We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Summer Inn Holiday Apartments
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Firstly, it's very hard to find if you are driving. The sign out the front is not very visible and you enter an underground car park. The reception is miniscule and uninviting. So...first impressions are not good. But once inside the rooms, things start to brighten up. My aunt and I chose a 2-bedroom unit as we were attending a night meeting at Moonee Valley racecourse not far away. The bathroom is spacious, and although we didn't use the kitchen, it looked functional. The lounge area was small and the bedrooms were also on the small side. We had the air-con on heat as it was a cold night and day and it worked well. The tram stops right outside the front door if you want to venture into the city without driving. Unfortunately the same trams also cause quite a noise from about 5.30am when they start running, through to about 12.30am when they stop running. I found this place perfectly acceptable, although the noise would be a problem for light sleepers. The bed was not overly comfortable and the sofa on the lounge was similar. All in all, it was OK. Not great, but not bad at all. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far away from Keilor Rd as you can as there may be less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We recieved an upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment on our arrival. So we were kindly predisposed to this apartment. We also had to sign a Strict No Party and No Smoking Policy...unfortunately it seems that there is no way to ensure that you cohabitants abide by this. There was a huge party next door to our room. Drunk teenagers all night! No in-room phone and no information in the room for after-hours contact to reception. So unfortunately we had to endure this all night, and our apartment reeked of smoke. When we went to check out at 8.30am we had to step over vomit, which was everywhere in the corridor. Our six year old was traumatised by our night in this premise. The Manager/receptionist acted aghast at our complaint and while admitting that he had evicted 35 youths from the room near ours, he was confident that he had managed the situation well. Later in the day he rang and left a message on my phone saying that he would call again. He didn't. So we won't be giving the Summer Inn a second chance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Essendon North hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

This 2 brm holiday apartment was awful and nothing like the website photos....the furniture was filthy and there were holes in the door of one of the bedrooms and also in the bathroom door. The paintwork was very marked and dirty. There was no top sheet on the bed - blurk ! We stayed 4 nights - we would have changed but the town was full and we didn't arrive until late at night. We were locked out of our room one night because the keycard wouldn't work - but there was no-one at reception - in fact we didn't see anyone for the entire stay except the guy who came from off site to let us in our apartment after the keycard wouldn't work ( 20 minutes after we called him on the phone ) - The cost of the apartment via Wotif was $220 per night - reduced to $200 per night after calling direct - after complaining about the state of the apartment they gave us one night free - but....too late - never again - yet we will be travelling to that area quite often. They told me the 'maintenance man' was coming next week - yea right.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

we had to stay at this apartment as emergency accomodation. on arrival we found the dishwasher full of dirty dishes. Holes smashed in two internal doors, and one door missing. The refrigerator has no shelves and the patio table is broken. The reception is manned by people who can hardly speak english, and are not very helpful. To top it all off we were stuck in the lift for half an hour. the only thing this apartment has going for it is its size and location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trumperMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by this apartment style hotel. It hasn't been opened long & It is well located in Essendon with nearby shops and places to eat. The city is only 10km away. Their is a tram stop out the front if you need public transport. If you have a car there is onsite secure parking at no extra cost. The lift was working fine at the time of our stay.
We were traveling with friends and had booked into a 2 bedroom apartment to share and had requested double beds in each bedroom. On arrival we found there had been a mix up with the booking and one of the rooms had 2 single beds rather than a double.
The manager kindly offered us an additional apartment, at no extra cost. So we ended up with an apartment each on the first floor opposite each other.
Both the apartments were clean and in near to excellent condition. I would not call them 4.5 star. 4 star would be more accurate but they were certainly well equipped.
The kitchen had a full sized fridge & dishwasher & oven / hotplate & microwave.It was fully fitted with crockery, cutlery, cooking gear etc, tea,coffee, milk. There was also a washing machine & dryer. If you wanted somewhere for a longer stay & wanted to self cater this would be an excellent option.
The apartment also came with airconditioning, large flat screen TV,Cable with lots of channels, DVD & CD player, business desk & broadband access.
The lounge and dining area were modernly furnished and both apartments had balconies. The rooms looked very similar to the ones on the website photos. There were a couple of very minor marks on the coffee table but nothing major.The bathrooms were clean. It was shower over bath style & toiletries supplied. The beds were very comfy with excellent linens.
One of the apartments faced onto the main road and we were worried about noise at night but there was not a problem. The other apartment was a lot sunnier & brighter so if you had a choice choose one of the apartments facing away from the main road.
So too sum up it does not match up to a 4.5 star hotel but it is an excellent apartment style property and has everything you will need and is great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieandhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

I would advise against staying here. It self rates as 4.5 star - they must be joking! The apartments are spacious but that is the only thing going for the place. Carpets and couches were grubby and stained; windows were filthy and had not been cleaned for ages, if ever; the lift was non-functional; there was no remote for the TV; furniture was damaged; the refrigerator had not been cleaned properly; there were holes in the plasterboard and there was uncleaned scribble from a child on a door and wall! I have stayed in better maintained backpackers! When booking I requested a cot to be supplied – it wasn’t! And, if that was not enough, the apartment was not serviced! When I discovered this, the reception was already closed. The stated hours for reception were 7.00 am to 9.00pm but there was only someone there from about 10.00 am to 6.00 pm. When I complained about the apartment not being serviced, I was given the excuse that housekeeping must have missed it. Missed it? There are only 12 apartments in the whole place!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tas101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essendon North
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Inn Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Inn Holiday Apartments

Property: Summer Inn Holiday Apartments
Address: 74 Keilor Rd, Essendon North, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3041, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Essendon North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Inn Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summer Inn Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing