We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$169
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quest Flemington(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$255
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$87
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne(Melbourne)
$122
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Essendon Motel(Essendon North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkville Motel(Brunswick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Motel(Footscray)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
14
54
52
21
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
54
52
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopcleaning stafftea and coffeesunday nightplenty of parkingold style motellast minute bookingtidy roomno dramasairport westnothing fancydown the roadlocation was perfectfree parkingeasy accesspublic transportcity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 164 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

reasonably priced, easy to get to, easy walking distance to food and entertainment, comfortable, clean and great breakfast. As a woman travelling alone I felt very safe and comfortable walking a couple of blocks to the local pub. Even though it was on a busy road the room was very quiet and traffic noise was not at all an issue. The service was great and the free wifi a huge advantage.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiechick3564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in the family room, which consisted of lounge, kitchen, 2 single beds downstairs and 2 queen beds upstairs. Very comfortable. Pity the aircond didn't cool the upstairs rooms, as there was only 1 fan supplied for upstairs and it was terrible trying to sleep. . But then Melbourne was in the middle of a heat wave. Between our family, we had an iPad, iPhone and 2 laptops none of which could connect to the free wifi. When querying it, I was told this happens sometimes. Not good enough, when we were trying to keep in touch with family. You need to update your wifi seeing as you advertise it as included in the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here recently for nearly a week, as we were visiting family nearby. It's very close to the airport and sometimes getting a taxi to take you there can be a little fraught, as the taxi drivers prefer a longer trip.

We stayed in what they called a deluxe room, which was simple, but a reasonable size, clean and bright, with a comfortable bed, lots of pillows, a small table and couple of chairs and one easy chair. There is a good sized wardrobe and a shelf running along one wall which easily accomodates two suitcases and the usual paraphernalia you can accomodate on holidays. There's a toaster and kettle too, with tea, coffee and milk, but no plates or knives to enable you to make your own breakfast if you want to. They will sell you a breakfast and I assume that they then supply the necessary implements and crockery. The bathroom is pleasant and bright. The aircon worked well. Housekeeping was excellent.

The motel is on a busy road, but there's plenty of offstreet parking. There's a tram stop immediately outside and it takes about 40 minutes to get to the city centre. There's a railway station just a short walk away, together with a little high street opposite the railway station and another around the corner, less than 10 minutes away on foot. Within a few tram stops or a short car journey, there are plenty of cafes, Puckle St in Moonee Ponds for shopping and lots of other services on Mount Alexander Rd and Pascoe Vale Rd nearby.

As we were in a rear room, the traffic noise wasn't a problem. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We had no issues with booking, checking out, or during the stay. However, as our room was near the laundry, cleaning and other staff often gathered outside for a break, sometimes early in the morning and chattered very loudly, which could be disturbing if you were trying to sleep in or take a nap. Twice, I had to ask them at 8am, to talk quietly, but they were good natured about it.

If you need a very affordable spot to stay which is close to the airport or which is conveniently located to the Essendon, Moonee Ponds or Brunswick West areas, this is a good place to stay. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderMotorInn, Manager at Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Good morning. Many thanks for your kind review. We endeavour to offer comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price without charging for extra added necessities. Looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

To be honest our stay was a bit of a disappointment especially we we compare this motel with our stay in the Best Western in Canberra, but looking at the price we should't have any reason to complain. Breakfast came an half hour to early; cleaners wanted to enter the room at 9 o'clock on the first day of our stay of 6 nights. The refrigerator made a terrible noise together with the airco during the nights. I was told that the fridge would be replaced and possibly this was done but then I got a noisy fridge back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjolein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderMotorInn, Manager at Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, It is with disapointment that I read you had refrigerator issues. We are in the process of a soft refurbishment, updating all equipment and furniture and fittings. I hope we can welcome you back in the future with our new and improved rooms. We have also updated our maintenance schedule to try and prevent this happening again.
I have spoken to the maids and room srevice attendants about their early arrivals, and reiterated they must be punctual.
I look forward to offering you a more enjoyable experience if you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good parking availability, but not too easy to park and turn into narrow spots if you're not used to sitting on the right/driving on the left.

Each wifi code was good for 50 MB each day for three days, and I had to get extra codes at the desk--during their business hours. If you have a one-hour radio program, that's about 50 MB. But at least it was free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HkCaGu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderMotorInn, Manager at Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, I am pleased to read you we ranked excellent for location and cleanliness, I will pass this on to the Housekeeping team. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews