We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and excellent service”

Michu Korean Charcoal Bbq
Ranked #7 of 53 Restaurants in Blackburn
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 18, 2017

This lovely restaurant probably converted me into a fan of Korean food. The staff was very friendly and efficient and helped us with the special Korean styled barbeque, which was delicious. The kimchi was very good and a stew we had with red/black rice were all very good. The dumpling was light, with crunchy pastry and the sauces for the barbeque were all very special. Great place.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Made a booking after getting good review from Tripadvisor. Decided to give it a try. Glad that made a reservation at 6:15pm as the place was almost full by 7pm.

Location is just off main road with parking (1P before 6pm). They have charcoal bbq and thats pretty special. This is table cooking style which is great too but when they have lots of customers, things can get a bit messy as they constantly change the bbq plate and charcoal. Lots of things to maintain with only couple of staffs. The good thing is the staff doesnt pull a long face at all. Thats very pleasant attitude.

Food is average. Side dishes are not impressive and even the kimchi has lot of improvement. Soups are nice and our favourite is the pork belly. Serving is generous and we end up have to pack home.

It is indeed value for money as lots of people commented. It was below $150 for 4 people sets.

Will return again? Somehow nothing seems to impress us for return. Perhaps we should continue to explore other options.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank carterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile

Went to Michu for dinner to celebrate out daughters 21st. The food was fantastic and the service was great. Highly recommend this restaurant. I'll definitely be going back very soon.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank dunning66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and i went to michu after work on a Friday (we pre booked not just walk in) the service straight away was exceptional greeted with a friendly smile and seated and waited on imeidiately.

The entrée prawn dumplings were scrumptious & we loved the dipping sauces, pickled cabbage (that we kept asking for them to refill as it is that tasty)

We had the chicken and pork belly with corn on the cob sensational such a cool experience to watch them cook it at your table they aren't invading either you barely notice they are there.

The meat was tender and sooo delicious also the sauces are incredible and we LOVED the corn on the cob.

Byo wine and its great that there is a bottle shop 2 doors down.

We loved it and rave about this place any chance we get.

We will be back.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Oliviaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017

You have to try this place. It's very vintage Korean BBQ and the service was discreet (as they cook at the table) and you hardly even notice them. The food was to die for and the atmosphere really lovely. The only thing I'll say is the long heating tubes that cook the food made it a bit difficult to chat with such a large table that we had but not enough to not go there again.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michu Korean Charcoal Bbq also viewed

 
Glen Waverley, Monash
 
Glen Waverley, Monash
Doncaster East, Manningham
 

Been to Michu Korean Charcoal Bbq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing