We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, hard bed, bathroom was undersized.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Napoleone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hotel Napoleone
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small room, hard bed, bathroom was undersized.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

If you place to stay here, avoid Room 202! This room was like a closet. Toilet was inaccessible. Shower was small but worked. Horrible smell in the morning time. Very strange energy. The few pluses were the pool and the lounge. They served us a picture of Nescafe Instant for coffee! I don't know where they got their 4 stars. More like 1.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a full description of the room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvrends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    93
    82
    46
    66
See reviews for
89
201
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a pleasant hotel in nice grounds with a good pool.However it is not a 4 star. It is a 3 star at best and in fairness the price reflects this . The family room we got was very spcious and cool even without the air conditioning.The food is mainly buffet style and was basic but nice. The beach is beautiful, and I suppose €20 for 2 beds with an umbrella is standard enough for Italy. There is a real 4 star and a 5 star at the beach with prices to match. All in all a nice hotel in nice grounds for a reasonable price, but a bit tired around the edges. If money is no object stay in the hotels at the beach, otherwise this is a good value option.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank o2barebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

This Hotel is situated some 4 Kms from the nearest resort and is somewhat isolated. There are a couple of small bars and souvenir shops just outside the gates, mainly to cater for the myriad daytime visitors to Napoleon’s country villa.
I have never been in a 4* Hotel where one had to search for some-one to open the bar every time one wanted a drink. It transpired that the bar man was (doubling – tripling?) as the Head Waiter, Maître ‘D’ and Sommelier, as well as sweeping up the leaves outside the Hotel.
If I had to make a judgement I would say that the Hotel is obviously not used having to British Tourists as the descriptions of the meal options left very much to be desired! ‘Flattened chicken’ in my case turned out to be a tiny leg off a scrawny tough old chicken + a miserable portion of (warm) green beans; Roast beef was extremely rare (cold) beef in a gelatine.
Whilst our room on the first floor was OK it was somewhat let down by the fact that the large external shutters couldn’t be latched back and we resorted to trying to ‘jam’ them open with pieces of card board. This I believe is not the case with all the rooms as friends had no such problems.
A large (25 metre?) pool which, when we were there, had obviously just opened for the season. A bit surprised to find that the Hotel charged 5 Euros for the hire of a pool towel (not a deposit). Despite there being a sign for a pool snack bar there was no-one to man it. Neither, I would suggest, had the pool toilets been cleaned since the previous year given their state and the number of creepy crawlies inhabiting the wash basin! At the side of the pool we also removed a number of pieces of broken glass.
As another reviewer has already mentioned if you want to go to the private beach it has to be arranged the day before and will cost you 20 Euros.
It really is a pity – this hotel has character – it could be very good if it received a little bit of TLC; and if it were properly staffed.

Room Tip: Stay low - one lift is (very) small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozymandias69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechelen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed at the hotel Napoleone for 4 nights with a group of friends. Rooms were very noisy and freezing cold; it was im posible to turn heathing on. I was told by receptionstaff heathing could not be provided!!!! Nights are still chilly in may like 7 C,
.My single room was very small and the bed made for a' petite Lady'; I ve never seen this before!
Television and phone were not working and it took 2 days to be fixed...
Regarding the breakfast; nothing hot like an omelett or scrambled eggs; instant cofee, but on request wonderful cafee latte or espresso...
Receptionist was unable to work out a payment by creditcard! I had to help him out!
Location is nice , next to Emperror Napoleon's summer residence , but you definately need a car or cap to get to Porto Ferraio....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybird340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Martino di Portoferraio hotels

Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Napoleone for 3 nights. When we checked in children were running wild throwing cushions around the lobby! We were then told that the beach would cost us €20 per day. This was contrary to the description provided on various websites including the Hotel Napoleone site. Tripadivsor: "shuttle to the beach included in rates" Booking.com: "The hotel’s beach in La Biodola Bay is located only 5 minutes away and can be quickly and conveniently reached with a free shuttle service" Hotel Website: "Sea lovers can enjoy Park Hotel private beach in stunning La Biodola bay, 5 minutes from the hotel, with free shuttle service."
The room was clean and comfortable but not 4 star. The information in the room about local amenities was in Italian and German. I wanted information about scuba diving on the island so I went to the reception to enquire about the details. The guy at reception seemed to want to get rid of me as soon as possible and told me to contact the dive company directly myself. Any other hotel staff we experienced during our travels in Italy were very helpful in stark contrast to the majority of the staff at Hotel Napoleone.
The food at the hotel is average. We arrived late after a €20 taxi from the ferry in Portoferraio, realised that the hotel is in a remote area and decided to avail of the buffet dinner at the hotel despite not having paid half board. When we entered the dining area there was nobody at the desk to take room numbers or to enquire about adding the dinner to our bill. The dinner was an average buffet and after about 10 minutes a man came around checking our room numbers. He seemed taken aback when we explained that we had arrived late and wanted the dinner added to our bill. His manner was blunt and he seemed annoyed that we were eating despite not paying half board. The buffet breakfast is very average with cheap bread, juice, jam and meats.
We also witnessed another couple arguing with the front desk regarding the misleading information about the hotel on various websites. When we checked out we raised the issue of the €20 per day charge to go to the beach. The girl at the desk explained that the shuttle bus is free but the beach is not. We explained that the websites (quoted above) do not contain that information. She agreed to a point but still maintained that everything was above board. She then said that another company maintained the website and that she would pass our feedback on (We left the hotel on the 11th August and as of 22nd August the website still has not been updated) She offered to remove our dinner from the bill. We got the impression that she'd had this argument before!
Overall there was a strange atmosphere at the hotel, the staff were unfriendly and the lights in the lobby were turned off every evening when we arrived back at the hotel! We couldn't find any trails around the hotel for walks or cycling. Any trails we found led to private houses in the area surrounding the hotel. The staff didn't provide us with any information whatsoever about local amenities. We slept in the hotel but left first thing in the morning and came back late in the evening having made use of the local buses to get to Marino de Campo. We had a lovely time on the island but this had nothing to do with Park Hotel Napoleone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

The historic mansion in which this hotel is located is very much its best feature. The hotel is located next to Napoleon's villa away from the beach so we did appreciate being able to use the beach at La Bidola, despite being a drive away. Inside, the hotel definitely needs a revamp and does no justice to its exterior although the pool area was nice. The restaurant food was certainly not the best cuisine we've experienced in Italy. The buffet arrangement for dinner seemed suited to families with children and was OK for a few nights, but no more. The main shortcoming was really the staff, particularly at the front desk. They seemed very young and inexperienced, even though they claimed to be in charge of the running of the hotel. When a formal complaint needed to be made, we were told by the young girl at the desk that the manager was in Milan and she was the person responsible, which seemed very suprising. A lot of money needs to be spent on upgrading the interior of the hotel, putting in a good restaurant and bringing in experienced staff, then it could be great!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

We had booked for one week, following our very satisfactory stay of 1 week at the Hotel Desiree in Procchio. We were looking forward to it, as we had been attracted by their website and the services which were listed there.

The first bitter surprise was that the distance from the Biodola beach is not 5 minutes at all. It is, with no traffic, 15 minutes by car.

The hotel is not, as it could appear from the pictures, in a hill overlooking the sea, but in the middle of a valley. Location is actually quite nice, but our expectations were different. We have small kids and did not want to drive in winding roads for more than a few minutes.

The hotel has a very tiny strip of beach on the Biodola, with very dirty showers and bathrooms (we went to the biodola hotel's when needed, which is another 4 star hotel in front of the beach, which was unfortunatley busy when we tried to book).

When we arrived to the Napoleone hotel, noone was at the reception as there was a wedding going on, with very loud music, children and guests running all over the place.. Check-in was therefore quite difficult, as all the staff was very busy. We tried to be understanding, however, as we had a full week ahead of us. When we got to the quadruple room, we understood that things were not going well for us. Very small, with two added tiny beds, one of which had been placed at the bottom of our double bed, as there was no other place to put it. Air conditioning was not powerful enough and the room was very warm. Bathroom had a shower, with doors not closing properly and rust all over the alluminium.

We got out to go to the pool as we could not stay in that room. The kids pool was extremely dirty; the pool bar was shut and it was also for the following days too, as the direction had decided to open it after 6pm. People were left to themselves around the pool with no assistance what so ever. A lot of guests were just taking a stroll to the cafes of the Napoleon's house in front of the hotel, for a drink or an icecream.

The following day, we managed to move into two connecting rooms and the situation improved dramatically. Services, however, were still very poor.

On the hotel's website, there is a full section dedicated to their chef. Dinner was absolutely horrible. Nothing was nice or looked nice. We felt as though we were at some hospital's canteen. Needless to say that, after seeing the breakfast offering, with fake nutella, low-budget jams and juices, frozen bread and UHT milk, we decided to leave as soon as we would have found an agreement with the hotel. We did so, after 3 days. We got back to the hotel only to sleep. Breakfast was consumed at the cafe in front.

We were lucky to find space at the Villa Ottone. It felt as though we were 4 categories up, not only one. What a magnificent hotel this was and what a difference!

I would never recommend to anyone to stay even one night at the Park Hotel Napoleone. They are far, far away from theri 4 stars ranking.

The director explained to us that the hotel changed management and ownership 2 years ago. I believe they are struggling with the building restructuring (a lot of the public areas would need a lot of attending) and the only explanation is that they are saving money on the quality of food and services, making a huge mistake as - like us - ,many others were complaining and wanting to leave.

Do not go.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raffaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino di Portoferraio
2.3 mi away
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#6 of 10 in Procchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Brigantino
Hotel Brigantino
#3 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
6.4 mi away
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
Le Acacie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 25 in Capoliveri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Napoleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Napoleone

Property: Park Hotel Napoleone
Address: Localita San Martino, 57037 San Martino di Portoferraio, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > San Martino di Portoferraio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Martino di Portoferraio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Napoleone 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderdful country house dating from the late 19th Century trasformed into a hotel for a quiet holiday in an uncontaminated Mediterranean nature. Close to the Villa of Napoleone, in an 85 hectares of private park, the Hotel offers:2 swimming pools, snack bar, private beach and private parking on Biodola Gulf, shuttle to the beach included in rates. Children (0-2 years) free for all periods. 25% of discount for the 3rd adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Hotel Napoleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Livorno
Park Hotel Napoleone Elba Island/San Martino Di Portoferraio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing