go back with our pooch in tow!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Xplo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2019

We stayed for a long weekend and without a doubt its the best hideaway for couples directly on the beach in Australia. All staff are passionate about customer service and experts in their respective areas. The food is made on site with love. They even make their own jams!! Every day is a different menu, three times a day.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a well appointed, spacious beachfront bungalow. The view from our room was amazing, just metres from the sand you couldn’t ask for a better location. The buffet dinner was amazing. Full of fresh seafood, the homemade sorbet and cheese buffet were a highlight. Breakfast was equally as good. We definitely weren’t disappointed and can’t understand the previous reviews that compare the food to an RSL club Buffet. The buffet at Kim’s is better than the ones at the Intercontinental and Sheraton on the Park. Yes, there are set dining times with breakfast between 8:30 - 9:30 and dinner at 7:30 but that didn’t worry us in the slightest. This place has been operating for over 130 years and is steeped in tradition which only adds to its charm. The whole resort is beautiful and the beach is perfect. We throughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back in the not to distant future.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank KatLittlewood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a superb two night getaway at this iconic central coast resort. The beach front cabin was excellent with glorious views of Toowoon Bay. The meals at the dining room were above average but not the class of previous years.
Only down side of the stay was smoking was permitted on balconies which affected ones enjoyment when trying to enjoy the view from the balcony. Very unpleasant
Let’s ban smoking at the resort please!

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at Kim’s for 2 nights, having stayed previously on two occasions, however, there has been about 10 years between visits - unfortunately.
The king garden spa bungalow was fabulous - spacious bed/sitting room, spacious bathroom with a brilliant two headed shower arrangement, and a spacious dressing room. The bungalows are separate and private and well kept, and only 20 metres from the beach. The dining is some of the best - home cooked bread, home made BUTTER and homemade conserves. Breakfast is great and dinner is even greater - both are so good one does not need lunch and two days of such culinary delights is enough for us. Staff are efficient, very friendly and extremely helpful. The whole experience is to die for!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kims Beachside Retreat also viewed

The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
Toowoon Bay, New South Wales
 
Long Jetty, New South Wales
Terrigal, New South Wales
 

Been to Kims Beachside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing