We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The birds”

Poynton's Boulevard Cafe
Ranked #8 of 94 Restaurants in Essendon
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The birds”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We sat in the patio covered area and the sparrows were so bold they hopped onto our table while we were still eating. They were a real pest. The wrong meal was delivered to me and I then waited 10 minutes while the right meal came. Meanwhile my friend waited to eat her meal and had to keep the birds off it. The meal wasn't much either (3 very small slices of grilled eggplant and overpriced). It's a beautiful setting though and the sticky date pudding was lovely although in contrast to the tiny meal was a huge slab of a serve.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank secondglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    36
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxted
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“DISGUSTED”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Poynton's was an absolute "must visit" whenever I return to Melbourne however this will not be the case in future. The Cafe used to be friendly and welcoming with excellent service. This was not the case on 31 July! The food - when our order was finally taken and the food served - was good however the bread for my sandwich was bordering on staleness [dry outer]. Sadly, the service was almost non existent. Barest minimum. No return to see if food was okay or if we wished to order dessert. The wine [sauvignon blanc] was mediocre and the prices have become outrageous for the style of cafe/service on offer. Similar menus on offer in and around Melbourne are around the $14 to $20 range. Poynton's are £23 plus with a few basics offered at below $10. Overall, extremely disappointed that my favourite luncheon venue has deteriorated in quality and service and will definitely not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobOxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
460 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 971 helpful votes
“Wonderful Plant Nursery, relaxing view - as for the rest, well ........”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Raised well into "the charming view" category (looking out over the Maribyrnong river or back into the abundant beautifully laid out Nursery) and with a well designed and accessible space, this restaurant should be a strong winner. But like lots of such venues the combination of menu and management lets the side done. Still it is a lovely place to buy plants and drink coffee.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredWazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
335 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice and Pricey”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I love Poyntons always a great trip to wander around the nursery, gift shops then grab a coffee and cake or light meal in the cafe. The Nursery prices are expensive but a good selection of plants and pots can be found (but you know that up front due to the location).

However, have been noticing the cafe is getting pricey and meals are shrinking for what you get. A small toasted sandwich (tomato & ham) $9 and 1 slice of toast with avocado $8 on top of pricey milkshakes, focacias and coffees seemed over the top since my previous visit earlier in the year.
The views over the nursery and the river are very nice and the outdoor area is fine if it is not cold as the blinds and heaters have small impact.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hammercounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lunch with Friends”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had Sunday lunch here with some friends and had a most enjoyable experience, Chris advised us on the menu and we were not disappointed, the selection of dips and bread variety excellent. The restaurant is in the middle of the garden centre providing a different and pleasing experience. The staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the meal so much we booked for Mothers Day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mullinbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poynton's Boulevard Cafe also viewed

Essendon, Moonee Valley
Essendon, Moonee Valley
 
Essendon, Moonee Valley
Essendon, Moonee Valley
 

Been to Poynton's Boulevard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing