We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cronulla, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We just got back from a week away at Toowoon Bay with our 3 Children and we stayed in one of the cabins overlooking the ocean. It was a magical view! The cabin was perfect and spacious for our family of 5.

The grounds and facilities and are well maintined, and our kids loved the jumping pillow!


I'm suprised by the review on here saying staff were rude; and in particular the Park Manager, Jackie, we found her polite, friendly and even provided our kids with a free icecream for wearing their bike helments!! We tend to treat staff as human beings rather than servants, maybe thats what makes the difference.

Thank you Toowoon Bay and all the friendly staff, we'd go back again tomorrow if we could.

The Robinson Family

Room Tip: The Cabins over looking the ocean is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    64
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
66
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Family stayed here for a weekend. First, the positives- the park is located in a great spot- very close to beautiful beach surrounds & the grounds looked clean and well kept.

The rest- The cabin we stayed in was way over-priced at $210 night- furniture & television were outdated but functional. For a 'fully contained' cabin it lacked common basics such as a chopping board, spare roll of scratchy toilet paper or even spare blankets. The lumpy beds werent made- sheets and one blanket (no doona) folded on bed. And you have to take out your own rubbish at the end of your stay. Floor was filthy when we arrived, like drinks had been spilled on it and left to dry. Heating system didnt work and we all froze under our one thin blanket. When requesting additional blankets, staff said they werent sure if they had any! Expected a lot more for $210 a night- zero value for money- bring your own TP, make your own bed, haul your own trash.

This seemed to be a common theme with other people staying here. Another common experience was of the rude customer service. Upon check-in, we were acknowledged with annoyance...as though our mere existence was irritating. Worse still- the rudest lady turned out to be the park manager!

Driving around the lovely area of Toowoon/Bateau Bay we saw so many other options- dont waste your money on a cabin here- you could get somewhere way nicer for less. Probably a great spot for camping in a tent though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fivefor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, Manager at Toowoon Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of our park. Feedback is very important to us. Unfortunately I'm not sure which one of our cabins you stayed in however we do conduct cabin checks before arrival to ensure that chopping boards etc. are in our cabins and if a customer walks in without a booking, we advised our guest if there are any concerns please contact the office. Our cabins are in line with many accommodation facilities where we have a blanket and then a top sheet as all our cabins have reverse cycle air conditioning, however extra blankets are available upon request.

I apologise if you found myself to be rude, I like to think that I provide the best customer service possible and I am sorry you didn't have that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a weekend in one of their jabiru cabins, first impression was to get out of there and ask reception what else they had. Bad luck or us they were booked out with a whole group participating in state softball titles. So here we are 2 adults and 2 young kids in a very small very dated very cold and uncomfortable run down cabin.
For my $200 per night I get the pleasure of making my own bed, taking out my own rubbish and being freezing cold. Squashed up in a tiny room with inadequate seating and a foxtel service which did not work on a tv from the 1970,s. And did I tell you about the fabulous wifi service, what a joke.
For the rates they charge thy should be embarrassed at what they offer. Not acceptable and very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geoffrogid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austpm, General Manager at Toowoon Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of our Park. Unfortunately some of your concerns above could have been rectified during your stay had it been brought to our attention at the time. If you return to the park please don't hesitate to communicate any concerns straight away and our staff will address them for you. Upon reading your feedback our maintenance staff have reviewed the Jabiru cabin you stayed in and identified a problem with the cord connecting the foxtel to the TV and repaired it. All of our cabins have reverse cycle air conditioning and we have also checked your cabin to ensure that it is in operational order. I am sorry you found our park to be overpriced, however we are priced in line with other competitors in the area and believe we offer great value for money due to the great family friendly facilities and activities in our park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stopped only one night on a roadtrip up from Melbourne to northern coast. It was fine and economical but the cabin we had was very dated. Location is great. And the nearby golf club is great for family meals.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the newer cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlecAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Hubby, daughter, pup and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had our own van and stayed on a very roomy ensuite site, close to the beach views.
Unfortunately we had one of the sites without a concrete pad, which tracked in a bit of dust etc with the dog, but perfectly acceptable. Most of the ensuite sites have pads. Next time!
Very warm welcome, with 50% off for the 3rd night. Lots of tourist info and fresh milk and other goodies available.

The grounds and nearby parks are lovely. When we complimented the gardeners today, they were pleased with our comments and they said they have 3 full time staff to keep it looking good. The pool and play area was terrific. Wish I'd taken my swimming costume.

There are lots of permanent villas and only about 60 tourist sites, so it's pretty quiet in off season. However we met lots of friendly campers and had a delightful time.

Room Tip: Taking your caravan? An ensuite site is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Nice enough site, but a couple of let-downs.

Firstly, the lady that checked us in was very miserable, and almost rude. Certainly not a good advert for prospective clients!

Secondly, our pitch was well located, but was very dusty and the ground was uneven. When I say we were well located, we were actually opposite the kids' play area, which could have been a bit of a nuisance (in terms of noise), but actually the play area was closed. Which leads us onto our third point...

We were not informed, during check-in, that our kids would be unable to use the pool or play area. We actually don't have kids, but that's not the point... Also, I am not sure if the lack of facilities was reflected in the price that we paid.

Initially we booked in for one night, but had to extend our stay to two nights due to problems with our campervan. When we booked our additional night, we dealt with two other women at reception, both of whom were lovely - and the complete opposite of the first woman that we had dealt with.

Another issue was with the male bathroom. Well, the door to it. Whenever anyone went in or out, the door would SLAM SHUT! We were actually located next to the shower block, and the slamming door did cause interrupted sleep.

Finally, we were told that there was free WiFi, but that it was 'down today, but will be back up tomorrow'. The fact that we had just booked in for one night failed to register with the receptionist that we would be unable to use this facility. In actual fact, we did stay for another night, but the WiFi still didn't work...

On a plus note, both an ice cream man and fish man did their rounds of the site, selling their wares. Also, the beach was lovely!

Not a terrible experience by any means, but not brilliant either... We might stay here again, and recommend to a friend, but only if we could be located away from the pool and play area - if they were up and running - and if they weren't up and running, I would hope to be told about it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p0msdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed for one night in a "Sandpiper" cabin for two. Great value with flat screen / dvd / foxtel as well as a spa and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful, and such a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toowoon Bay
0.3 mi away
Kims Beachside Retreat
Kims Beachside Retreat
#1 of 1 in Toowoon Bay
311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shelly Beach Holiday Park
Shelly Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Shelly Beach
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Buccaneer Motel
Buccaneer Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Jetty
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Bateau Bay
115 reviews
6.8 mi away
Norah Head Holiday Park
Norah Head Holiday Park
#4 of 8 in The Entrance
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toowoon Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toowoon Bay Holiday Park

Property: Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
Address: Koongara Street, Toowoon Bay, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Toowoon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Toowoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toowoon Bay Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect family getaway, Toowoon Bay not only features a great mix of sand, surf and shade, but you will find all the comforts of the city just a stones throw away from the quiet serenity we offer. Toowoon Bay Holiday Park is minutes from The Entrance, just off the Central Coast Highway. From there, you have access to a range of sparkling blue-watered beaches and the creature comforts offered by the Central Coast's metropolitan hub. There are numerous beaches accessible from the holiday park; Toowoon Bay, the park's namesake and Shelly Beach are clean, clear and safely patrolled throughout the year. If you are travelling with young children and are not sure about the open ocean, then Little Bay offers calm waters protected from the surf by nearby breakwalls. The nearby Swaddling Park offers visitors the perfect place to catch up with friends for an afternoon of fun in the sun, and golfers will be happy to know that there is a beautiful eighteen-hole course just south of Toowoon Bay Holiday Park. For those looking for a little more organised entertainment, the Australian Reptile Park is just a few minutes drive, and there is daily pelican feeding at The Entrance. You will find accommodation in Toowoon Bay holiday park affordable and comfortable. There is an expanse of caravan sites available for hire, as well as powered camping sites. The cabins provide visitors with the complete Holiday Parks' experience, with six different formats to choose from. You are sure to find a layout to suit your needs, from cosy two-person Sandpiper, to the spacious Beachcomber. Whatever you are looking for in a holiday, you will find it at Toowoon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toowoon Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing