We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Munden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munden House
Ranked #1 of 1 Alweston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit of paradise”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A very beautiful property situated in a rural setting but close to the town centre. The owners Colin and Ann could not have been nicer and the breakfast was excellent.If you are looking for a quiet place to stay in one of the loveliest parts of England with top quality accomodation and great food you will find it here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    31
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
86
242
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Returning to Munden House was like coming home - this time with all the family (12 of us). As a venue for a special birthday celebration it was ideal and Annie and Colin were so warm and welcoming that everyone felt instantly relaxed. The 'Middle East Feast' on the Friday was perfect and the breakfasts delicious. With the beautiful Dorset scenery (sadly a little wet at times) all around this is a great place for a short break and we are already planning another return trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - family rooms are very well-equipped and the doubles romantic and cosy. Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had booked Munden House for a gathering of family and friends to celebrate my 50th birthday. Annie and Colin made the weekend very special indeed. My husband and I stayed in the Summer House which was perfect for the occasion. Colin and Annie took care of us so well nothing was too much trouble, the dinner on Friday evening was superb, and the Italian wines excellent, everyone had such a lovely weekend. If you want to stay in a beautiful part of Dorset and escape to the country and have the opportunity to be looked after by two wonderful hosts then Munden House is for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmytripsCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Munden House is a true benchmark for how a Boutique Hotel, Country Inn or B&B should be run. Colin and Annie are charming hosts who made us feel at home the moment we set foot in the front door. Our room was well appointed with all we needed for a comfortable stay. Annie cooked us a lovely three course meal washed down with a Prosecco from a small but interesting list of Italian wines. If you want a place to chill out Munden House is a perfect venue and there is a lovely easy walk into Sherborne and then a taxi back for a fiver !! Great stay, thank you Colin and Annie we loved it.

Room Tip: Try the garden cottage !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakkies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I wanted to book a surprise family weekend away for my husband who had just retired and spent ages looking around and reading reviews and stumbled across Munden House, so decided to book. If you're looking to stay somewhere really special this is the place. Everything was perfect and Annie and Colin the owners went out of their way to make the weekend brilliant. We stayed in the Summer House which is truly beautiful. There is nothing corporate or standard about Munden House. The meal Annie prepared for us on the saturday evening was delicious. None of us wanted to leave, and we will definitely be back. There are lots of lots of places to choose to stay but if you choose Munden House - you will not be disappointed. Magical.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milfordboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice place, all the reviews are accurate, however this is still a B&B so for $150 per night you would expect it to be hotel standard.

It's situated in the country a bit out of Sherbourne which means you need to a car to get to the main town because it is too far to walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dani162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLINFLETCHER, Owner at Munden House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I felt the need to respond to this review. What is hotel standard? These guests stayed in a beautifully furnished double room with a king sized sleigh bed, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen freeview TV, with tea and coffee (fresh ground coffee and cafetiere) and complimentary mineral waters. The room is equipped with an en-suite bath, shower, basin and loo, White Company shampoos and shower gels and premium quality towels, hand towels and flannels. The tariff was £95 per night which included VAT and a full cooked breakfast in the dining room. We are fully licensed, offer free WIFI and like to bring a personal service to all our guests and I am surprised that it was found to be pricey. Take out the VAT element and it’s less than £40 per person per night. I can only assume things are much cheaper down under.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The best b&b I have ever stayed at. Owners are welcoming & very attentive. Rooms are immaculate with really comfortable beds with that extre special touch. Beautiful views of the countryside from the dining room. The breakfast was of good quality and very tasty. Would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smbcdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alweston
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
653 reviews
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
847 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#8 of 24 in Sherborne
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munden House

Property: Munden House
Address: Mundens Lane, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Alweston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alweston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Munden House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munden House is a luxury award winning B&B with six individual en-suite rooms and three cottages only two and a half miles from Sherborne, Dorset. Originally a collection of old farm buildings dating back over three centuries it retains all the old period features and combines modern day comfort with tradition. All rooms are individually furnished, with comfortable beds and crisp Egyptian cotton linen, HD TVs, DAB radios and tea and coffee making facilities. The three self contained cottages offer flexible and spacious accommodation with fully equipped kitchens. In the heart of Thomas Hardy country,Munden House with 5 star rated accommodation is the perfect base from which to explore Dorset, or rest overnight on journeys to or from the West Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing