We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, shame about the rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived on the 10am ferry from Danao and took the staff by surprise, telling us that check-in was 2pm. Here for three days, we were happy to relax for a couple of hours, we sat in the restaurant and went swimming until our cabana was ready. There is no Wi-Fi, so we couldn't use our phones. The room was modern, but already looking tired with little things not been repaired. The lighting was so poor I needed a torch to find stuff in our bag, and the room didn't have a fan - which it needs, as the aircon unit was very noisy and we used earplugs. There were angle grinders and men hammering right in the cabana next door from 8am till 9.45pm. So much for a relaxing rest :(

The pool is clean, but the private beach is not cared for. A plastic water bottle was still under a beach chair some days later. The coral in the sand is sharp on the feet too, and swimming is only at high tide.

We had cocktails once and they were only half filled glasses, so never ordered again, drinking cans of beer (that were the same price as a litre bottle at the resort next door!). So we ate next door every lunch and evening (and saved a packet). The breakfast included was nice, but not a buffet - just a la carte.

We rated the service as 'poor' because the staff are really lazy and need some customer service training. We sat by the pool all day and felt that they were annoyed bringing us drinks. There is no effort by anyone there to perform customer service. Even trying to get away from the resort to look at other resorts and towns presented a major hassle. It only cost us 30pesos each to ride from the ferry to "Paradise", yet it was 1500 pesos per person to go sightseeing and 500 pesos return each on the back of a motorbike for a ride into 'town'. The dudes lazing around the entrance renting scooters looked very dodgy, and another guest warned us that they might scam us for damage to the scooter. They looked the type too. Again the hotel front desk manager just looked blank and was unable to provide any advice. We felt stuck there. Especially as they are fully reluctant to help you get back to Cebu City via another ferry operator. (Paradise is owned by Jomalia Shipping)

As a longtime traveller to Asian beaches, I feel that 'Paradise' has a long way to go to match other destinations. Even getting from Cebu City and back from the Danao ferry terminal is a story on its own!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beanbagdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to spend your hard-earned money on, this resort in Camotes Island is one of those places to go.

I came here for a solo trip and got the Deluxe Room originally booked for 2D/2N for only 2800 a night. The rooms are nice with very comfortable beds. The infinity pool is very beautiful and inviting even at night. Good beach scenery, good and affordable food at the restaurant and very friendly staff.

My experience was so good that I decided to extend my stay for one more night.

Whether you're a solo traveller like me or a group, this is the place to stay. There are tour guides/motorcycle drivers who are available all the time to tour you around the island for only 300 pesos. You may also opt to use the resort's own tour service for 1500 pesos for a group package.

I will definitely return to Paradise and SOON!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pat_lim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangodlong, Public Relations Manager at Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2016

Thank you pat_lim73 for taking the time to review Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort and choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I recommend the 2 bedroom Cabana for a small family. The whole place is beautiful and relaxing - just the perfect scenario for a vacation. Food is okay and not expensive. Lunch was fantastic but they ran out of the stuff we wanted for dinner. We took a 8:30 Jomalia ferry boat fr. Danao City and it was nice. My kids enjoyed swimming at the pool while I lazed around and enjoyed the beach. The sand is a bit coarse but white and clean. If you are looking for relaxation and beauty ... this is the right place.

Room Tip: The Cabanas and the deluxe rooms have a view of the pool and the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MPSC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangodlong, Public Relations Manager at Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Thank you MPSC28 for taking the time to review Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort and choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I happened to know the resort by surfing the net and definitely made the right choice. Our family stayed overnight to a 2 bedroom suite with sala, dining and small kitchen, a bit expensive but its worth it, the place was clean and comfortable to stay because its new and the staff were accommodating and friendly too. Nice white sandy beaches and huge pool. They have a mini bar fronting the beach and a pool side bar. The food taste absolutely good and yet its affordable, its only here I've experienced a pitcher of pineapple juice with 2 med slices of pineapple fruit and cost P50.00 thirst quencher! The resort had a shuttle ride where the guest can avail but we brought our own vehicle so its more convenient and we got to visit other tourist spots like lake danao and timobo cave. I've been to other resorts nearby but i could say this mangodlong paradise is the place where i will recommend to others and of course i will come back next time or spend summer vacation again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank smileycebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangodlong, Public Relations Manager at Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Thank you smileycebu for taking the time to review Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort and choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Found out by someone on the ferry across saying it was the newest on the island what luck, as we were just winging it.Just a fantastic place . Had beach front room excellent. Beautiful pool and beach, very friendly staff . Most of the menue was alacart we prefer to have meals but the food was good wish the served more tropical fruit and vegetables. Prices were higher end but treat yourself you won't be sorry. There are motor bikes for rent 300p for the day. The island it's self is clean and beautiful no traffic lots to see.Easy to get to from Cebue

Room Tip: We had beach front room was great
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Skip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangodlong, Manager at Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3D/2N. We checked the different resorts nearby and by far, this is the best. It has white sand beaches as well as infinity pool.

Rooms are great although the beach front and cabana rooms are the first to be filled up. Food is good too.

Room Tip: Best time to go is on a weekday as the rates are lower as compared to weekends and holidays.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mayshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangodlong, Manager at Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

we know of this hotel by accident. my family were supposed to meet some friends at mangodlong rock resort, but it turned out they waited for us at mangodlong paradise hotel, which is just right beside the rock resort. anyway, i was just as thankful for the little miscommunication because it turned out to be a very pleasant stay at the island even for just a day.

mangodlong paradise beach resort is a place where you can really rest and relax. though the resort is relatively small, the ambience itself is so relaxing. their infinity pool is inviting. they have a bar by the sea, a pocket beach with white sand, and hammocks under the coconut trees. they have a dive shop, bikes and a billiard table. the resto is also quite impressive and their buffet dinner was A-ok. the food is sumptuous (value for money).

the staff are courteous and very accommodating. i could say that they are well trained in terms of customer service.

we stayed in the 2-bedroom cabana. generally, the rooms are ok. you can comfortably move around, the beds are big and comfortable. the downslide though were the extra beds. they were so hard and you can feel spring sticking on your back.

they also have a shuttle service that can pick up or bring you to the port area.

i would definitely go back there and maybe for a longer stay.

Room Tip: for a family of 6-8 (like us), i would recommend the 2-bedroom cabana. it can accommodate up to 8 pe...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank terrie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangodlong, Manager at Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Hi, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
10.8 mi away
My Little Island Hotel
My Little Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poro Island
21 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santiago Bay Garden & Resort
Santiago Bay Garden & Resort
#2 of 13 in San Francisco
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mangodlong Rock Resort
Mangodlong Rock Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacijan Island
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swisslagoon Camotes
Swisslagoon Camotes
#3 of 13 in San Francisco
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aladin White Beach Resort
Aladin White Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in San Francisco
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Grove Nature Resort
Coco Grove Nature Resort
#10 of 17 in Camotes Islands
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort

Address: | Mangodlong, Heminsulan, San Francisco 6014, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Camotes Islands > Pacijan Island > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $46 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort: synonymous with prestige, a posh destination, and serene to some of the country's most tranquil islands. A place where locals and International visitors gather when looking for an escape from reality. Enjoy your stay at our 28-room resort with Asian and Modern inspired suites located right beside our private beach, along with the Island's first and only Infinity Pool. Our guests can relax in our Bamboo Café and witness the sunset at our Sunset Bar. The Paradise also has recreational and function rooms for social gathering and events. Our Mission The Paradise aims to be an epitome of excellence in preparing good food, good amenities, and providing the best customer service experience to our guests. The Camotes Island enjoys more than 300 days of sunshine yearly, drawing a lot of our visitors to the region's warm tropical weather. Indulge yourself in the beautiful Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort. Incredibly Paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mangodlong Paradise Beach Resort Camotes Islands, Philippines - San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing