We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic food with an Atmosphere of its own”
Review of Urban Grooves

Urban Grooves
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic food with an Atmosphere of its own”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Been to Urban Grooves a few times. This time we sat outside and had a gourmet Pizza and coffee. Liked sitting there watching the traffic go by.
I like popping into this place for a quick bite before a movie.
Only suggestion is an outside area for non smokers. I felt like I needed oxygen when we left but apart from that another good experience

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodge1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I recently celebrated my birthday here with a group of friends after not dining here for several years.
I shared the lamb pizza and a bowl of wedges with my husband.
Both were very generous serves and the food was delicious.
The cake selection is always great. I had a slice of white chocolate & raspberry cheesecake that was lovely.
The restaurant can get a bit noisy at peak times, but I found no problems on this occasion.
This restaurant is also ideal for catching up with a friend over coffee.
Decor is modern yet warm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NelleWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Class cafe”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very impressive and well located cafe. Coffe is very good, main course of salmon was superb and the creme brulee dessert was unbeatable. Friendly and attentive and somewhat fashionable staff. Well priced but can get crowded and some seating areas inside near the front window can get a little cramped. Outdoor seating options afford excellent people watching opportunities. Ample parking in a big carpark nearby out the back. Very classy, highly recommended and I will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LamaTemple40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tugun, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great coffee, atmoshere & food”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Used to live very near this restaurant (in fact worked for one of its previous owners under a different name) ... it's a great location, only wish there was a bigger footpath with big trees on it, but they do have their own under-cover canopy they can set up.

The coffee is great
The food is pretty good to great (depending on the dish)
The prices are reasonable
The staff are friendly

Lots of people meet there for a variety of reasons, personal & business ... and when I was studying at Latrobe Uni, I would sometimes take one of the side tables where it was a bit quieter to study on. You can see that seating in the main image on their website.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galacticpresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good value, decent food”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good local place for coffee and meals
The sharing plates are good and desert is amazing

Really nothing to fault
Just and over all good place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Grooves also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Greensborough, Banyule
 

Been to Urban Grooves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing