We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabonay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seabonay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillsboro Beach
SW Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked this hotel so we can see family in the area, and we wanted something Oceanfront for a good price. We spoke with Esteban who was incredibly friendly and helpful in getting us a room for 3 nites for a decent price. We opted for a 1-bedroom with double beds and an oceanview.

Parking: If you are driving a vehicle with top storage, there are only 5 possible stalls to use on the actual property, otherwise you are parking across the street. It's first-come-first-serve.

Property: I believe it's partial hotel, partial condo/apartments (people live there full-time). They use regular keys (which I do not like). The front desk is not available 24/7. The property is pet-friendly, which I didn't have a problem with. The pool was older but clean and refreshing, and there is an outside shower and bathrooms.

Unit 1: Was room 425. It was not up to my standards at all. It was dark, the bathroom was a little scary looking, the view was teeny. I went downstairs to let the front desk know and they happily let me see another unit.

Unit 2: Room 620. This room was much better.

Kitchenette: The kitchenette is VERY dated. The minifridge and microwave were the only 2 updated pieces. The counters, sink, stove, cabinets all really need to be changed out. Some of the pots had burnt "something" on the bottoms of them, I only found 2 pots to be usable.

Bathroom: Less scary than the last unit, but again very dated. There was some odd pipe hanging out of the roof of the shower, the head unit leaked water, and there weren't enough towels (but it was easy to get more).

Living room: The floors really need to be rinsed after they are cleaned. Our feet were sticky. My son wouldn't take off his flip-flops the entire time we were there. The couch was clean, the tables and chairs were fine. The TV is an older TV, and we only got about 10 channels.

The balcony: Was WONDERFUL, but if you are afraid of heights may not be a good fit. There's no roof above you, just the balcony which gave us a nice view of the beach and the sky above. I spent a good amount of time enjoying the salty air and breeze.

The bedroom: We had 2 queen beds, which worked out perfect for our family. They were clean, newer mattresses, and comfortable. Another small, old TV was in there. There was a good sized closet and a little table for our laptops.

The beach access: Made everything worth it! There was a day where there was quite a bit of seaweed and the water was a little choppy, but it's a beautiful, private beach. There are chairs to use. The sand there is HOT so be careful, also the sand is a bit rocky so little ones may need some water shoes (I cut my foot on a shell). The shells there are beautiful! If you have anyone visit you, it's $20 a DAY to get them a parking pass.

Overall: We did have a nice time at the beach. The location was wonderful and private, but the room was just ok for the price. There is great potential in this resort if they invested in some upgrades. We may consider staying here again.

Room Tip: There is not a restaurant on the site--tripadvisor is making me rate it. There are good ones in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudeeRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    59
    38
    37
    49
See reviews for
97
106
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is located on the beach which is nice for access. The hotel staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. This is a 3 star at most hotel/resort, but they do give good effort. I'm a bit picky so I would look for another hotel if returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deuce2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We usually stay just down the road at the Embassy Suites but it was fully booked so we opted for the Seabonay Beach Resort and I'm delighted we did. The hotel is located right on its own private beach (no roads to cross) with a swimming pool and private parking. The staff were very pleasant, the rooms spacious (ours could sleep 6) clean and tastefully decorated but its the small touches that make this place so nice. Arriving on July 4th they were offering guests a complimentary BBQ. They also have complimentary shampoos, body lotion and conditioner in the room. (The sort of thing you expect from chain hotels) and complimentary continental breakfast. It had a very relaxed atmosphere and we will definately be using this hotel again. Oh and to top it off....half the price of the Embassy Suites!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lm1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijeras, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family of 5 stayed for a week in a 2 bdr, full kitchen suite. Our balconey had a view of the ocean. The cleaning/maintenance staff were fast, friendly and polite. Raquel at the front is kind and helpful. You walk off their lawn onto aPrivate Beach. The price was very reasonable, the neighborhood quiet, and the facility, while older, is clean and well maintained (an advantage to it being older is, it is very QUIET). If I could have removed 1/2 of a star, I would have for the wireless internet (free by the way). It was hit or miss. My family and I will stay again next year. Loved it.

Room Tip: Cal Raquel. She will spend time to get you the right room and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAHR1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I spent three nights at the Seaboney and had a great time. The room was very clean
and spacious. The location and price of the hotel was great. The best thing about this
hotel was the ocean view. You step out of the elevator walk a few steps and your in the
ocean. The staff were very helpful and they even gave you breakfast. I didn't want to
leave but I sure I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BARBARA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife,son and I spent our 2012 Spring Break at Seabonay. The location,room,staff and service was GREAT We will be coming back again! Thank You!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I've rented a number of condos on the beach in different parts of the US and Northern Europe, so I feel that this hotel is a great find for the price. Comparable units in the neighborhood could cost twice as much. Our oceanfront suite included a full kitchen and the largest balcony in the hotel. A nice breakfast is included with fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, pastries and make-your-own waffle station. The pool has a view of the private beach, which is not crowded and the hotel provides beach chairs. There's even a complimentary Friday night wine social on the covered pool-side patio, which gave us a chance to meet other guests.

No, it's not a luxury hotel and still needs some upgrades, but the property upgrades are a work in progress and improving daily. Our mattress wasn't the greatest, but I'm hoping that will be upgraded in the future. The Seabonnay is located in a high-rise residential area, so you'll have to drive a few minutes to the main drag where you'll find plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, etc.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuaEnaPackRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsboro Beach
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#9 of 27 in Boca Raton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Boca Raton Plaza Hotel and Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Oceanside
Comfort Inn Oceanside
#11 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Blues Hotel
Royal Blues Hotel
#5 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabonay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabonay Beach Resort

Property: Seabonay Beach Resort
Address: 1159 Hillsboro Mile # (A-1-A, Hillsboro Beach, FL 33062-1700
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hillsboro Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillsboro Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seabonay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your cares and enjoy the South Florida lifestyle at Seabonay Beach Resort in Hillsboro Beach. Newly decorated we offer 77 condo style accommodations which include standard rooms, junior suites and one bedroom suites. Our suites are condo style with a full working kitchen, living room and a balcony. Tucked within an affluent area, Hillsboro Beach boasts easy access to Fort Launderdale and its suburbs, with Boca Raton three miles north and Deerfield Beach a mile west. Perched on the Atlantic Ocean waterfront, Seabonay Beach Resort will feel like your very own private island, your home away from home and the only place you will enjoy staying at in South Florida. For those looking to drop a line, the nearby Pier at Deerfield Beach offers an excellent fishing hole. During your stay with us you can relax by the heated outdoor swimming pool, enjoy the outdoor casual living room with a large screen television or go for a stroll on the private beach with some of the most breathtaking views in Florida. All guest rooms/suites offer complimentary Wi-Fi, premium cotton linens, complimentary local calling with a direct dial phone, private bathroom with a shower-tub combination, complimentary toiletries, premium 24 TV channels, central air and heat, coin operated laundry room & laundry service, front desk safety deposit box, private parking, meeting room, daily housekeeping, friendly staff and complimentary continental breakfast for two per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Seabonay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabonay Beach Hotel Hillsboro Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing