We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay For The Location”
Review of Rydges Bankstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Bankstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bass Hill
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stayed here with my significant fella as we were going to a concert at Revesby Workers Club and didn't want to drive.

The website noted a deal for show goers but it didn't have one.

Rooms are clean and area is Bass Hill- other reviewer mentioned the guard dog, we met him in the lobby at about 1am, have to say I was quite happy that he was there..

Room Service?? 24hr room service is a choice of 3 meals one being chips (THIS IS NOT A MEAL!) The other choice is a curry - AS IF that is what you want at 1am, and the other option escapes me as the only food available was chips! with a $3.00 delivery charge on top I passed.

Staff friendly, hotel clean but boring perhaps due to it's location..
The manager emailed me after the stay and was very friendly..

If you are looking for a place to stay for social/ convenient reasons then it's good, not a holiday destination simply a hotel that is clean, comfortable and convenient.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Libstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oztripa, Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2008

Dear Reviewer,

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.

It is through the observations of our guests that we become aware of issues that would go unnoticed and therefore uncorrected. We really appreciate your comments, guest feedback is important to us and very much appreciated

Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Bankstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 276 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2007

This Hotel is actually located in suburb of Bass Hill not Bankstown. The approximate cost to by Taxi to Bankstown was AUD $23.00.

The exterior look of the hotel is old and dated. Inside, the rooms are fully renovated and actually quite lovely; they have dream beds which are very comfortable

The location is not ideal, a Taxi driver warned us not to go out at night. The hotel security guard had a baton passed his knee and also a German Sheppard dog as part of security for the hotel. It is in the middle of suburbia with nothing around you apart from McDonalds which is located next door.

Room Service was disappointing; the steak I ordered was inedible so they kindly replaced it with a safe chicken Parma which was very average. I was advised that the steak would not be charged to my room.

They had a movie deal, which included Breakfast, movies and munchies. The munchies consisted of microwave popcorn, sounds great except for the fact that the room does not have a microwave!
Customer Service at Check in/out was also disappointing, I had to get my hotel bill corrected three times before I could pay for it. That Steak did appear on the bill.

I would suggest staying at a hotel in a better location.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anipn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
Thank Hanson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rydgesbankstown, Front Office Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SarahThm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJHilton2015, Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 29, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 28, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed November 21, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Hill
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Bankstown Sydney
0.2 mi away
Gardenia Motor Inn
Gardenia Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bass Hill
70 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
#1 of 1 in Warwick Farm
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
Mercure Sydney Liverpool
#3 of 10 in Liverpool
570 reviews
5.9 mi away
Meriton Suites George Street, Parramatta
2.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Sydney Lansvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Bankstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Bankstown

Address: 874 Hume Hwy | NSW, Bass Hill, Bankstown, New South Wales 2197, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bankstown > Bass Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bass Hill
Price Range: $115 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Bankstown 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Bankstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bankstown Hotel Bankstown
Rydges Bankstown Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing