We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This has to be one of the friendliest Hotels about.
Very pleasant and helpful staff, highly recommended. The rooms were clean and spacious. Additional requests were handled quickly and efficently, the staff always happy to assist.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank cjpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    211
    46
    9
    7
See reviews for
114
171
48
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week here primarily to attend a course close by. Overall our stay was pleasant enough but with some attention to detail given, it could have been very good.

Some of the Negatives:
Housekeeping was somewhat haphazard - a cobweb under the minibar unit on arrival, some grouting in shower dirty, several faded splatters on walls of unknown origin. Coffee used was not replaced, all supplied toiletries in use disappeared mid week.

In room safe gave a 'low battery' message on arrival so didn't want to risk leaving our valuables in there. Mentioned it at the front desk and were told it would be looked at. Still low battery signal the next day and no feedback. Kept our valuables on us rather than risk it.

Ate at the restaurant most evenings for ease as not too many other dining options in the area. Food was expensive for what you got and of average quality. The first night 2 of our party did not get any greens with their meals although they were listed on the menu. Tip: walk over the main road and down the hill to the Norwest Shopping Centre to the restaurants on the man made lake (on the right at the bottom of the hill). Had a fabulous meal at Trevi (Italian food) there on our 2nd to last night.

No free wifi and if you wanted a newspaper delivered to your room they charged for it.

Didn't appreciate a maintenance man on a ladder outside our window around 5.30pm one evening while trying to relax after a long day training. Was right by the bed where I was lying down and appeared to be cleaning gutters, not sure why it had to be done then.

The one big positive was the friendliness of staff encountered. Always got a cheerful greeting from front desk to restaurant and bar staff to cleaning staff.

Went up the Blue Mountains on the weekend. With no car it required a taxi to Blacktown Train Station on front desk recommendation due to poor public transport at a cost of $30. Train trip of an hour and a half cost $11.80 each return in comparison. Took a bus from Paramatta back on our return at $4.60 each. Was an interesting ride in the dark with many side streets taken. Luckily recognised the hotel when coming up to it and got off in the right place - a 35 minute ride.

The pool area was a pleasant place to relax after a long day and was just warm enough for several quick swims in the early evenings.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We apologise your room was not up to our regular standard. Due to your Trip Advisor user name not indicating your name we are unable to trace what room you were in. Could you please do us a favour and email bookings@hillslodge.com.au so we can properly review your complaint and I and personally inspect your room. This will assist in targeting the staff that require re training. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is well located whenever I need to conduct business on the upper north shore. it is easy to find, always presents a welcoming environment, is clean, tidy and well serviced. Parking is onsite close to rooms (or underneath if preferred - by card access and at no charge). Checkout is always quick and is pleasant; never any argument re room and meal charges etc as they are always accurate

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernieandyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I Would stay here again. The rooms were clean and as soon as you walked in the service was great from the front desk to the dinning room and room service.
I just wish it was a bit hoter I would have liked to gone for a swim, may be next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealebyrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Hills Lodge so my husband and I could attend a function nearby ( We live outside of Sydney ).
The hotel organised a babysitter for my 2 children - they were bathed,fed and put to bed without a problem much to our relief as they are not use to being babysat.
Breakfast the next morning was great - nothing was a problem, all the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
To top it off our son's toy was accidentally left in the hotel room, the hotel GM tracked us down and we were able to get it back - much to my son's relief!
Thank you, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There were 4 of us so the available interconnecting rooms were ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah7055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent accommodation and breakfast Would come again. The staff were all very efficient and the breakfast staff were most professional. Very easy parking which was also very accesssible to the rooms. The rooms were quiet. I could have stay again but would consider it if I wqs attending the Royal Easter Show. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILSONSCREEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Hill
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sydney Norwest
Novotel Sydney Norwest
#2 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
5.9 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pennant Hills Waldorf Apartment Hotel
5.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge

Property: Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
Address: 1 Salisbury Rd, Castle Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2154, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Castle Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge is a classic Tudor style building set in beautifully landscaped gardens, just 30 minutes drive from the centre of Sydney. Conveniently located opposite Norwest Business Park, the lodge features 97 rooms, restaurant, bar, heated swimming pool, day spa and 4 function rooms for up to 200 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge The Hills Shire/Castle Hill, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing