We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your unique hideaway, shhh... don't tell too many poeple”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sopley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sopley Lake Yurt Camp
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I didn't want to leave at all, you have everything you need, I was a bit worried about it being November and therefore cold but the fires were easy to keep going with all the wood etc that is supplied for outside and inside your yurt, the yurts were warm, cosy and beautifully presented, so relaxing it was hard to get out of bed!. Everything was thought about, from the outdoor kitchen equipment to the towels in the outdoor shower, so many cushions, blankets, lanterns and space. We sat down to our outdoor dining area to lovely meals as you have a bbq and gas cooker in the kitchen with all the plates, pots, pans, glasses and cutlery you need, there is absolutely no need to leave. The outdoor shower and toilet will make you smile when you look inside and there is hot water!.
You have a whole lake in front of you, the view is splendid and so nice to wake up to, we sat around our fire till midnight every night in our own peaceful and cosy little world.
It was simply splendid and I cannot wait to go again, in fact someone take me there now!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Sopley Lake Yurt Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 116 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay so much, you are so close to the new forest, we had a day out at the Beaulieu Motor Museum and saw the Top Gear display and it was topped off with dinner at the local pub. I would recommend this accomodation to all my friends, wish we had visited in BST as it got dark at 5pm so could not enjoy the lake in all it's glory. Well done forest yurts :-)
We will be back next summer.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollybushcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

What a treasure..great helpful and supportive hosts, who have thought of it all, and leave you to it. We went in Mid october and although I was worried that camping would not be very sensible or warm with two kids, we were actually praying for rain so that we "had" to stay inside. The Yurt is just gorgeous inside, the roof, the fabrics the heat the sound of the burner....I loved it all as did my partner and kids. The outside loo and shower block are well made so showers were hot and everything felt clean. We had the peace of the lake to ourselves and although you can hear the road at times you do feel you are in the middle of no-where...we totally loved it and had a lot of fun running through corn fields, woods and setting fires.... try something new....

Room Tip: bring your food, bring your wine and have a good time
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lysa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our weekend yurting was amazing! We are a group of girls, all in our twenties and thirties. We all loved it; it was a truly fantastic experience. The facilities are so well thought through and the attention to detail was impressive. The yurts inside are stunning and very comfortable and warm.

The surrounding area is beautiful for waking, cycling, fresh produce and lovely pubs.

I would absolutely love to stay again. I camp a lot and I love to travel but the yurts are very special experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mssinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is truley the most fabulous camping destination. You want for nothing when you get there, the position is amazing, right next to the lake on the edge of the New Forest! The yurts themselves are very luxurious, one of them even has it's own wood burner complete with complimentary bag of logs! There is an incredible kitchen set up, with sink, 2 gas rings and built in BBQ and a lovely teak dining table and chairs. We spent every evening round the fire pit after a gentle stroll round the carp lake to have a look at the catch of the day. It is very peaceful, set in its own little woodland glade with your own parking and entrance. I shall definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would recommend having the big yurt then you get the added luxury of the wood burner
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diggersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The yurt was comfortable,very clean and beautiful.Even though we had typical english summer weather (drizzle and rain)the on site kitchen was under cover there as even a gazebo to put over the out door dinning area.
the only thing i would advise is take a toilet seat or potty for young children as this was tricky with seperater compostable toiet ad three year old
we will def be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent a week in the Dragon Yurt on Sopley Lake. The location is wonderful - we drove down a grass lane to a clearing in a wooded area on the edge of a lake, (perfect).
The Yurt itself was fabulous, beautifully furnished, very comfortable and much larger than we anticipated. The cooking station was very well equipped and immaculate. The shower was great and the compost loo was fascinating and didn't smell at all!
We had a magical time, we watched buzzards flying, geese coming back to roost and one night a badger pottered through. We sat round the campfire in the evening and lay in bed looking at the stars through the Yurt skylight. Our 8 year old rode his bike round the lake, flew his kite, launched rockets, picked fruit and collected wood for the fire. The iPod and DVD player we had brought as back up remained unpacked!
The surrounding area, The New Forest itself and the beaches are superb, as are the great local pubs and food - If you can bear to drag yourself away from the Yurt that is!
Happy to recommend to anyone - can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaccyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sopley
3.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
397 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
433 reviews
14.5 mi away
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
2.2 mi away
The Avon Causeway
The Avon Causeway
#4 of 32 in Christchurch
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sopley Lake Yurt Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopley Lake Yurt Camp

Address: Derritt Lane, Sopley BH23 7AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sopley
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sopley
Price Range: $120 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sopley Lake Yurt Camp has been the leading UK glamping destination since opening in 2011. Five yurts on four sites, all beautifully decorated with furnishings from North Africa across Asia to the Far East. The yurts are incredibly cosy and warm up in no time once the wood burner is lit on the coldest of nights. Each yurt has private facilities from a hot shower, composting loo, BBQ area, camp fire and fully equipped cooking station. The location is perfect (Pub within walking distance), lakeside views abundant with wild fowl and fish, close to the New Forest National Park (cycling, horse-riding, pubs) and the beaches near Bournemouth and Christchurch. Surrounded by PYO fields (seasonal fruit and veg available) and fresh farm produce delivered to your yurt fridge for your arrival. All part of our dedicated service and desire to give you the best glamping experience possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing