We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Saguenay, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great place to go”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Once again, going to Sydney for Ice hockey game and stuff, we decided to stay in Sydney for the night and choose this hotel not too far from Sydney Ice Arena.

The hotel is quite impressive when you get there, it is good looking, and not cheap in appearance. At the reception, we were most welcomed and the check in was efficient. We quickly went to our room to find a very large bedroom with the bedding for 3 as expected. Room was clean, a bit worn out, bathroom was redone and all good. Minifrig, regular stuff was there. Our stay was quiet, which is important to me. Bedding was good to.

The pool looked great but is cold during winter period. I didn't go to the restaurant but just looking at how many people were there just for the dinner, this must be a good place.

In a nutshell, I,d go back and I'd recommend too.

Have a good stay

Room Tip: Facing parking is away from noisier street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewistfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for the positive review and comments. When you are next in please touch base with me as I would welcome your comments. We are always updating and changing things so that we keep our high standard and quality. At the moment we are completing the upgrade of the last few rooms with new TVs - all our standards will have new LCDs and all our Superior rooms and Suites will have LEDs. Any feedback and comments is always welcomed. Kind regards Malcolm Mathie - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    210
    46
    9
    7
See reviews for
114
170
48
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here in June and the location was convenient for us as a stop over.
The staff were very pleasant to deal with the bed was very comfortable.
The room probably could have done with a make-over/tidy up in places but had all we needed.
The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner.
Recommended hotel.
Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member - thank you for choosing to stay at The Hills Lodge, for taking the time to review our hotel and for the positive feedback. I would however welcome further feedback with more details regarding your comments on a make over. If your could email me directly I would appreciate your thoughts. Kind regards Malcolm Mathie - General Manager malcolm@hillslodge.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were going to an event at Homebush and found this quite convenient as not too far too go to our destination. We stayed in a newly renovated Queen room on the ground floor in the wing just opposite reception. The room was not huge but large enough for a comfortable stay. The bathroom however is quite large, loved the counter space. Our room faced out toward the main street and I thought it might be noisy but I was pleasantly surprised as it was not. As we were going to our event we did not have time to enjoy the dining facilities but there is a great restaurant onsite,I can honestly say is quite nice as we have eaten here previously so I would recommend it. They are even offering "High Tea" now on Fridays and Saturdays. I love the grounds and the look of the lodge itself. In warmer weather would be idea to relax by the pool. I did hear that the Spa they have on premise is relocating elsewhere so not sure if they will have another spa take it's place. Overall if going to an event out in this area and want somewhere different to stay with great ambiance this would be ideal. It is quite a fair distance from the city so if your event is in the city you may want to reconsider a closer location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Laura K - Thank you for the positive and detailed review of our hotel. I wanted to respond to the question re the current day spa relocating - yes that is correct. We are in discussions with a few interested parties and hope to finalise our preferred option shortly. Thanks Malcolm - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Hill
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sydney Norwest
Novotel Sydney Norwest
#2 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
318 reviews
5.9 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
927 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pennant Hills Waldorf Apartment Hotel
6.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments George Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge

Property: Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
Address: 1 Salisbury Rd, Castle Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2154, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Castle Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge is a classic Tudor style building set in beautifully landscaped gardens, just 30 minutes drive from the centre of Sydney. Conveniently located opposite Norwest Business Park, the lodge features 97 rooms, restaurant, bar, heated swimming pool, day spa and 4 function rooms for up to 200 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge The Hills Shire/Castle Hill, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing