We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its okay but check out other options.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santiago Bay Garden & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santiago Bay Garden & Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Its okay but check out other options.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We booked this resort from Cebu as Camotes is close and we wanted to get out of the city for a few days. We booked a "Superior" room by phone for 2600 pesos ($60) per night for a family of four. The room was okay, quite basic, but we did have clean sheets and towels with a cold water shower. The Resort advertises white beaches but the only beach front is when the tide is out. When the tide is in, you walk directly down the ramp into the sea. You can walk out in the sea quite a distance, but watch for sea urchins, my foot found one! When the tide is out the local dogs roam the beach and leave their deposits on the beach and some trash washes up, so the sea isn't too pristine for swimming here. There is a small pool in the resort which was fine and our kids spent much time there. A local man took us out snorkelling to the next bay which was fun and much cheaper than the resort charges for their snorkel equipment. The restaurant food was fine, although the menu was limited. Grilled tuna was very good. We did eat down the beach at a small local restaurant once, but we waited 50 minutes for our food and the grilled fish was burned black on the outside and raw on the inside. After that experience we ate our meals at the resort. One aggravation was travelling to the resort from the ferry, we negotiated a price directly with the driver. Returning to the ferry from the resort, the price doubled even though it was the same driver, same truck, same distance! It seems the hotel staff adds a commission. It does have a scenic view of the bay, but I would check other hotels or resorts to see how they compare. This one is quite close to the Consuelo ferry port.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark1956084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    69
    45
    10
    13
See reviews for
27
65
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This could be a very nice resort, with a beautiful location next to a great beach.
Unfortunately it is spoiled by poor maintenance and a terrible attitude by some of the staff.
The check-in time is supposedly 12 noon, so we were surprised that our room was not ready when we arrived at about 3pm. Never mind, we thought, we will have a late lunch first, while the room is prepared. We were shocked that nobody had come to tell us the room was ready when we finished our leisurely meal an hour later. It was hard to find anybody at reception. It seems the main receptionist had "gone to church" - well, it was Sunday, so never mind about the clients, apparently. We finally found somebody to ask. She radioed to another member of staff who we expected to come to our aid but no, nobody came. We were kept waiting until after 5pm. Our room was poorly prepared and we had to go back to reception (some distance) to ask for towels. It seems we were not alone with this problem - on her return from reception with towels, my wife was asked for some by another guest, mistaking her for a member of staff!
Tired, hot and bothered, we unpacked, looking forward to a refreshing shower. Next problem! Water pressure in the bathroom was virtually non-existent - it took an hour to fill the bucket! No chance of a shower. When we complained, we were at least moved to another room (forcing us to repack!) but with no help from staff. Indeed, seeing us moving, the security guard was quite rude to my wife, more or less saying that she was wrong to complain!
The higher standard room we were moved to was ok, at least the shower worked, but still only cold water, no heater.
Next problem - there is no mobile phone signal in the area, so we could not contact others nor use mobile Internet. There is no wifi at the hotel and we were refused permission to use the landline at reception, even though we offered to pay for the call!
The meals in the restaurant were actually pretty good, though it seems they cannot be bothered to bring the prices on the menu up to date, nor even point out the increased price when you order, just charging you extra when they give you the bill!
In short, this resort could be great with satisfactory management. The attitude to guests at the moment is appalling - we were made to feel that we were a nuisance rather than welcome.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheapest rooms. Would be fine but poorly maintained with inadequate water supply. Try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We arrived at the resort and approached the reception area, to check in. The receptionist, named Jim, was slouched over her seat, and looked almost annoyed, that we had interrupted her time, she looked miserable. She showed no enthusiasm for her job whatsoever, and literally sneered at myself and my husband. A young nice lady then brought us to our villa. The room was very basic, no mini fridge, freezing cold water, with no pressure, TV didnt work, and there were ants everywhere, even in the creamer sachets. The ceiling fan did not work, and the AC was very weak, old and noisy.

As we arrived at lunch, we went to the restaurant, which had a very basic and small menu. We realised there was a second reception area, and as Jim was so unfriendly, we approached the receptionist named Meta. She had her head buried in a magazine, and we said excuse me, could she give us some information on what activities/tours there were on the Island? Meta didnt even raise her head to answer our question, she heard me, even her colleague looked embarrased, but couldnt be bothered to acknowledge our request. A day later I heard her speak to a young Korean student, who was complaining about the lack of hot water in his room, in an extremlely agressive and patronising tone and claimed the manager was based in Cebu city.

This service is unacceptable, the hotel should seriously consider sending their receptionists on an intense customer service/ care course, before you lose many clients. I know I wont return.

My advice, pay a little more, and stay in the sister hotel, The Mangodlong Resort. We dined there every day, and were welcomed with open arms, the food was great and the service was fantastic.

Room Tip: Dine at the Pitos Sutokil on the beach, family run, very friendly and the sugba is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

It's our first time in Camotes and luckily we got an online booking in this resort. Their standard fan room for two is only P1,000. It has a nice view of the San Francisco bay and they have a relaxing swimming pool. The resort staff were all nice and very accommodating. When we stayed there almost all rooms were occupied by koreans, americans and filipino travellers from manila. They have a restaurant with affordable meals. It has a very scenic sunrise and sunset view from the porch. We really enjoyed our stay in this resort. If you want to experience Camotes Island I highly recommend that you stay in Santiago Bay Garden and Resort,it is 20 minutes away from Consuelo port.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ekstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

It's my second time to visit Camotes and this time we've decided to stay in this Resort. I have noticed that the resort is constructing new rooms adjacent to where our room is located. Thankfully, I did not encounter any problem with construction noise since it was put on hold. Probably because we stayed there on a weekend and no workers can be seen on site.

I like the view of the hotel. We stayed at a standard room valued at P1,500.00 and I believe I get the value for our money. The resort is overlooking the beach and the pool. It has a very scenic view that i love.love.love. The only drawback in our room is the noise coming from the visitors who are swimming at the pool. But we can't blame the resort for it.

Also, I'd like to commend the staff, they are very accommodating to us and very polite. Their restaurant also is a must try. I love their calamares, grilled fish and fish tinola. Price is a bit expensive but it's worth it, the waiters/waitresses are also prompt with their service.

So far this is a recommended resort for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedazzle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We actually stayed here last year. I wasn't signed up yet with Tripadvisor then. So I'll just cite the good and the bad stuff I remember from the resort. This is a small resort so don't expect any facilities that big resorts usually provide.
Pros:
1. Affordable prices
2. Clean rooms with TV, Closet, own bath and Air conditioning
3. Infinity Pool has a great view of the Santiago Bay
4. The Famous Camotes beach is just a 1 min. walk and it is really nice!
5. You can bring canned goods or buy fish from the market and their kitchen will cook it for you at a very minimal charge (This really helped us save)
6. Service was good, I changed my booking twice and they never charged me for it even though I changed my booking like a day before our arrival.
7. Oh! Pets are allowed =) I don't know if a lot of you are interested in this info but my friend brought her Boston Terrier with us on this trip.
Cons:
1. The food took so long (i think this is a common theme with resorts)
2. No generator so we did experience no power from time to time during our stay.

Overall, its a nice affordable place especially with your special someone. The beach is not full of people or tourists, nice and quiet. You can also do Skim boarding on the beach, I think its only 50 pesos or $1.10 for the board rental. Also you can get local beers from the Sari-Sari store on the beach. It was really nice enjoying a cold beer and laying down on the beach. We enjoyed our stay in Santiago Bay Garden & Resort and best thing it doesn't burn your wallet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ram_dlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We went there for an open reservation. We arrived Friday morning. We had a car along with us during our travel. So we went out frequently. To our surprise, we were asked to pay our bill the next night (saturday)! Their reason was that they were going to close their book and their cut-off is on saturdays. But none of the other occupants were asked to pay i'm sure. we we're so disappointed. We got discriminated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JosefHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
10.8 mi away
My Little Island Hotel
My Little Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poro Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
21.8 mi away
Las Flores
Las Flores
#53 of 213 in Cebu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coco Grove Nature Resort
Coco Grove Nature Resort
#9 of 16 in Camotes Islands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aizawa Beach Resort
Aizawa Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swisslagoon Camotes
Swisslagoon Camotes
#2 of 13 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mangodlong Rock Resort
Mangodlong Rock Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacijan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Bay Garden & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Bay Garden & Resort

Property: Santiago Bay Garden & Resort
Address: A.C. cortes Ave. Cambaro, Mandaue City (Cebu office), San Francisco 6050, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Camotes Islands > Pacijan Island > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santiago Bay Garden & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Camotes Islands, Santiago Bay Garden and Resort is an ideal spot from which to discover Cebu. Set 157.4 Km from the excitement of the city, this 3-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Santiago Bay Garden and Resort is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are meeting facilities, room service, restaurant, airport transfer, bicycle rental. Step into one of 51 inviting rooms and escape the stresses of the day with a wide range of amenities such as television, non smoking rooms, shower, balcony/terrace which can be found in some rooms. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including pool (kids), outdoor pool, water sports (motorized), massage, garden, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Santiago Bay Garden and Resort the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Cebu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Santiago Bay Garden & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Bay Garden And Resort
Santiago Bay Garden Hotel San Francisco
Santiago Bay Garden & Resort Camotes Islands, Philippines - San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing