We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service ... service ....service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    214
    45
    10
    7
See reviews for
114
174
48
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were led to this hotel and having located many others in Sydney, the free car parking was the capturing advantage, $AU40 per night was too expensive in city especially with the Australian Rules football and Rugby league games all being home this weekend. Rooms excellent, service good, bar staff slow but eventually you get what you need and we were pleasantly surprised the food is excellent! The Noble burger and the toasted sarnies are exceptionally presented with beer battered fries!

Wifi a serious issue they are upgrading all rooms now, we complained more than once and kept paying AU$19 per 24 hrs was far too much, and very unreliable, and only available in the bar or restaurant areas, or the isolated board room packed with chairs! Note you need individual codes for each appliance, 1 x iPhone and 1x iPad need two individual codes make sure if in the bar they do not deliver your food as you have just submitted you code.....1hr runs out quickly and you cannot discuss the weather, in the bar with Others in the bar area! Bad location. We then insisted that Booking.com sold the hotel with Wifi in room, which was why we booked this hotel. We eventually got the Wifi Booster pack with code and after 48hrs without home contact, we did get face time and Skype.......in our room satisfactorily. A necessity for Europeans communicating with teenagers and family at home! Breakfast good selection and okay if the eggs aren't out, they kindly delivered extra eggs and bacon 8 minutes after we started without them! Only had it one day, ate out others. Room service took 40 mins they forgot! Very sorry.....good job we didn't go for a Kentucky. Would return purely for location and quality of rooms, staff good although customer services could be improved. Little expensive if you don't intend to use the facilities to the full.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FinGaTipZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest
I have returned to your comments to advise you we now have our wireless internet fully operational throughout the hotel.
We do have a variety of options in regards to charges, but are happy to find a favourable solution for your next stay. This new system involved a full hardware upgrade as well as a new support company to assist.
We hope we have the chance of making your next experience a more positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 12, 2012

we wanted a quite night from home.
We enjolyed the hotel and surroundings also found the restraunt food and service to great, we would love to go back again and I am sure we will.
The reception staff where helpfull and went out there way to make our stay was what we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel was a convenient last stop for us at the end of a 4-week trip, giving us access to nearby family members + HILLSONG Church. Because of that we appreciated the roomy baggage racks and space to re-pack our luggage in preparation for the flight home to Perth. Apart from the crazy Sydney traffic (thank God for GPS in the rental car!) we managed to get to the places we needed to be, including an excellent pizza place, Joey's Pizza in Norwest Marketown - highly recommended. Having been self-catering for much of our trip we needed to use up supplies, plus keep costs down, so we didn't eat at Nobles on site, which looked very nice.

I must say we blanched at the delivery charge loading on room service - needless to say we gave that a miss also ! Being winter and COLD we sadly didn't get to try out the lovely pool either.

We liked being able to actually open the windows to breath fresh air, something often lacking in hotel rooms, and altogether found the quality and cleanliness excellent, as was the service. The young man who turned up as we were unloading suitcases & all our road-trip paraphernalia and cheerfully helped us carry it all upstairs was especially appreciated. Sleep was comfortable - love the big, soft pillows !

Checkout was simple and staff were very helpful in storing our luggage for later pickup. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay in this vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

When looking for somewhere in western Sydney to stay while on business I came across The Hills Lodge. Despite the slightly incongruous 'mock Tudor' exterior (we are in Australia after all), I have to say that I had a pleasant stay.

Front desk staff courteous and efficient. Room quiet, reasonable size, clean and the bed very comfortable with a choice of firm and soft pillows (I am assuming the latter was by design rather than coincedental). A good night's sleep.

I had dinner at The Lodge. Food and service were good, and not too expensive. Glass of house white before dinner at 11bucks per glass, not such good value though! Breakfast the next morning better than the average.

Overall a good experience. I will stay here again if I have business in this part of Sydney in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanthere189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Hill
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Sydney Norwest
Novotel Sydney Norwest
#2 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
328 reviews
5.9 mi away
Meriton Suites Church Street, Parramatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pennant Hills Waldorf Apartment Hotel
6.2 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
5.9 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 12 in Parramatta
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge

Property: Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
Address: 1 Salisbury Rd, Castle Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2154, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Castle Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge is a classic Tudor style building set in beautifully landscaped gardens, just 30 minutes drive from the centre of Sydney. Conveniently located opposite Norwest Business Park, the lodge features 97 rooms, restaurant, bar, heated swimming pool, day spa and 4 function rooms for up to 200 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge The Hills Shire/Castle Hill, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing