We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

Landgasthaus St. Urban
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 3, 2015

We have eaten in the gourmet restaurant a second time in 5 years. The first time, it was very good. The chef was already decorated by a Michelin star and was known for his style which is rooted in the region and that leads together with the excellent wines of the Mosel Valley to spectacular results. This time, Mr. Ruessel served us a dinner that was simply perfect.

I chose the "small" Landart menu that foresees 4 dishes and I added the cheese which made it a culinary discovery starting with a perfectly grilled duck breast (accompanied by a duck liver mousse) and followed by grilled mullet on quinoa and petites legumes. Main course was an equally perfectly cooked venison. I added before the sweet part a collection of regional and French cheeses and enjoyed finally an apple tart.

All this was accompanied by a selection of wines by the glass that were very good (although I would have chosen maybe a more traditional Riesling grand cru for the starter and a pinot noir from Baden or Burgundy with the venison).

My wife who is vegetarian asked for a veggie alternative. This time I called the Landhaus some days in advance and the result was equally spectacular (including a soup made of parsley roots and the pumpkin "pralines").

The Landhaus is rated by Michelin with 1 star and by Gault Millau with 18 points. Although I am strong believer in the "Guide rouge", I feel that the coilleagues from GM are with 18 points closer to the truth.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoachimBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2015

I was invited by a friend for dinner on October 12, 2015 at Rüssel's Landhaus St Urban in Naurath (Wald), a restaurant and guest house located in a beautiful country estate with a water mill in the middle of a lovely valley on river Dhron, at 395m altitude. It is about 26 km from Trier where we were staying. It was restored by chef Harald Rüssel and his wife Ruth in 1992. The chef (member of "Jeunes Restaurateurs d'Europe") specialises in new German cuisine with a emphasis on regional products. He has one star in the Michelin guide and 18/20 in the Gault and Millau. The hotel has 14 guest rooms and two suites. The dining room is elegant and well decorated. There is a terrace ovelooking a lake opened in the summer.
We started with a glass of champagne and some excellent amuse-bouches. We ordered the seven-course "menu Urban". It featured pigeon breast with quinoa, cod, arctic char, braised ox cheek, lamb from Frise, choice of cheeses and chocolate cake (for a more elaborate desciption check the menu on the web site). All courses were exquisite and well prepared. Portions were neither too small nor too big. We had a glass of Riesling to start followed by a bottle of Gigondas on the sommelier's recommendation.
Service was impeccable, courteous and attentive. All in all a real gastronomic experience.
There is a second, more family-oriented restaurant, Rüssel's Hasenpfeffer.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pierre_De_Meyts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2015

the purpose of the trip was visiting the gourme restaurant. deeply disappointed.alot of decoration on the plate but not really eating.the price is very high but what you get for it is ridiculous! one kohlrabi head will last a week at this portions.ordered cheese for desert,waited half an hour,cancelled and left. the motto seasonal and regional is not to understand when you get one carrot 2slices-rings of leek and 2 potato dumplings each the size of a finger nail. if that is today the standard for a star chef I don't need it. the breakfast buffet was nice but after the first 45 min became empty and was not refilled.be sure to be there the first.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Yairli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015

We eat here 6 times. The first 5 were absolute top; good service, very nice food, top wines and advice, beautiful hotel and nice breakfast.
The 6the time was unbelievable. No service, no hello of the owners, dramatic diner, no one knows anything about the wines. Hotel was still good. Complaining did not help at all, incomprehensible arrogant! € 500 for one night is too much to try it again.

Date of visit: January 2015
5  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LandhausS6, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Landgasthaus St. Urban, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landgasthaus St. Urban also viewed

Naurath (Wald), Rhineland-Palatinate
Bescheid, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Trittenheim, Rhineland-Palatinate
Piesport, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Wittlich, Rhineland-Palatinate
Neuhuetten, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Landgasthaus St. Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing