We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and and Friendly BUT”
Review of Essendon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Essendon Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon North
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed in room 20, This is a good motel, it is very clean and the shower in my room was a ripper. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The motel is fairly dated and overdue for a full reno but that is only cosmetic too me at least. Bed !!! what is it about motels and hard beds these days, they seem to not care that not all of us like sleeping on a firm bed. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjrnarrandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

The owners of this motel are trying hard, but some money seriously needs to be spent on this place. Positive? Its across the road from a reception centre where we attended a wedding (very convienient). Its two minutes from DFO. Now the negative.... I requested a room with dvd player. once we arrived, I had to go up to the office and ask for the dvd player, in which the host produced, and took 15 minutes to hook up, interupting us while we tried to settle in with our 3 yr old. within 10 minutes, i discovered the old fashioned wind out windows would not close totally due to being swollen timber & so weathered. We were changed to a different room, (another 15 minutes hooking up the dvd player), and now i was running very late for the wedding i was due to attend. the restuarant was closed supposedly because of the holiday season... so breakfast was not offered, however i did book a continental breaky to be brought to the room. i received cereal boxes and milk but no bowls. i received bread and condiments but no toaster or plates and no knives. no thought put into that at all. on request, i did receive a refund for the breaky, however, a message to the owners of this motel. spend some money on your venue. get the windows fixed, and try and modernise the seriously dismal look to your rooms, and get your act together!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busygirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Stayed at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Essendon in May of 2008. Our sole reason for choosing this hotel was due to its proximity to Tullamarine Aiport. It is only about a 10 minute drive away.

RECEPTION: This is a small hotel owned by a family. The owner was very, very nice to us and we chatted with her for quite some time. The service was great.

ROOM: Decent but needs updating for sure. Had a small beer fridge, phone, tv - the basics. Was a good size and had great A/C. The room was clean.

BATHROOM: Again, definitely in need of an update but clean. Shower had good pressure. Fixtures were showing their age.

RESTAURANT: The restaurant attached to the hotel was actually really good. It's a family type menu and the portions were big. Good value for a meal. It also had a bar area with sports on the tv. Pretty much all the other guests were business travellers.

Overall, if you are looking for an affordable hotel near the airport then its a good choice. If you are looking for something upscale or more luxurious its probably not going to be your cup of tea.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

Great location close to Melbourne's Essendon Airport and 10 minutes down the freeway from Tullamarine Airport. DFO (Direct Factory Outlet) across the road, and well worth the visit. Rooms are spacious, but dated. Bathroom is dated but it has a great shower with lots of water through the shower rose. Hot water was consistent. Bed was very, very soft and we felt like we were on our honeymoon again, sleeping very close to each other in the middle of the bed! We had breakfast 10 minutes drive up the road which was very pleasant. Dinner was at Keilor with great restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TwoAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essendon North
4 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
662 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,418 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Melbourne, Essendon Fields
4 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
3.4 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essendon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essendon Motel

Address: 93 Bulla Rd, Essendon North, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3041, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon North
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essendon Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Essendon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Melbourne
Melbourne Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing