We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, dirty and uncared for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here over the Easter weekend. Had a 2 bedroom apartment. When we arrived we were told there are permanent residents and we had to keep the noise down at night, this didn't apply to the permanent residents as loud music and shouting on the Saturday night from them. We complained to the reception and were told the manager couldn't hear the music so no reason to complain. It took 30 minutes for a manager to come and investigate. There was a secure gate which we were told they'd been having trouble with so it had to stay open. Went for a walk to the supermarket and came back to find the gate shut, had to get a remote from reception to get out as it wasn't provided at check in. The place was filthy, black mould in the bathroom, exhaust fan clogged up, cutlery and crockery was also dirty. Carpet and tiled floors were grubby. Glass top tables had ring marks from mugs. We checked out a day early and moved to a different hotel. Hotel guests and permanent residents don't mix, no respect shown for us as guests. 1st bad experience at a Best Western. Don't stay here, this shouldn't be associated with Best Western.

Room Tip: Don't. Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderMotorInn, Owner at Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Alexandra C. Thanks for your feedback. Contents of your dissatisfaction have been considered and discussed. It appears that noise complaints by the apartment adjoining you were investigated immediately by the duty manager however nothing was evident. For that we apologize if during the night noise levels increased which is beyond our control. It is interesting that concerns regarding cleanliness were not raised on check in although you did stay 3 nights before checking out. As with any accommodation property, grievances should be raised immediately in order for owners to rectify immediately to ensure a pleasurable stay for guests. We also noted the Apartment was left in a most unsatisfactory condition which indicates an early check out was planned as you were no doubt embarrassed by its state. We wish you better lodgings elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

This motel offers quality accommodation at reasonable rates and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The rooms are well appointed, beds comfortable and the breakfast good. The location is handy and close to city with good public transport close by.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Trudie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had stayed at this place before, so knew what to expect. It is situated on a busy road, so we asked for a room towards the back. They have a resto here and we were given a couple of drinks vouchers on arrival, which was a nice touch.

It is a simple, unpretentious, reasonably priced motel. It's close to the airport, faces a tram stop and it's a short distance on foot from a few shops and cafes, but there's not a lot of convenience shopping after dark. The Puckle St shopping and dining precinct is a short tram or car journey away. If you want to go in to Melbourne Central, it's about 40 minutes away by tram.

Our room was clean, a reasonable size and housekeeping was excellent. There's a kettle and toaster, with cups and saucers, but no knives or plates. We used the saucers for toast and jam and asked for a knife at the front desk. The bed is comfy and there are plenty of pillows. Wifi is free.

The only problem is the noise. Being a motel, people park their cars outside the units. We were awoken more than once by people arriving back late at night, or leaving early in the morning. They seemed to have no idea of speaking quietly. People revved car engines, or warmed the engine for a few minutes, right outside our door, sometimes at 7am. Others clunked their way down the outside steps, banging luggage on each step. Cleaning staff called out to each other and carried on conversations loudly as they went about their work. They burst in on us one morning, as we were asleep. If you need quiet, or are hoping for regular sleeping in, you might be disappointed.

Having said this, it is still very good value for money and, as our family lives nearby, we would stay here again and will probably stay here regularly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Asked for family room on ground floor.. None on ground floor.. OK not a major concern, however the room was directly above the function Centre and there is going to be a function there tonight so it may be noisy. .. we needed this accommodation as we arrived that, tired and did not have time to book anything else. Well the function occurred and was so so noisy to wee hours of the morning. . Cleanliness.. well balcony windows were disgusting.Stained benches and very squishy room. Glad we only traveled light.. nowhere for luggage. Will choose somewhere else next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have stayed in Best Western motels before and this is perhaps the worst one yet..Stayed here with my wife and 2 small kids and reserved a family room (number 40).

The receptionist was courteous but did not know much about the rooms and their facilities. My room did not have a remote for the AC and when I pointed this out he said " there should be one...did you check carefully? " . Then he phoned someone and told me that my room in fact does not have a remote for the AC and ' there is a string close to the window and you need to pull it to switch the AC on" ...That means you cannot control the set temperature and I found it strange since different people have their own preferred temperatures and apparently everyone had to be satisfied with the motels set temperature.

The website indicated a queen bed and a bunk bed in the so called family room but the bunk did not have a ladder to climb or the side rails therefore my kids could not use the top bunk. Please be aware of this when you make the booking.

As you walk along the corridor there was a distinct smell which I believe was coming from the carpets. Inside the room was no better but the AC helped to ease out the smell.

At the time of the check out a man was washing the stairway with a garden hose and he was quite liberal with water and made sure we got our shoes wet. We were actually walking through pools of water and this could be a real danger as anyone could have a fall from that slippery surface.

Wifi was free but better take your own mobile device if you want to surf the web. The signal was dropping off every five minutes and I had to re log in using the password every 10 minutes.

Only good thing perhaps was the linen and the ensuite were spotless. Hot water and the water pressure too was good.

Recommendation is to find a better place if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Arrived at the motel to find the booking had not been made. Was then directed to a dump of a motel where the bed smelt of cigarette smoke and my friend got bitten by bugs. Would never use this service again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
3  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 midweek nights here on a business trip. I chose this place on price & the ff points were 9/1 at the time. For under $100/night for a basic room it's hard to beat for value. The decor is a little dated but it was clean & roomy enough for just myself. The large bathroom had a great shower with good pressure & the single room had 2 single beds, lcd tv & a split aircon unit for heating & cooling. There was a table & chair for firing up the laptop but no power points on that side of the room.
There were rhe normal jug/coffee/iron amenities but sadly no bowls or microwave to make a basic snack & foxtel would have been good but not expected at that price.
It is close to the airport so expect some low aircraft esp choppers & some road noise if facing the road but they didn't bother me.
The staff were friendly too.
I would stay again for short stays for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essendon
4.6 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,419 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
664 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Melbourne, Essendon Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
4.5 mi away
Hume Villa Motor Inn
Hume Villa Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Fawkner
65 reviews
3.6 mi away
Discovery Parks - Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments

Address: 980 Mt Alexander Rd, Essendon, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3040, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon
Price Range: $70 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing